Diaspora Co.

4.449 Ratings

Diaspora Co. offers a wide variety of fresh, flavorful spices from small organic family farms across India.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.4
Average rating from 9 users
100%
Would recommend it to a friend

Diaspora Co. Reviews

Experience

I loved the packaging, and the experience - I bought a few spices from Nordstrom for holiday presents for myself (lol). I wasn’t like, BLOWN AWAY, honestly, but they look nice in my cabinet.

Feedback

I feel neutral! Maybe I’m just not a spice gal.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feel
a month ago
Experience

Amazingly fresh spices. I love that they have a recipe developer in-house who is always sharing delicious recipes. On a 35,000 ft level, I also love that they have thought about every aspect - 1. fair trade (paying farmers and their employees really well) 2. only working with farmers that have regenerative practices (no chemicals, replenishing soil, etc) 3. recyclable packaging 4. treating their team and their customers well 5. and, of course, product!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
9 months ago
Experience

Not a tumeric expert so can't judge the quality too critically (though it's nice), but overall, I like the mission of the company and the look of their products.

Feedback

As others have mentioned, the price is a bit on the higher end (though not unexpected).

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕Luxury
10 months ago
Experience

They really are high quality spices, and I love supporting farmers and avoiding the notoriously exploitative spice trade. That said, I wish they had more 'basic' spices and offered more options to someone who isn't cooking Indian food every day. That and smaller sizes would be nice, because it's hard to go through that much of any one thing!

Feedback

Maybe I'm too particular but I wish all of the jars were the same size, to make organization easier. I also wish they'd sell or at least recommend a spice grinder.

High qualityTasty 😋Super slow shipping 🐌Love the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

So happy to see brands like this emerging. Raising awareness about the spice trade, fair pay, quality, etc, Diaspora has done so much more than offering amazing spices. I've tried the Cardamom pods and turmeric, and I have to say, you can taste the difference in quality! I love that Diaspora educates and does storytelling so well. They also come up with new/different products quite often, so keep your eyes peeled!

Feedback

It would be great to see more of a consistent variety of spices- as many of these, I use more sporadically.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

I regularly use their turmeric for cooking, and it really blooms well with black pepper. I cook a lot of Indian food, and it truly is worth the price. I would love to try the other spices, but the steep price point is limiting.

Feedback

While I understand that the spices are ethically sourced and the brand does a great job of price transparency, I find it hard to pay $12 for spices that I am not using regularly.

High qualityLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

I am in love with Diaspora Co. Spices!! I have 10+ spices, their gorgeous Masala Dabba and the Tadka spoon! I use these all the time and the quality is unbeatable. These gorgeous spices definitely inspire me to cook outside my comfort zone so I can use them as much as possible. I love these and hope they continue to expand their product line!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellTasty 😋Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
2 months ago
Experience

Highest quality spices! Best farming and business practices.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
6 months ago
Experience

High quality, purpose driven company, with a badass team behind it. Yes, these spices are more expensive, but they're fresh, so you don't have to use as much as other spices that have gone stale. Every spice/herb I've tried of theirs is through the roof incredible.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕
9 months ago