Diaspora Co.

4.7524 Reviews

Diaspora Co. offers a wide variety of fresh, flavorful spices from small organic family farms across India.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.8
Average rating from 24 users
100%
Recommend it to a friend

Diaspora Co. Reviews

4 hours ago
Experience

Haven't met a spice from them that I don't like. I wanted to stop buying supermarket spices, so I have tried a few from Diaspora Co. Honestly my jaw was on the floor when I first tasted their spices. I loved the brand's mission + transparency + that it's queer WOC owned.

Feedback

Just keep doing what you're doing, Diaspora Co!!!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellTasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
6 days ago
Experience

I love everything they are about and everything they sell. I have been a loyal customer since they only sold tumeric and I want to buy everything they release. Great quality and meaningful mission.. what more do you need? Their chai masala is next level and I also use it to up my baking game (everyone swooned at the zucchini bread I put it in).

High qualityWorth the money 💸Works really wellTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
13 days ago
Experience

My whole kitchen smiles when I open a jar of Diaspora Co. spices. Their transparency and super deep recipe archive inspires to discover new ways to use my kitchen staples and find outlets to explore spices I'm less experienced cooking with. I've loved every single product I've tried (including the tote bag) and it seems the hits just keep on coming. Like oils, vinegars, and other kitchen essentials, I sometimes hesitate when it comes to price. Since I use salt, herbs, chilis, and seeds in some form basically daily, it feels worth it to spend up. The way they look on my shelf doesn't hurt either :-)

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Delicious, high-quality, and fresh spices. I got the chai masala and have been using it every single morning in my chai. I also use their turmeric and cacao. All great!

Feedback

I love the business model and am all for paying farmers in India a dignified living wage, but I think the prices could be just a little more affordable.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a month ago
Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

The chai mix from this brand is >>>

Feedback

Wish they had a bigger bottle!

Good for gifts 🎁Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I love Diaspora's mission of paying spice farmers fairly and selling quality spices that are traceable to a region or specific spice variation (like you would for coffee or chocolate). Their spices are delicious and have so much flavour. They last a long time with regular use. I have also purchased their beautiful dish towels. It is great as a gift - the packaging, box and artwork are unique and lovely. You may have to wait for the product to become available, but I appreciate that the company is growing steadily and paying its farmers fairly.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

I haven’t tried all of Diaspora’s offerings, but the spices I have tried (turmeric, cumin, chai masala) are really incredible. Full-bodied and truly on another level compared to your typical grocery store spices. Where Diaspora really shines for me is its Aranya Pepper. Any other black pepper is ruined for me now! Fortunately, they offer a subscription so I can make sure I always have it in my pepper mill. Also, don’t sleep on their tote bag. It’s really fabulous.

Feedback

Obviously this is part of the challenge of managing a global spice trade, but sometimes it can be a little confusing to shop with some items being in stock and others being pre-order only.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money 💸
Alyssa P's review of Diaspora Co.
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

My friend gifted me the turmeric and it's so delicious and high quality.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Works really wellTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

love the products, love the mission, love the branding, and love that its an actual south-asian who founded and is running the brand and not an appropriation!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellTasty 😋Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?