Diaspora Co.

4.7 49 Reviews

Diaspora Co. offers a wide variety of fresh, flavorful spices from small organic family farms across India.

Diaspora Co. Reviews

Diaspora Co. reviews

4.73

98% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

49 reviews

3 months ago

Received a free product from Diaspora Co.

High quality! Unique flavors and spice combos! Love the packaging too.

3 months ago

Big fan of the brand and their mission. They really are passionate about changing the spice supply chain. And they also bring out very innovative products. I’ve purchased a lot for myself and gifts. And it never fails.

3 months ago

The difference is immediately apparent when you open a tin of Diaspora spice and see the difference in color between their turmeric and any other brand. You can smell the difference between their spices and others... they're so much more fragrant, and of course you can taste the difference in your cooking. Using high quality spices elevates any dish from good to amazing, and Diaspora's are the best and the freshest out there. They support small farmers and are completely transparent about their supply chain. I have been a fan since the only thing they sold was turmeric, and have been happily watching their product line, and their impact expand over the years.

6 months ago

I love the mission of the company and their high quality spices at good price points. I use their pragati turmeric in roasts, rice dishes, tea, etc.

a year ago

Diaspora makes excellent, super quality spices, but their approach to brand, transparency, and the way they communicate with their customers is what I think people are really buying into when they make a purchase. I feel like Diaspora actually deserves the credit for shifting a lot of people's perspective on spices altogether-- I find myself eschewing grocery store spices that look like they've been gathering dust for a decade because... they probably have. The freshness makes a difference, and the supply chain makes a difference. I'm really glad they've expanded their assortment so much the last few years, and I'm particularly a fan of the Aranya pepper and the Pink Pahadi garlic.

3 years ago

Amazingly fresh spices. I love that they have a recipe developer in-house who is always sharing delicious recipes. On a 35,000 ft level, I also love that they have thought about every aspect - 1. fair trade (paying farmers and their employees really well) 2. only working with farmers that have regenerative practices (no chemicals, replenishing soil, etc) 3. recyclable packaging 4. treating their team and their customers well 5. and, of course, product!

3 years ago

So happy to see brands like this emerging. Raising awareness about the spice trade, fair pay, quality, etc, Diaspora has done so much more than offering amazing spices. I've tried the Cardamom pods and turmeric, and I have to say, you can taste the difference in quality! I love that Diaspora educates and does storytelling so well. They also come up with new/different products quite often, so keep your eyes peeled!

Feedback

It would be great to see more of a consistent variety of spices- as many of these, I use more sporadically.

7 months ago

Great spices, though pricy. Frustrating that stock is eternally low meaning more orders/shipping charges.

7 months ago

High quality spices with a great commitment to supporting their suppliers. Love their turmeric!

7 months ago

The spices that I have gotten from them have been very high quality, and I especially like some of the chilis that they offer! I also really like the brands mission and the branding. I do wish that the tins for the spices were a bit bigger and easier to dispense the spices from.

8 months ago

I love Diaspora! I've been a pretty regular customer for a couple of years and love making a spice order when my levels are running low. Spices we've reordered many times are the Turmeric, Guntur Sanaam Chilli Powder, the Aranya Black Pepper, but honestly I've been in love with literally everything I've ever ordered from Diaspora. Incredible flavours, fresh spices, and a great company to follow along with. They're incredibly transparent about their production and where the individual spices are coming from, their packaging, etc. Their site also has a lot of great recipes, a nice resource to turn to for inspiration if you need something new to cook! It can be fun to order spices you haven't experienced cooking with and try new things. Also makes great gifts for anyone in your life who likes to cook.

a year ago

Highly recommend - go to their website now!! I love the entire mission of Diaspora Co.! I recently tried the Chota Tingrai Black Tea and used it to make chai. Some of the best chai I've ever had. It's wonderful and it's great to know where it's sourced. It's slightly pricey for the amount you get, so this is will be a special occasion purchase of mine.

Feedback

The products sell out really quick and there is a waiting period before they are restocked. If you really like a product, I suggest ordering an extra one and stocking up! The tea has been sold out for a while.

2 years ago

I love the spices. I love the packaging. I love the team behind it! Diaspora makes my life better and makes the lives of the farmers they work with better. It's a win win. I have willingly spent $100s in the past 2 years on these spices. SO SO GOOD. So good.

3 years ago

They really are high quality spices, and I love supporting farmers and avoiding the notoriously exploitative spice trade. That said, I wish they had more 'basic' spices and offered more options to someone who isn't cooking Indian food every day. That and smaller sizes would be nice, because it's hard to go through that much of any one thing!

Feedback

Maybe I'm too particular but I wish all of the jars were the same size, to make organization easier. I also wish they'd sell or at least recommend a spice grinder.

3 years ago

I regularly use their turmeric for cooking, and it really blooms well with black pepper. I cook a lot of Indian food, and it truly is worth the price. I would love to try the other spices, but the steep price point is limiting.

Feedback

While I understand that the spices are ethically sourced and the brand does a great job of price transparency, I find it hard to pay $12 for spices that I am not using regularly.

6 months ago

We have more than 3/4 of their spices sold and are a huge fan of their mission of paying living wages to farmers and sourcing only the highest quality single origin spices from various regions around India and Sri Lanka. We especially love their turmerics, their various chili powders, their black pepper, their cumin, and their baking spices, but most of their other spices have a place in our spice rack as well. Their Chai Masala, Garam Masala, and Haldi Doodh are awesome as well! The freshness and quality of flavor of their spices are second to none. I can't recommend them more highly!

8 months ago

Highly recommend! The Sanaam chili is soooo good, more of a mild and sweet kind of heat. Their turmeric will ruin all other turmerics for you, it's that good. I've tried a number of Diaspora spices and have also given them as gifts. Everything lasts a long time too!

2 years ago

Haven't met a spice from them that I don't like. I wanted to stop buying supermarket spices, so I have tried a few from Diaspora Co. Honestly my jaw was on the floor when I first tasted their spices. I loved the brand's mission + transparency + that it's queer WOC owned.

Feedback

Just keep doing what you're doing, Diaspora Co!!!

2 years ago

Delicious, high-quality, and fresh spices. I got the chai masala and have been using it every single morning in my chai. I also use their turmeric and cacao. All great!

Feedback

I love the business model and am all for paying farmers in India a dignified living wage, but I think the prices could be just a little more affordable.

3 years ago

Not a tumeric expert so can't judge the quality too critically (though it's nice), but overall, I like the mission of the company and the look of their products.

Feedback

As others have mentioned, the price is a bit on the higher end (though not unexpected).