Diaspora Co.

4.7731 Reviews

Diaspora Co. offers a wide variety of fresh, flavorful spices from small organic family farms across India.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.8
4.8/5
Average rating from 31 users
100%
Recommend it to a friend

Diaspora Co. Reviews

2 months ago
5/5

Experience

High quality spices with a great mission. The packaging is sleek and the labels are clear and easy to read. I worry because the glass isn’t tinted that the flavors might degrade in the sun, so I try not to keep them out on display. I love the look of the spice dabba and would be interested to see other housewares sourced with a similar ethos to their spices.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
2 months ago
4/5

Experience

Flavor profiles are on point and you get A LOT of product! Packaging is beautiful and I'm proud to support their mission to highlight family farms across India and their commitment to inclusivity. (Highly recommend following their social for handy recipes and transparency updates.)

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
5/5

Experience

The spices from Diaspora Co have truly changed my culinary game. The flavor profiles all of their spices create are unmatched. Because the products are locally sourced it can take a bit to receive them, but they are beyond worth the wait. This is a great option for gift giving. Highly recommend the turmeric, chili powders, and pretty much everything else they have to offer.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
5/5

Experience

Diaspora makes excellent, super quality spices, but their approach to brand, transparency, and the way they communicate with their customers is what I think people are really buying into when they make a purchase. I feel like Diaspora actually deserves the credit for shifting a lot of people's perspective on spices altogether-- I find myself eschewing grocery store spices that look like they've been gathering dust for a decade because... they probably have. The freshness makes a difference, and the supply chain makes a difference. I'm really glad they've expanded their assortment so much the last few years, and I'm particularly a fan of the Aranya pepper and the Pink Pahadi garlic.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Azora P's review of Diaspora Co.
Useful review?
4 months ago
5/5

Experience

Haven't met a spice from them that I don't like. I wanted to stop buying supermarket spices, so I have tried a few from Diaspora Co. Honestly my jaw was on the floor when I first tasted their spices. I loved the brand's mission + transparency + that it's queer WOC owned.

Feedback

Just keep doing what you're doing, Diaspora Co!!!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellTasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
4 months ago
5/5

Experience

I love everything they are about and everything they sell. I have been a loyal customer since they only sold tumeric and I want to buy everything they release. Great quality and meaningful mission.. what more do you need? Their chai masala is next level and I also use it to up my baking game (everyone swooned at the zucchini bread I put it in).

High qualityWorth the money 💸Works really wellTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
4 months ago
5/5

Experience

My whole kitchen smiles when I open a jar of Diaspora Co. spices. Their transparency and super deep recipe archive inspires to discover new ways to use my kitchen staples and find outlets to explore spices I'm less experienced cooking with. I've loved every single product I've tried (including the tote bag) and it seems the hits just keep on coming. Like oils, vinegars, and other kitchen essentials, I sometimes hesitate when it comes to price. Since I use salt, herbs, chilis, and seeds in some form basically daily, it feels worth it to spend up. The way they look on my shelf doesn't hurt either :-)

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
4 months ago
5/5

Experience

These are the best spices I've ever had, hands down.

Feedback

We cook South Asian food at home all the time and these add a noticeable difference to the quality of the food. You won't regret buying these. I just wish we could afford to use them for every meal!!

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
4/5

Experience

Delicious, high-quality, and fresh spices. I got the chai masala and have been using it every single morning in my chai. I also use their turmeric and cacao. All great!

Feedback

I love the business model and am all for paying farmers in India a dignified living wage, but I think the prices could be just a little more affordable.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
5 months ago
5/5
Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?