Reviews

7 claps received

Táche

Jen W
35 Reviews
9 months ago
4/5
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

The order arrived promptly. I was a bit nervous about the order as I'm usually not the biggest fan of vanilla flavored milks, but I was pleasantly surprised. The pistachio and vanilla flavors are subtle, and I like that there isn't any lingering aftertaste.

Feedback

I wish the packaging had been reversed. The Tache branding was on the outer-most box, but inside, the six-pack box was plain. Not a huge deal, but I would've liked the reverse as I wouldn't want folks knowing what I ordered and increase its likelihood of being stolen. As for the product itself, I was a bit bummed that the milk didn't have any calcium and feel like it could've been a tad less sweet, but otherwise, I was happy with the order. It's a bit of a premium product so not sure I'd be a repeat buyer, but I'm glad I had the chance to try it out at a discount and would consider picking it as my milk alternative at any coffee shop that offers it!

High qualityTasty 😋Luxury
Useful review?

MARGIN

Jen W
35 Reviews
a year ago
4/5
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Got this a while back via thingdrop but was testing other moisturizers at the time so only started testing this recently! The order came relatively quickly and came with a nice a handwritten note, which was a nice touch. The packaging was nice (minimal, sturdy, clean) though it took a bit of effort to slide the sleeve off. That struggle low-key made me question if I was qualified to use their product lol. Anyhow, I've been using this moisturizer for the past few weeks. I like that it's light and has a light cucumber scent that aligns with what I'd imagine it'd smell like at a spa (though I've never been so who knows if it's accurate).

Feedback

It'd be nice if the packaging was a tad looser so opening it could be effortless. While tearing it open was an option, the packaging felt too nice to ruin like that. For the container, I wish there were other top options beyond the pump. A full pump is too much for me, and I've also noticed some inconsistencies between pumps. For the lotion itself, I wish it had SPF in it, but otherwise, I'm happy with the moisturizer as-is.

High qualityCool look & feelSmells amazingLuxury
Useful review?

Smpl

Jen W
35 Reviews
a year ago
4/5
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

The order arrived swiftly, and throughout my experience with Smpl, comms from the team was solid. I like the idea behind the bars but think they're just not right for me but might be good for others. Have consumed my fair share of snack products (both bars and others). Compared to other bars with chia seeds in them, I liked that Smpl bars were softer and easier to eat. However, I didn't notice any differences across the bars re: their impact on me though I probably could've given it a bit more time. Flavor-wise, of the bunch, the energy bar (dark chocolate) was probably my favorite. It has ginseng in it, but the flavor of that isn't too strong or noticeable. Overall, bars were alright. I like the idea behind them, but between not loving all the flavors and not feeling any impact, I don't think they're right for me and just OK if I'm rating based purely on the product. However, the Smpl team, especially support, was A+, so my overall brand rating is a 4. Though I was signed up for a subscription from the get-go, the team was communicative about when a shipment was upcoming and gave ample notice too. The cancellation process was easy as well. Would recommend Smpl for folks with expendable cash who are into bars, like to snack, and are counting calories.

Feedback

Shared this feedback with the team directly, but there was a slightly unpleasant aftertaste to the calm bar (likely from the lemon balm), but otherwise, all the flavors were fine.

Lovely customer supportEasy subscription management 🔁Has no effect 🤷
Useful review?

SAMMEE

Jen W
35 Reviews
a year ago
4/5

Experience

Received a kit a while back as a gift. Liked the clean and compact packaging and that it included everything needed for DIY boba (including the classic boba straw, which was a nice touch). The kit includes recipes and instructions — didn't follow them exactly and tasted along the way and made adjustments accordingly. Ended up having leftover brown sugar and milk tea powder and probably made more than 8 cups. Liked the texture of the boba and the flavor of the milk tea. Milk tea powder had some sweetness to it as-is, so I didn't use as much as the instructions suggested. I think it was fun to do once, but making my own boba made me more appreciative of the time and effort required to make it. It probably took an hour, start to finish, to make it. The kit is probably better suited for small gatherings so that you can use it up all at once and share the experience of making your own boba. I ended up making it on my own and making for my family members who like boba but aren't HUGE milk tea fans, so we didn't even finish it in one go.

Feedback

I wish the matcha was provided separate from the milk tea powder so that it could be opt-in (though IIRC, they offer a regular kit as well, so nbd).

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelTasty 😋
Useful review?

TBH

Jen W
35 Reviews
a year ago
3/5
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Had actually forgotten that I'd ordered tbh. From the packaging though, I could tell the box had something food-related, and I was hyped. The package comes with two jars, which I was initially hesitant about since I had never tried tbh before, but I guess shipping is more economical that way? Anyhow, upon unboxing, noticed that the jars felt a bit cheap — jar lids seemed to have bits of plastic coming off, and there was something off about the label. However, the spread itself was good. Been a while since I'd had Nutella and remembered that tasting more like chocolate than hazelnut while tbh has a much more prominent hazelnut flavor. However, I don't think I can justify the price since tbh is healthier than Nutella, but it still isn't that healthy.

Feedback

Curious to see what other products tbh rolls out, but in the meantime, the spread is solid taste-wise and just needs to have the packaging refined to match it.

Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋
Jen W's review of TBH
Useful review?

Better Brand

Jen W
35 Reviews
a year ago
3/5
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Fan of the brand, its mission, and its aesthetic, but overall, it was just OK for me. Was on the fence on the rating but rounded up. Shipping was fast (which usually is nice!), but it came on a day where I'd just brought home a bunch of pastries, so I ended up putting them in the freezer as the options were to either eat right away or freeze (why? not sure as the card that came in the box didn't give any explanation). Upon opening the bag, I noticed that most of the bagels were hole-less — the only one that actually looked like a bagel was the one I photographed, which wasn't quite what I expected (wasn't mad about it though). The bagels were on the smaller side, and since they were frozen, I opted to microwave, slice in half, and then toast. The bagel texture is spongier and chewier than a "regular" bagel. Dressed the bagel up with cream cheese, onions, capers, and smoked salmon, so the bagel was more of a vessel than the main star, so the bagel taste wasn't too noticeable through those stronger flavors. For the nutritional benefits, I'd eat it again, but at its price point, I don't think I'd buy them on my own.

Feedback

The brand comes off as a more premium product, where the bagel bag and the other packaging were nice. However, the inconsistency in the bagels didn't quite fit that vibe. It would also help to include tips on how best to experience the bagel as the packaging only included storage information.

Fun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
Jen W's review of Better Brand
Useful review?

Aura Bora

Jen W
35 Reviews
2 years ago
3/5

Experience

Aura Bora had been on my list of brands I want to try for a while. Finally came across them at my local supermarket (on sale too!) and decided to pick a couple of cans up, one basil berry and one lavender cucumber. Thought the packaging was fun with the pastel colors and cartoons, but at the same time, it's a bit busy and takes some effort to take in what's written on it. I tried the basil berry first. Despite the name and other signs in their marketing about being an herbal drink, I somehow thought it'd be more berry-like, kind of like those hotel fruit-infused waters that sometimes have mint or something. I was unpleasantly wrong. The drink was heavy on the basil and light on the berry. If that was my only point of reference, I would've probably rated a 1 out of 5. Waited a couple of weeks before I gave the lavender cucumber a go as I expected a similar experience and was not looking forward to that. However, in this case, I was pleasantly surprised! Lavender was the primary flavor, but it was lighter, and the cucumber undertone was refreshing.

Feedback

There's definitely potential for good flavor combos of herbs, fruits, and/or flowers, but I'm not sure it's quite there yet (either in terms of combos or in terms of the flavor strength), especially for basil berry.

Cool look & feel
Jen W's review of Aura Bora
Useful review?

Drunk Elephant

Jen W
35 Reviews
2 years ago
4/5

Experience

Been shopping around for a new moisturizer, and Drunk Elephant's one of the ones I tried and probably one of the favorites. Moisturizer had a pleasant smell, wasn't too thick, and didn't irritate my skin.

Feedback

It's a little bit pricey.

Useful review?

Stumptown Coffee

Jen W
35 Reviews
2 years ago
4/5

Experience

Appreciate the coffee and its packaging. Like that it's available in supermarkets as well though IIRC, if you happen to buy from a Stumptown coffee shop, they'll also give you a free cup of coffee.

Good for gifts 🎁Tasty 😋
Useful review?

MatchaBar

Jen W
35 Reviews
2 years ago
4/5

Experience

Tried one of their glass-bottled matchas on a whim. Didn't know about the brand ahead of time and wasn't sure what to expect. Drink was tasty and not too sweet, which I appreciated.

Tasty 😋
Useful review?