Reviews

    Ember

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    a month ago

    Had wanted an Ember for quite some time, but never bit the bullet because I figured my insulated travel mug was more than enough. Recently received the basic mug as a gift, and I really love it. Is the idea of an app with a bluetooth connection a little silly? Sure. I would've been perfectly happy with a little knob to control the temperature and not needing an app. But it's remarkably pleasant to have your coffee on your desk all morning at just the right temperature. Not too hot, never too cold. Perfect for anyone who finds themselves back in the office, or in back to back meetings when their coffee otherwise would've gotten cold.

    Ember mug

    Taika

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    2 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Better than I expected, but not good enough to replace my coffee routine. I am not so sensitive to caffeine that I get jittery, and I’ve never really noticed the benefit of various herbs or adaptogens. On the bright side, it’s fairly tasty: neither too chalky nor too artificial tasting. The cans also have a shrink wrapper, which can interfere with recycling in some places. Make sure you rip it off, throw away the wrap, and recycle the can separately — at least until Taika invest in cans without wrappers.

    Macadamia latte

    Heyday Canning Company

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    2 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I’m a fan! I wasn’t sure I’d be into them at first, but the Enchilada Black Beans make an easy and delicious addition to a lot of different meals. I’m excited to try the other varieties. I think maybe they’re a bit too powerful, as in, they really try to take center stage, but hey at least they’re good tasting.

    Enchilada Baked beans

    Omsom

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I've tried most of the sauces at this point, and they're all pretty good, but they aren't magic. I think because of the cardboard box packaging, I originally thought they'd include more, well, something if they're gonna call it a kit. And for a long time, they really only had one or two recipes per sauce, and they'd be like, "cook chicken, add sauce, serve with rice." Basically, a better-branded version of the Old El Paso taco seasoning packets, but for Asian food. I'm glad they've started adding way more recipes to their website, which look to be community generated. And I look forward to trying more of their products. But at the moment the hype and price are ahead of the actual product, for me.

    Spicy Bulgogi SauceLarb SauceLemongrass BBQ SauceSpicy Mala Sauce

    Canopy

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    3 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I have both the humidifier and now, thanks to a Thingdrop deal, the filtered shower head. They're nicely designed products, but I don't think they make a significant impact on your well-being, but that doesn't necessarily mean they're bad. For the humidifier, we wanted something small that would look good beside the bed. Most humidifiers are pretty ugly, so the design and the idea that Canopy had a filter and that the parts were dishwasher safe sold us on it. During a dry winter, it's a nice thing to have, and according to my air quality filter it does increase humidity a little bit. But if you look at Wirecutter reviews, they recommend units that can really make a difference in your indoor air. Canopy is pretty weak in that regard. The filtered shower head is hard to evaluate. We live in NYC, where water quality is generally high, and we live in a new-ish building so we aren't worried about rotten pipes. I didn't really have a complaint about my water before, but I didn't like my shower head, so I figured this would be a good opportunity to replace it with something better, and filtering my shower water couldn't hurt either. It's been a few weeks now, and I appreciate the water pressure and adjustable flow patterns (which were flaws of my existing shower head). It is a fairly large unit, so you may want to measure if the pipe you connect the shower head to is low; the Canopy shower head just barely fits for us. It's a decent-looking thing, but we're renters anyway, so none of our fixtures are particularly note worthy. The packaging was nice. I rarely notice the scent working — that seems like a gimmick. Overall, both products are nice, but neither are necessities and if you don't care about the design, there are almost certainly better-performing options on the market.

    Bedside Humidifier Filter ShowerHead

    Field Company

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Field makes world-class cast iron. I've had my #8 skillet for about five years now, and it's my favorite piece of kitchen gear. While expensive, there is a clear different in quality between Field and big-box brands like Lodge. I'm just waiting for a bigger kitchen before I buy the Dutch Oven, a bigger skillet, and maybe a griddle pan in the future. Highly recommend.

    Simplehuman

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Everything I've purchased from Simplehuman has been wonderful, but admittedly expensive. Their trashcans are great, as are the custom-fit liners, but I do wish that they would try to be more innovative with the bags and make them out of sustainable (or at least recycled) materials, considering the price.

    BAGGU

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I love Baggu, but sometimes I feel like the constantly cycle of new designs sort of goes against the "reduce" ethos. That said, they've basically replaced all the low quality free totes we've accumulated from stores over the years. One unfortunate note is that they tend to fall apart in the laundry, which is disappointing for a product you expect to keep for a long time.

    Stasher Bag

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Once you get one of these, you're going to want a dozen. They're so useful. I use them to keep herbs and other veggies fresher, longer. I use them for travel to get liquids and whatnot through TSA. I use them to keep cheese separate but fresh in the fridge without plastic wrap.

    Brooklinen

    Level 5
    Cole KLevel 5 55 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Affordable bedding, but maybe not the highest quality. We have some Brooklinen sheets and end up replacing them roughly once a year. But, for basics that you know you're going to use a lot, that ends up being a better deal than investing in really expensive sheets or towels or whatever. It's also great to have on hand as extras for guests or whatever.