Marlow

4.1 65 Reviews

Marlow makes allergy friendly pillows using cooling infused memory foam to provide adjustable support and maximum comfort.

Marlow Reviews

Marlow reviews

4.08

81% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Adjustable firmness feature
  • Maintains shape over time
  • Cooling feature appreciated
  • Durable and well-constructed
  • Can be excessively firm
  • Pillowcase feels rough
  • Pillowcase doesn't match bedding
  • Not suitable for all sleep positions

Marlow's pillows offer adjustable firmness and cooling features, highly appreciated by many users. They are also durable and maintain their shape over time. However, some users find them too firm even at their softest setting. The pillowcases are reported to be rough and uncomfortable, and they do not match well with other bedding.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

65 reviews

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I received this pillow through Thingdrop and it has been great! I like a softer pillow and found that even with both zippers open, it still runs pretty firm. I wasn’t a huge fan of the pillowcase as it was firm and a bit uncomfortable compared to a silk or cotton case. Overall, I would still highly recommend!

2 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I find this pillow really nice! I'm a firm pillow type of person, so marlow works for me. However, my partner wasn't a fan at all, so giving it 4 stars for the variety in takes :)

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I ordered this for my husband as he had mentioned wanting a new cooling pillow. He has really enjoyed it and says he would get another one when it’s time to replace it. The pillow is firm and cool to the touch. The ability to adjust the firmness is great!

4 months ago

My husband and I love these pillows, we sleep good and don't wake up with a sore neck! I'm glad we purchased these!

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

A very nice allergy friendly super soft pillow. It fluffed up right out of the box and was instantly comfortable. I had a wonderful night's sleep with this pillow. I'm just sad that the price is a little steep as I would love to go out and buy three more right away.

10 months ago

I have this pillow & love the simple idea of zips for firmness customization! Such a simple and innovative idea that adapts to my sleep changes! I also got the cooling pillow cover, so it's always cold! And love the branding.

8 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I'd needed a new sleeping pillow for a few months before I saw this upcoming thingdrop, so I decided to wait to test out Marlow, and I am so glad I did! The texture feels like a hybrid between a full memory foam pillow and a stuffed pillow. It feels like memory foam, but there is still more give to it, making it feel more natural. I like my pillow a bit firmer and love that I can just zip the sides closed. My husband wanted to try it out and just unzipped to make it fluffier. I think this is a great addition to a guest room so guest can choose their preference. I was concerned you would be able to feel the zipper underneath the pillowcase while sleeping, but I have not had any issues. I haven't noticed the cooling pillow protector, but my pillow also hasn't been hot, so I guess it is working. Regardless, I am very happy with the purchase!

8 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Nice idea and branding, however, the pillow is too flat for side sleepers, about 1in of support. The pillow protector, is very stiff and a little uncomfortable if you use the softest setting. The cooling fabric in the pillow protector feels good at first but quickly warms up.

9 months ago

I have a king-size pillow that my husband purchased for me after I gave up on finding a suitable pillow when four other "luxury hotel" brands failed. (Meaning they became depleted and flat after several uses and never retained their shape.) It's made a world of difference in my sleep! I love that the pillow is adjustable to become firmer or softer with two simple zippers that wrap around the long side. Next, I like that the material of the pillow is breathable and durable—the company describes it as cooling-infused memory foam. They also claim to be "allergy-friendly," which I have found to be authentic as I feel like the pillow doesn't collect or retain as much dander as standard cotton or down pillows. My husband also purchased the queen-size pillow and is super happy with it, but he just wishes he got the king-size! Brooklinen owns Marlow and there are sales sometimes—I believe they are 15% off right now.

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I was real skeptical that I needed another pillow in my life but I have been having neck discomfort for a while and have tried all variety of pillows. I won't say Marlow cured all but it is definitely the comfiest and I sense my neck discomfort dwindling over time. I keep mine on the most firm setting which is surprisingly firm. Cooling effect is hard to comment on but I definitely don't feel sweaty sleeping on it.

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Simply put it’s awesome and I bought a second one from thingdrop so now I can have a set. After some experimenting I like to have both sides unzipped! I had a Caspar pillow before and this is muchhh better. It’s hard to tell how “cooling” the protector is since I have another pillow case on top of it, but it’s a good thing to buy to keep the pillow clean in general!

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I loved the idea of the side zippers for adjusting the firmness/plushness based on personal preference but unfortunately even with both sides left unzipped it wasn’t as plush as I would like. I also found the smell from both the pillow and pillow cover to be extremely strong. I left them on a living room chair to air out and inflate and the harsh chemical smell was so strong that my spouse actually asked which room of the house I had painted! After 24 hours I still had to spritz them with linen spray before use. It was comfortable and I slept well. I even felt like I woke up less hot and sweaty than I normally do so the cooling infused claims seems legit. All that said I’m not sure that I could justify purchasing additional pillows at the regular price. I would consider giving the brand another try if they came out with more pillow options such as high quality down alternatives or pillows made specifically for side sleepers or wrinkle prevention. Something that makes them stand out a bit more from other pillow brands on the market.

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This Thingdrop happened at a very good time for me, as I was just starting to think about getting a new pillow. I really only have one nice pillow for my bed, and was deciding if I should try out something new. Marlow immediately intrigued me as an option for a new pillow due to the ability to adjust the firmness of the pillow via a zipper on each side. I also loved that they were providing us with a cooling pillow protector. I have some pillow covers I enjoy, but I have yet to ever experience a cooling pillow. I absolutely love the packaging for this pillow, and the entire pillow was able to fit in a pretty compact box. While not complicated to do at all, the box tells you everything you need to know about how to use the pillow. I decided to leave one side unzipped, which meant the pillow would have medium firmness. Using the pillow for the first time, I did notice a smell. Thankfully it was not strong enough that it prevented me from sleeping. For a few years now I have been using two pillows stacked on top of each other to sleep. I am honestly not sure why I started doing that, but now it feels weird if I only have one pillow. So I put the Marlow pillow on top of another pillow I already had. While it was definitely higher up than I was used to, going to sleep was no issue. The strangest thing did happen to me the first time I used the pillow. When I woke up, it felt like my head was cold in a way it never really is and I did develop a headache that stayed with me throughout the day. I have no idea what happened exactly, but perhaps the cooling pillow protector really lives up to its name, though to the detriment of myself. That being said this has never happened after the first night and now when I wake up both the pillow and my head feel normal. While using the pillow has been a great experience for the most part, I will be honest, I am not entirely sure I would have bought this pillow had it not been for the Thingdrop. This is quite an expensive pillow, and personally, I would typically go for something softer if I was paying over $60 for a pillow. In summary: Besides that first night, the pillow has given me no issues and I am super happy I got my hands on a really high-quality pillow and case!

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I didn’t wake up once using this pillow. I usually wake up multiple times a night and I can never get my pillows just right. After opening it up and putting it in the cooling pillow case, I fluffed it up. I usually have to adjust my pillows to get it just right but I didn’t have that issue with this one. There have been many nights just this past month where I am waking with with a hurt shoulder and neck, and I woke up feeling great with no pain. I’ll be replacing all of my pillows with Marlow!

8 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

It's a memory foam pillow, nothing more, nothing less. I don't find it to stay cooler than any other pillow. The pillowcase is kind of on the rougher side also fabric-wise.

7 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Finding a pillow is really tough. I want one that's firm and thick (control yourselves) but not so thick it gives me a crick in my neck (seriously, get it together). My old favorite pillow is no longer being made and was starting to give out, so I was nervous. Happily, this pillow from Marlow (and the accompanying protector) has been great. I keep it zipped all around, it holds its shape overnight, I'm sleeping great, and no neck pain.

7 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I had Casper pillows that had died after a couple of year so I decided to grab this in a Thingdrop. And I surprisingly love it. I am very picky with pillows but I think this is a great pillow. The zippers seem odd until you try them. It really gives you the option of soft medium or hard, but it's so easy to do. I am personally like a medium to soft pillow person and the double open zipper works best for me. I really do recommend this pillow! The pillow protector was not for me though, it is very thick and it is also tight so it did not allow me to utilize the double open zipper option.

7 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I was expecting a fluffier/softer pillow but it's actually super stiff regardless of whether you have it fully zipped or unzipped. I'm mainly a side sleeper and I had it fully zipped the first couple nights but it was too low and hard, so I unzipped it on one side which is better height-wise but still stiff, so then I unzipped it all the way and it STILL manages to be rock hard and unsupportive. I have to shove my hand under my pillow in order to get any support. And sleeping on your back is just asking to break your neck. It doesn't feel like memory foam at all. My previous pillow was memory foam that was soft and cushy but still very supportive. This pillow is both unsupportive and, again, rock hard regardless of how you've adjusted it. While I do actually like the stiffer pillow case as it feels super durable and good quality, I covered it with a silk pillowcase to better match our bedding and to help with skin & hair smoothness. While I appreciate the innovation behind the product, it needs some major improvements. I gave this pillow a 2 week trial run and woke up feeling like someone took an axe to my neck and shoulder this morning so I will be switching back to my previous pillow. Overall way overhyped.

8 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I really love this pillow - particularly the fact that I can adjust firmness levels simply by zipping/unzipping instead of having multiple pillows to hit each level of firmness. The packaging was cute and well done. I also love that it actually stays (mostly) cool. The only issue I have is the pillowcase - it's such a stark white that it really stands out on the bed and it's not the most comfortable thing. I think if the brand can work on the pillowcases, they'll have even more success!