Reviews

    Kaylaan

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    4 months ago

    There are two things from refill shops I can almost never prevent myself from buying: an interesting looking loofa sponge and toothpaste tablets. I had been looking for tablets with fluoride for a while (there is debate on if we need flouride in our toothpaste but I have small teeth so I do whatever I can to keep them clean), and finally I found some! Even though I already had a stash of tablets at home, it was a brand I had never heard of so I could not say no. The only bummer was that the tablets could not be refilled at the shop since anything with fluoride needs to be regulated. I've been using the Kaylaan tablets for about a week now since I was really unhappy with the current tablets I was using and I had been keeping these ones for when I finished my previous purchase. I've tried out a few different tablets before, with most of them seeming similar, but these ones truly felt like they were unique. The shape is different, and they have a K on them, which I love. Besides looking special, they also had a unique crunch. The best way I can compare it is to a Nestle Aero bar, with all those little bubbles. I actually look forward to biting these tablets, which I have never said before! Once chewed and brushed, it foams super well and tastes good. It feels like it is doing its job. Also, these were the first tablets I saw in a refill shop that had fluoride, so that was neat. My only issue, which is a strange one, is that sometimes there is a really unpleasant aftertaste to the tablets. It feels like it only happens some of the time, but I have to use mouthwash to get rid of the weird flavor. I hope if I get more they do not have this issue. That being said, I think these are still my favorite tablets so far. I also love the flavor options they have on the website. There are interesting flavors like Watermelon and Blueberry, as well as another option called Neem. I kind of want to get more just to try each of these flavors! Thankfully you are able to buy refills of tablets with fluoride online. Even better, the price seems super reasonable. If only I did not have that aftertaste issues these tablets would be perfect.

    Sauz

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I bought this Thingdrop despite knowing that it was not much of a match for me. While I love pasta, easy to make dishes, and trying new things, both of the flavors the brand launched with made me weary. Those were the Summer Lemon Marinara and Hot Honey Arrabbiata (which is now called Hot Honey Marinara- I wonder if the name was redundant since arrabbiatas are always spicy, or if shoppers were confused by what the word arrabbiata meant). I am not a fan of citrus at all besides sweet lemon desserts and lemonade, and my spice tolerance is very low. But I absolutely loved the branding for Sauz and it was only two jars, so I figured I would give it a shot. I agree with what many others have said about the lemon marinara. As someone who does not like a strong lemon flavor, this was way too powerful for me, and I really struggled to eat it. Thankfully I was able to share a lot of the pasta I made with my grandfather, who did not seem to mind the flavor. As for the arrabbiata, I honestly had a similar experience there with the sauce being too strong for my liking. However, with this one I did like the flavor aside from the spicy aspect. If only it wasn’t spicy, I would probably try this one again (though as I am typing this, I do have some sauce left so I will have to suffer a bit longer). Both of these products are truly as advertised, though with the lemon marinara I do think there could have been a lemon flavor there without overwhelming the entirety of the sauce. Lemon can be good, but to me it must be in balance with other flavors to do so. If you check the website now, you will see they have two new flavors. I wish I could try both the Wild Rosemary Marinara and the Creamy Calabrian Voda sauces (even if this one I would probably regret trying too)! However, at $25 for two jars, that is a decent risk if you want to buy these online at regular price. The flavor and quality are definitely there, but for that price I would rather not risk buying more.

    leaflet

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    An aesthetic I have long admired is the person who has at least 10 plants in every one of their rooms. It is crowded but snug, and makes the room feel alive. Knowing myself, I felt I could never really be that type of person, as I have little experience with plants or really keeping anything alive (myself excluded). A few years ago, I made a new friend, and she was really into house plants. She encouraged me to get one and I eventually did, a small pilea. It was easy enough to maintain, but I knew I did want to get another plant eventually. Along came my neon pothos, which was easy enough to maintain at first, but my old habits kicked in and I became lazy and forgetful. And unlike my pilea, this one was not so forgiving. It steadily began losing leaves and became super wilted. My poor plant was on its last legs! Along came the Krado leaflet Thingdrop. Now here was a product that fit my needs perfectly! It was a bit expensive for a Thingdrop, but since it promised to help monitor my plants and help prevent them from getting sick, this was a worthwhile investment as I was getting started on my plant journey. A little before my package arrived, I got a letter in the mail from Krado with some postcards and a handwritten note! That was such a kind thing to do, and it made things feel even more special. When I did get the actual package, my old habits kicked in and I neglected to set it up for weeks. When I finally got the motivation to get started, I now had three houseplants. Setup wasn't too difficult, just a bit confusing. There were no instructions on how to get started in the boxes, just a message about the recyclable packaging. The soil probes had also become loose when I opened the first package, which isn't a big deal thankfully. There is a QR code on the insert inside the box, but I must have missed it since I went back to their website to try and figure out what the app was called. Eventually I did find it, but I do hope future iterations of the packaging will have a better welcome letter with more detailed directions. Speaking of directions, upon downloading the app and activating my account, I was at a loss for what to do. From what I recall, there was not really a tutorial, and the app left you on your own to figure out how to add a plant. You can add a plant pretty easily (it can even identify your plant via a picture, which actually worked perfectly for me), but it does not automatically ask you to add a sensor to it. Instead, you activate a sensor in the profile section of the app and the app pairs it. From there you can add the sensor to any plant you want. That process is a bit off to me, and it created a less than ideal start. I had a bit of trouble with pairing my first sensor, but I adjusted my WiFi settings at that did the trick. I give huge props to any smart device that can connect to its app in under 15 seconds. It was super fast, and once I did my first sensor, doing the other two were a breeze! I have now been using leaflet for around a month, and it's definitely keeping me on my toes. It turns out I was watering my plants much less than I should have. I am happy to report that with more frequent watering my pothos is making a comeback- a new leaf even appeared the other day! This was a first as this plant had only ever lost leaves. So it seems this sensor is working its magic, and I am excited to see how well it works after several more months of use. I am currently charging a sensor for the first time, so hopefully reconnecting a sensor is no big issue. The sensors did not come fully charged but they seem to have a great battery life. As for the mobile app, as I mentioned before when I first opened the app, I was confused on what to do. Combining that with an unappealing user interface, it was not the most ideal first few days while I figured out how the app worked. Pretty recently the app got a big UI overhaul, and I love how it looks now. There are so many more explanations for things, and helpful tips for watering and how to raise the temperature of the plant. I would like to see more in-depth tips on watering, such as how much to water for a plant of a certain size. There is also a tab for learning more about plants, which I have yet to dive into but plan to do that eventually. I still think the process of adding a sensor could be improved, but overall, I love the way the product is going. I think this product is actually changing my plant habits for the better. While I do not immediately jump to water my plants as soon as I get the sensor notification, I definitely water them more now, keeping them healthier. Finally, I would like to bring up the price of the product. For the pack that I got, it is normally $200 for the kit and $16/month for a subscription. That is quite the downpayment for six tiny sensors! The website says soil, fertilizer, pesticide, and more included when you purchase a subscription, but as I did not get any of those extras I cannot comment if they help with the overall value. (EDIT: From the amazing customer service I have been informed that products are sent as needed when the devices alert the company that your plants need help. That is really cool actually!) Even so, I do not know if I could justify an almost extra $200 a year for a subscription on my plants. I am not that plant crazy yet! But for what I got with the Thingdrop, I am very happy and cannot wait to keep using my leaflets!

    Nori

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    This is such a neat product and works so much better than the Scotch sweater pill remover sponge I had tried using previously for this issue (to probably nobody's surprise). I tried it out on a few different sweaters I had. Almost immediately I could start seeing results, not just because the fabric was appearing inside the device, but the pills really did seem to disappear! This product is super simple to use. Just take off the cap and turn it on while placing it flat onto the piece you are fixing up. I was very happy to see that the shaver came already charged and that it uses a USB cord to charge instead of batteries. because the blade is mostly covered by a metal covering, I did not feel worried about damaging any pieces I was shaving on. While the shaver itself is a bit on the bigger side, a lot of that space is for the lint collector. Besides the chunkiness of the device, I think it is beautifully designed. In particular I love the cap that covers up the blade. It seems to have a very thin magnet around the inner edge, allowing it to pop right onto the device and not fall off. It took me a second of struggle to open the lint collection container, but it came off easily enough. While I might just keep everything in my box, I do also like how they included a bag in the box if you want to take it on the go. I really do think this product will change the way I pick out clothes. I do a ton of thrifting, and even once in a while, I will attend a clothing swap. There have been times when I will pass on an item because it has too many pills since I did not want to go through the trouble of removing them. Now with this pill shaver, that problem is solved! I cannot wait to use it more whenever I get the chance.

    Omsom

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Received a free product from Omsom

    I've heard about this brand for a while (their branding is gorgeous) and have long wanted to try some of their product, but have put it off because I cannot really handle spicy food and I knew many of their sauces are spicy. However, when I got a BOGO for their new noodle kits from Thingtesting, I decided to give them a shot! I got a box of Soy Garlic noodles and a box of Garlic Black Pepper as those were the least spicy out of the options I saw. Soy garlic felt like a better one to try first because the flavors seem more up my alley. Cooking them on my stovetop was a breeze, and it was basically like cooking any dried noodles and afterward adding the sauce. I also made a fried egg to go on top. The one thing I do have to say about the process was that the noodles were a lot longer than I expected, making them a challenge to transfer from my cooking pan to the bowl I was using to eat them in. I am sure this is intentional, as we see the creators pulling the noodles with chopsticks and showing their length in a picture on a box. But I did not notice that until inspecting the box later, so the length was a surprise to me! Now onto the taste. The flavor overall was not super strong. I get that this is only one on the chili pepper spice scale out of three, but it felt like it was lacking in flavors other than peppercorn. Speaking of which, if you told me this was the Garlic Black Pepper flavor, I would have believed you. I could immediately tell that the kick in this recipe was from peppercorn, and while there was a bit of other flavoring there, it was not as strong. I was also surprised to learn this was meant to be two servings, as I had no issues eating all of it in one go. All that being said, I definitely did enjoy these noodles. It was simple to make and did not have any of that artificial feeling that I get when eating cheap instant ramen. I would just want a bit more flavor other than peppercorn with this sauce. It is also pretty expensive compared to other instant noodles, but it is clear that this is a product of quality.

    Rotten

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Received a free product from Rotten

    I was able to sample a few of the worms at Rotten's recent launch party. I was lucky enough to get to beta test the worms, and let me just say the final product was a HUGE improvement! This review is going to be about the non-sour worms, as I tried a sour one during the beta test and it was way too powerful for me! The final rendition of the worms is pretty good for being a low-sugar product, though it is definitely still apparent that it is not the same as a regular gummy worm. I also really like how the packaging is completely compostable. This brand truly excels with its branding. It gives those nostalgic gross vibes that were in a lot of products in my childhood. While I am a bigger fan of cute than gross, Rotten is doing a great job at what it's aiming for. I'm very happy to have been following this brand for a while, and I cannot wait to see what they have in store for the future!

    Marlow

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    9 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    This Thingdrop happened at a very good time for me, as I was just starting to think about getting a new pillow. I really only have one nice pillow for my bed, and was deciding if I should try out something new. Marlow immediately intrigued me as an option for a new pillow due to the ability to adjust the firmness of the pillow via a zipper on each side. I also loved that they were providing us with a cooling pillow protector. I have some pillow covers I enjoy, but I have yet to ever experience a cooling pillow. I absolutely love the packaging for this pillow, and the entire pillow was able to fit in a pretty compact box. While not complicated to do at all, the box tells you everything you need to know about how to use the pillow. I decided to leave one side unzipped, which meant the pillow would have medium firmness. Using the pillow for the first time, I did notice a smell. Thankfully it was not strong enough that it prevented me from sleeping. For a few years now I have been using two pillows stacked on top of each other to sleep. I am honestly not sure why I started doing that, but now it feels weird if I only have one pillow. So I put the Marlow pillow on top of another pillow I already had. While it was definitely higher up than I was used to, going to sleep was no issue. The strangest thing did happen to me the first time I used the pillow. When I woke up, it felt like my head was cold in a way it never really is and I did develop a headache that stayed with me throughout the day. I have no idea what happened exactly, but perhaps the cooling pillow protector really lives up to its name, though to the detriment of myself. That being said this has never happened after the first night and now when I wake up both the pillow and my head feel normal. While using the pillow has been a great experience for the most part, I will be honest, I am not entirely sure I would have bought this pillow had it not been for the Thingdrop. This is quite an expensive pillow, and personally, I would typically go for something softer if I was paying over $60 for a pillow. In summary: Besides that first night, the pillow has given me no issues and I am super happy I got my hands on a really high-quality pillow and case!

    Bask Suncare

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Sunscreen is something I will never pass up testing, as while I do not really care for makeup, I am all about skincare. I've heard many times that the most important thing you can do for your skin is to wear sunscreen every day. What intrigued me about Bask is their dedication to stopping skin cancer and how their lotion smells good and leaves no white cast. Trying the SPF 50 lotion out, I was pretty pleased with the results. It disappeared into my skin quickly and definitely worked to protect me from the sun. I will say that while it smells fine, it is not my favorite-smelling sunscreen. I also felt that the sunscreen gushes out of the bottle a bit too fast for my liking, as it could lead to me using too much at once. This sunscreen is a bit more expensive compared to similar brands, so I definitely did not want to waste any! If you are looking for a new brand of sunscreen to try out, I say give Bask a go. They have a great mission and make a high-quality product.

    The Pizza Cupcake

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I had a big cupcake phase a while ago, but my love for anything cupcake lives on, so I was thrilled to discover this product through a Thingdrop. Growing up I often had pizza bagels when I went to a friend's house after school. It was one of those snacks I never particularly liked, but ate because it was decent enough. However, this product seemed like a fresh take on the concept, and after continually forgetting about them in my freezer, I finally had the opportunity to try them out! I used the pro tip on the back of my box as my guide and let the cupcakes thaw for 60 minutes before baking. I found these cupcakes to be quite good and far superior to pizza bagel bites. In particular, the crust was the superstar. I was surprised at how flaky and crispy it was, not to mention tasty. The cheese was pretty good though it tended to come out entirely after a bite or two since it didn't stay inside the cup. I wasn't a fan of the tomato sauce in the cupcake. But to be honest, it is rare to find a frozen pizza that can replicate the sauce of a fresh pizza, so I am not too surprised. This is the part of the review where I mention how expensive the product is. At $50 for a pack of 24, these are some seriously expensive cupcakes at over $2 a cup. When bought in-store, the price goes down a good amount, but this is definitely not a snack for people on a budget. However, the taste of this product is what is keeping this at 5 stars for me. This is an item I might find myself splurging on if I found it at the store. Even my brother thought these tasted great, so that is a huge win.

    Lentiful

    Level 7
    Hailey KLevel 7 76 Reviews

    a year ago

    Being the busy (and lazy) person that I am, I always am on the lookout for quick meals I can make at home if I have no leftovers in the fridge and no fresh ingredients. I came upon the brand Lentiful on the grocery website Feed, and decided to try it because I am a huge fan of soups and stews, and I feel lentils are adjacent to that. I chose the French Mirepoix flavor- as I mentioned I love stews and this seemed very similar to a French-style stew. This one is chock-full of veggies such as carrots, celery, and leeks. My favorite way to eat vegetables is when they are softened in a stew (let's just say I am not a salad lover), so I knew this would be up my alley. And I ended up really liking this item! The lentils were super easy to cook. Just add water and microwave them. Everything cooked well and was steaming hot when I started eating. I enjoyed the flavor quite a bit, though I personally would remove the fennel altogether, and lessen the amount of lemon. For the amount of time it takes to make this meal, you cannot find something quicker and more healthy than this. Even at around $5 a serving, I still think that is a fair price for the quality and results I got. I want to try the Homestyle Chili and Mexican Green Chile next, though I am also curious how the Thai Coconut flavor would taste.