The Caker

4.679 Reviews

The Caker makes luxury cake kits from whole ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.7
Average rating from 9 users
100%
Recommend it to a friend

The Caker Reviews

21 days ago
Experience

*Sigh* I reeeally wanted to like this. I love everything about this brand's aesthetic, they're basically upending what we know to be a boxed cake aisle dominated by Duncan Hines and Betty Crocker. I tried the Caker's spiced pear cake mix from Martie. The expiration date was marked as September 2022 when I bought it in December 2022, but apparently that was just a manufacturing error. Points to the Caker for minimizing waste and selling product that was still a-okay to use. Here's where things went downhill. The spiced pear cake called for two pears, diced. There were no volume or weight measurements for this. Anyone who bakes knows that moisture content can make a huge difference in the final outcome of a baked good, and here I was without a single clue of how much pear to put in this cake. Type of pear can also make a difference! I threw two diced pears in between layers of cake mix per the instructions and immediately felt that it was too much. Regardless, I put it in the oven despite my concern for the welfare of my soon-to-be cake. My hunch was correct, the cake refused to bake all the way through. I was left with a burnt-on-the-outside-and-raw-on-the-inside concoction. I'd be willing to try it again, just because the other reviews are great and I believe the Caker truly strives to make a solid cake mix. But alas, this particular flavor was a bust for me.

Feedback

It would be great to have weight/volume measurements for the ingredients.

Cool look & feelHoliday 2022 🌟
Useful review?
25 days ago
Experience

I was given a box to try out by the company and I absolutely loved the finished product. A high end boxed cake mix is more fun than you think, and the cake was soooo delicious.

Feedback

Loved everything about it!

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋
Monique K's review of The Caker
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I tried the spiced pear cake from Martie and it was absolutely delicious. Probably the best cake I’ve ever made (even from scratch). It was very easy to follow. I made it for my mom’s birthday and she liked it so much that I plan to gift her more for Christmas.

Feedback

My only slight criticism is the decorations didn’t do much for me. They were inedible so I just didn’t bother putting them on since then I’d just need to take them off.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Luxury
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

The Caker cakes are delectable, sophisticated, and so easy to make! This is not your average cake out of the box. I've baked 5 cakes (Coconut Raspberry Lime, Lemon Strawberry Poppy Seed, Banana Cinnamon, Espresso Dark Chocolate, & Graza Olive Oil Cake) and they have all turned out incredible. Guests give me much more credit than I deserve.

Feedback

I didn't have the proper-sized cake pan so I had to improvise on baking time.... I would have liked to know what bakeware I needed at home prior to the cakes arriving. I have since purchased a properly sized cake pan.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Luxury
Jaxon S's review of The Caker
Useful review?
3 months ago
📷Influencer for The Caker
Experience

So fun! The packaging is beautiful, the cakes taste home-made, and the recipes are easy. Loved this product!

Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋
Useful review?
2 years ago
Experience

Embarrassingly, I haven't made any of The Caker cakes myself, but I've gifted multiple and they're an absolute hit every time. I'm not an easy pleaser, the boxes are stunning. period!

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Stephanie C's review of The Caker
Useful review?
2 years ago
Experience

I love everything about this brand! My mom sent me a couple boxes of the Flourless Dark Chocolate Gold Leaf for my birthday this year. The thought that went into this product is so special. It includes everything you need to make and beautifully decorate the cake (minus the eggs and butter). The branding is edgy and cool~ Jordan Randel > Betty Crocker

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Emma  Chozick's review of The Caker
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Obsessed with these cakes! The Flourless Choc cake is my go-to and I always get comments on how tasty it is. Love them so much.

Feedback

I wish there were more Gluten-free options!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelTasty 😋
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

So yummy! Luv it 💗

Feedback

So I’m luv so 😋 tasty

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityTasty 😋
Useful review?