Omsom

4.4 152 Reviews

Omsom makes individual seasoning packets with the essential flavors and spices needed to cook authentic, high quality Asian dishes.

Best of Thingtesting
Omsom Reviews

Omsom reviews

Reviews mention

  • Unique bold asian flavors
  • Quick easy meal preparation
  • High-quality colorful packaging
  • Good noodle texture
  • Thin sauce consistency
  • Smaller than expected portions
  • High price for single serving
  • Some flavors not liked

Omsom is known for its unique and authentic Asian flavors, easy meal preparation, and quality packaging but struggles with thin sauces, small portion sizes, and high pricing. Some customers also expressed dissatisfaction with certain flavors.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

152 reviews

4 months ago

One word: yum!! I bought the saucy noodle sampler, and they are so easy to make and all so tasty. The spicy flavors could be spicier, but I am a lover of food that burns my mouth. I liked to customize the noodles with different proteins, green onions, and sesame seeds to mix them up.

2 months ago

Liked the texted of the noodles but I thought the sauce fell a little flat. I added a lot to it to make it more of a meal and have more flavor/body to it.

4 months ago

I was initially drawn to Omsom because of the fun packaging. I really liked the noodles, they were easy to make and the sauce package was tasty. Based on the price of the box, I assumed it came with 2 servings but it was just one which was a little disappointing. Definitely more lemongrass than coconut in the flavor.

6 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I had high hopes for this but unfortunately did not live up to the hype for me! The sauce packets aren't enough to cover the amount of noodles and mixing it with water feels like it's diluting it even though it's part of the instructions to create the meal sauce. Overall the flavors just lacked depth for me and I wouldn't purchase the Garlic Black Pepper Noodles and Soy Garlic Noodles again. Don't feel super inclined to try out the other flavors any time soon as of right now!

6 months ago

I tried one of the at home noodle + sauce packets and the noodles cooked pretty well and were in a good ratio with the amount of sauce provided. Flavors on the sauce were MUCH MUCH milder than I was expecting, but if they're recipe testing for broad mass appeal across the entire US, I get it. I found it pricey for the amount of food you get, and I hope prices improve as they scale....I love the business and brand and supporting female POC founders but will be more hesitant on trying other products.

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I enjoyed these noodles, they were super easy to make and didn’t take much time or effort. I guess I wish I added veggies or something with it. For me, the portion was big and I probably could’ve split it over 2 meals. The chili sesame definitely had a kick to it

3 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Elevated, easy, and delicious! Both flavors that I tried were so easy to make, delicious, and so much more fun and flavorful than standard microwavable instant noodles. The sauces are delicious and put a powder packet to shame. Variety of flavors is also awesome, will be trying many of the others. Will definitely being buying these in the future!

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love Omsom and have been using their sauces for the last two years. I was excited to see they launched the saucy noodles, and they they’re available in store at Whole Foods. I bought two of the Coconut Lemongrass. While they make a quick meal when hot (perfect for when I don’t plan ahead), I made an alternate recipe from their site that I liked even more - noodle salad (the sauce is the dressing) - which requires a little more planning. Love that they give alternate way to use their products. The package is two servings…which seems totally unrealistic, it’s definitely one (unless you’re loading it with other stuff).

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love the saucy noodles. They are expensive in that it's just 1 serving of noodles & sauce, but they are really nice to have on hand for days you are in a hurry. I added some frozen vegetables & shrimp and had a really satisfying meal in under 15 mins.

3 years ago

Love the branding, the story, & the product itself. Makes it really fun and easy to make dishes I love + dishes I haven't tried before without buying a ton of ingredients I won't use as often.

Feedback

Sometimes a little unsure how much sauce is enough for how much protein - especially if you're using alternative proteins. Also wish that the packaging didn't feel so single use / wasteful.

7 months ago

I think these make a great gift pack for someone who does not know how to cook. I found some of their flavors a hit and miss. I think if you’re familiar with Asian ingredients and flavors, you won’t enjoy this as much. However, this is good for someone who isn’t a good cook (not derogatory)

7 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I've been following Omsom for a while now- their sauces are so fun and are quite easy to test out, especially that they're now being sold as individual packets at Whole Foods. I tried the BOGO Saucy Noodles kit and was very excited because they had a coconut lemongrass curry flavor. I'm a huge fan of Khao Soi, which this tasted very similar to. I've tried a bunch of similar products, like the Momofuku noodles, but those paled in comparison to these. So much saucier, so much more flavor, nice thick noodles. It is a bit pricier than some other similar options ($4.99 for one box) and it's really one serving. But hey, cheaper than eating out!

7 months ago

I purchased some of the individual sauce packets from Whole Foods for a backpacking trip. I mixed them into my Maruchan noodles and it took my camp dinner to not just the next level, but outer space. It was delicious. Some of the flavours are really quite spicy, so keep your personal spice tolerance in mind (I loved it). Yum!

10 months ago

Got a noodle packet at Whole Foods. It was super easy to make and the flavor was good. Slightly salty.

10 months ago

Love their branding but flavors are really one dimensional. The larb and krapow are very acidic and off putting coming from a Thai person. The lemongrass is too sweet for my liking. The noodles have great texture but I can't stand any flavor packet that came with it. The flavor packet are supposed to be flavor bombs but they really lack flavor in my opinion.

a year ago

Finally got a chance to try this brand at Whole Foods. I got one of the vegan sauces and tried it in one of my noodle recipes, fire. The sauce was amazing in the noodles, added a kick of flavor and everything needed to make it just perfect. I'm going to try out the noodles they recently came out with at Whole Foods. Will update with those soon :)

a year ago

I had an intriguing experience with Omsom! I picked up the Soy Garlic and Coconut Lemongrass flavors from Whole Foods. It's true that this is a quick and convenient option with good ingredients compared to many instant noodles out there. However, I felt it could use a touch more flavor. Personally, I enhanced it by adding a perfectly cooked runny egg and some extra seasoning, which really elevated the taste. Despite that, I'm still curious to try the other flavors. Overall, it's a pretty good choice!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I've been wanting to try Omsom forever but was a little hesitant to take the leap on ordering it online. But, I happened to be in Target looking for something completely different and saw it on the shelf. So you know I did a little impulse buy. I grabbed the miso salmon glaze because I needed something to change up my dinner rotation. It was super flavorful and easy to use. UPDATE: Tried their saucy noodle kit and absolutely loved it! Made a great base for a fun meal with the fam. Super tasty and just the right amount of spicy kick. Definitely picking this up again!

Feedback

I liked the glaze and thought the flavor was great but I didn't feel like it stood out head and shoulders above other glazes you might buy. I think the brand probably really shines with some of its other variations.

2 years ago

Omsom saves me from so many late-night fast food runs. I throw in veggies, protein, Omsom marinade of my choice and boom--dinner. So easy, so good.

2 years ago

Every single flavor is delicious, and I appreciate the recipe suggestions, since some of the flavors are new to me. Packaging looks incredible, too. I wish they would sell jars of the various flavors so I could just measure out a quantity for a recipe, the pouches feel a little wasteful and it can be hard to get all of the product out with some of the flavors.