Reviews

    Heyday Canning Company

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    First off, everyone* knows I write the best reviews on Thingtesting. I ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. Bring ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. The ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. Saus ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. But you know who else brings the saus? Heyday with their tasty beans. Picked up the Coconut Curry and Harissa Lemon at the local Whole Foods. I scanned the QR code on the can and leaned into their curry chickpea and baked cauliflower recipe. It was delicious. So did I pay five bucks for a can of chickpeas? Yes. But did I look like a hero to my wife when I whipped up a dinner that rocked her tastebuds in 15 minutes? Also yes. To all my fellow dads out there you know thatโ€™s real* value. I likely wonโ€™t crack a can of Heydey for every meal, but Iโ€™ll definitely be a repeat customer and keep the ole pantry stocked with a few cans.

    Coconut curry chickpeas

    Hello

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased Hello's anticavity fluoride toothpaste at the local target. Was pulled in by all the natural ingredients, really liked the flavor but ultimately didn't love the brushing experience.

    Feedback

    Lack of foaming (relative to Crest/Colgate) was ultimately a tough mental barrier to overcome even though I know that it has no impact on cleanliness.

    Toothpaste

    Harry's

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    I've tried Harry's shave cream, post-shave balm and the Truman 5-blade razor handle. I wouldn't say that Harry's has revolutionized shaving for me, but damn does it feel good to not get ripped off by Gillette anymore. The blades last just as long as Gillette's but at half the cost. The packaging fro the Truman 5-blade razor handle was also plastic-less, which was great to see in a product category that is usually riddled with it. I also really like the shave cream, the aloe in it does help with soothing and the format and size make it great for traveling.

    Feedback

    Would love to see more environmentally friendly/compostable materials make there way into your product line, e.g., like the razor covers, razor handles, or shaving cream packaging.

    BEHAVE

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Candy is the bane of my healthy self's existence and Swedish Fish are my second love. That being said I have tried other low-sugar candy alternatives and they haven't hit the spot. But* Behave's gummies hit different. Specifically, I've tried the "Sweet Bears" in Lychee, Passionfruit and Raspberry. There's a tartness to the flavors that I really like without it being too sour.

    Feedback

    There is a bit of "chalkiness" to these gummies. It's not bad per se, just different. And at 1g of sugar and 60 calories for a pack I'll gladly deal.

    Ghia

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Ghia is a non-alcoholic staple in our house. Specifically, the cans of Le Spritz are a favorite for our brunch and after dinner drinks. All three flavors are honestly really great and unique, but the Lime & Salt flavor is my jam. It tastes a bit like a cross between a carbonated bloody mary and a caesar (IYKYK). The fee structure is a bit tough, but on special occasions Ghia hits the spot.

    Feedback

    Wish you had larger formats of the Le Spritz.

    NOSHINKU

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Maybe I'm middle aged now, so things like hand sanitizer excite me. But oh ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. my ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. lanta ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ. I travel frequently and need to space optimize. I also hate germs, and love things that smell good. Noshinku checked all those boxes for me. Initially I bought vetiver, bergamot, and eucalyptus pocket sanitizers. Great scents AND they don't dry out your hands even though they are 70% alcohol. At ~$12 a piece the pocket misters can be a bit pricey, but the refills definitely make things more economical!

    Feedback

    None. Keep doing what you're doing. I'm always on the lookout for new scents ๐Ÿค“

    Biom

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I was trying to cut back on paper towel usage and find a cleaner/cleaning wipe that wasn't so harsh. I happened to catch Biom on a Thingdrop and was pretty excited for the product. Having those ugly plastic satchels laying around our house was hurting my OCD soul. Naturally I loved the Biom canister and the fact that these bad boys are biodegradable. I keep them with our home workout equipment and it's been a great product to clean the ole Peloton with. If you consider that a pack of Clorex wipes is about $6, Biom's products are a no brainer given that they smell wayyy better and are environmentally friendly ๐ŸŒฒโ˜ฎ๏ธโœŒ๐Ÿผ

    Feedback

    Loading the wipes was tricky at first. Probably user error but I found there to be quite a bit of resistance when pulling wipes from the canister. I wish there were different time horizons for the subscription (e.g., every 3-4 months), at least it doesn't come across that way on the All-Purpose Cleaning Wipes product page.

    doublesoul

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Colors and design got me curious about Doublesoul socks. I got the Hi-Lo mixed pack and have been pretty happy with them. My go-to sock is the Nike Dri-FIT Training crew sock - an ole classic. While I won't be replacing my entire sock drawer with Doublesoul, they've definitely become my special occasion socks. The colors are unique, you can tell the cotton and construction are definitely high quality, and they are definitely more "cushiony" if that makes sense ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ

    Feedback

    I followed the washing instructions but the socks still seem to pile quite a bit.

    Boy Smells

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    This review is for all my other hetero fellas out there. Or any of my fellas, really. Do you and your domicile a favor and pick up one or two of these candles. Specifically, Hinoki Fantome or Cedar Stack. There's a high likelihood that you will convince some peoples around you that you have your shit together. That and it's just generally nice to have your home smelling not like pharmacy grade vanilla candles. Also, genuinely appreciate the simple "candle care" section on the Boy Smells website. If I'm buying a $40 candle youโ€™re damn right I'm going to be allllll about taking care of it

    Feedback

    Fee structure can be a bit of a shock. Maybe a smaller format or tester pack would help people understand how truly differentiated your products/scents are.

    Allbirds

    Level 6
    Chris CLevel 6 44 Reviews

    a year ago

    This review is for the Allbirds Sugar Sliders. Allbirds' shoes aren't really my jam. Cool product and mission, but the style isn't for me. That being said, I was on the hunt for a comfy, "non-plasticy" slider, that didn't look half bad and Allbirds was the first brand that came to mind. And boy am I happy that the crew over at Allbirds decided to branch out of runners. These bad boys are comfy with a capital C. I wear them primarily in our home, which has concrete floors. I was getting bouts of plantar fasciitis (foot pain) every morning and a week after I started to wear these, it immediately went away. The adjustability of these puppies is a big positive too as I've got wide feet. Sizing can be a bit tricky, since they only come in full sizes. I rock a 10.5 Nike shoe, and went with a 10 in the sliders and still have some room. Finally, as someone who gives a shit about our planet, the fact that the product is made of a material that is carbon negative is cool. That and the unboxing experience was genuinely refreshing. A simple, brown paper box. No tissue paper. No pamphlets telling me about how awesome the product is. Love it. Keep making products like these and you can take my money all day Allbirds.

    Feedback

    Sizing was tough as there isn't an Allbrids in our city, but you should open one in Detroit ๐Ÿ˜˜. Maybe make your sizing relative to other shoe brands or have some sort of sizing tool that helps compare how the product fits Update: The area where the strap loops through the base of the sandal broke. Customer Service was very prompt to respond and within a couple of days of me sending them a picture of the issue, Allbirds sent me a new pair. The material of the new pair feels* like it's a bit firmer and they have already out lasted the previous pair

    Sugar Sliders