Wholly Veggie

3.7 102 Reviews

Wholly Veggie makes a variety of plant-based, gluten-free snacks and freezer meals.

Wholly Veggie Reviews

Wholly Veggie reviews

3.7

66% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Cheddar-style
  • Jalepeno
  • Delicious
  • Whole-food
  • Chewy
  • Strange-flavor
  • Split-easily
  • Limited-dairy

Wholly Veggie has tasty vegan options but the mozzarella sticks had a strange flavor and were chewy.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

102 reviews

5 months ago

Received a free product from Wholly Veggie

I love that this brand makes plant-based snacks that are delicious and easy to cook. I love their mozzarella sticks, but my only complaint is that they burst open and glue themselves to the bottom of the pan way too easily.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love trying new vegan and vegetarian products so I was excited for these plant-based "mozzarella" sticks but I just didn't like them. The "cheese" was fine but the cauliflower breading had an off-putting texture and the truffle flavor just didn't taste right. I tried them hot from the oven, then again later after they had cooled a bit, and I just couldn't finish them. I'd be willing to try something else from this company but I can't recommend these truffle-flavored "mozzarella" sticks.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I struggled with the unboxing experience and all the excess waste :/ They were good, but not something I'd buy off the internet, just easier to buy in store

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

These little truffle mozz-style sticks could be the tastiest things on earth, and still the insane amount of packaging it apparently takes to ship these snackies to me would make me lose my appetite. It was unjustifiable, especially for me, who can take or leave these based on taste alone, and who doesn't have a problem eating actual vegetables. Personally, I'd rather eat my vegetables without the facade, but my husband, who forgets to eat vegetables, thought they were fun and tasty.

Feedback

Rein in the packaging, only ship bundles, or sell exclusively with retailers.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I eat dairy but my husband doesn't so I've tried quite a few of the vegan cheese products on the market & these are a favorite. The texture of the cheese is closer to a melty cheddar than mozzarella, but still convincingly cheesy. I think the flavor is great, you just have to be sure to hit the sweet spot in cooking time, so that the cheese is fully melted but not yet leaking out. I will definitely be repurchasing from this brand, in fact, I went to their site to try and place an order for a variety of their products but strangely couldn't check out. Seems like they have some work to do on their website. I did, however, find the "plain" mozzarella sticks at my local Wegmans, so it was nice to be able to snag a box locally. I'm looking forward to trying more of their options, like the meal kits.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This is a tough review for me to write but unfortunately this was a miss for me! I shared with my family and no one really liked them either. They smell great but it left a weird aftertaste, and the cheese texture just isn't right- it's kind of goopy and sticks to your mouth. I made this in an air fryer and the cheese was leaking out just after 5 minutes. Also dunno if I missed something, but there were no directions on how to heat up the marinara sauce, so I was kind of confused. I guess if you're vegan if might be fun to try, the packaging is fun and I love the brand's mission but I don't think I'd pick this up again!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Tasty but you get so few for the price. Definitely not a health food. Sauce tasted particularly sugar loaded.

Feedback

Not enough product to be viable and definitely not healthy based on the ingredients.

a year ago

I loved the concept so much and think the packaging is killer. Really stands out in the freezer!

Feedback

I had the cauliflower and it was a little bit on the soggy side— sort of limp and shapeless. It tasted solid, but the texture wasn’t my favorite so I didn’t repurchase. Worth a try if you’re curious!

8 months ago

High hopes but these were not super great. Had the mozzarella sticks and the texture was quite chewy with a bit of a strange flavor. Most of them were already split out of the package before even cooking, so it was hard to cook without making a mess. Hopefully they'll continue to iterate and update the recipe because I really wanted to love these.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Wholly Veggie is a brand I have been seeing quite often at the supermarket. It is truly awesome to see how many plant-based brands can be found at any grocery store! But this brand seems to be one of the most popular based on just how often I saw it and the scope of their products, so I was excited to try it with a Thingdrop that was debuting their Truffle Mozzarella Style Sticks! Unfortunately, several factors would keep me from buying this product again. The first upsetting thing was getting this huge box in the mail packed with dry ice and more packaging to carry this one box of sticks. Surely there has to be a way to ship a single frozen item in a smaller box filled with dry ice? It just felt very wasteful, and it is why I always buy frozen items in person. Then it came to cooking the mozzarella sticks! Everything went okay, and thankfully most of the sticks did not spill out too much when they were done baking. However, I was not really a fan of the texture or taste. They were super soft, which can be okay normally but they broke apart super easily which is not ideal for this type of food. The cheese of a mozzarella stick is supposed to be stretchy, but here it is basically liquefied. This just did not do it for me either as a mozzarella stick substitute or a baked appetizer in general. Also, I will note I ate the entire box by myself in one go, which was very unusual as usually there is enough in any box full of mozzarella sticks to last me for two meals. The truffle taste was fine and not too overwhelming. I would be interested in trying the regular flavor, but that's because I like to try everything once (and they weren't bad enough that I couldn't finish them). I also was not a fan of the tomato sauce, but rarely do I find a tomato sauce given with mozzarella sticks that is actually good, so I wasn't too surprised.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love the concept, especially for a "healthier" option for my little one! However, I wish I could have selected a non-truffle option to try, as the flavor was a little offputting for a mozzarella stick. The toddler and husband wasn't a fan. I would try another product from the brand though.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Disclaimer: I tend to be VERY sensitive to high-fat foods. Taste and texture wise, these were great! The coating was crispy and perfect. I found that the cheese needed some time to cool after being cooked in order to be the right consistency. Being patient is hard but it was worth it. I didn't feel great around 20-30 minutes after eating, which was a real bummer. But my husband LOVED them! So if you aren't super-sensitive, these are an absolute winner.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

these definitely needed more time in the air fryer but i followed the 6 @400 min direction on the box. i get it, it’s not a real mozzarella stick but the cheese is so liquidy and messy, there’s no BITE to it. it ended up a gooey mess and it becomes an issue because you’re supposed to dip it into the sauce. i can’t really taste the truffle, but the flavors overall were ok! i don’t crave it persay but this is one of the better vegan options out there for mozzy sticks.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Let's put it this way... they're so good that my teenagers scarfed them all up and asked for more before I even go the chance to taste them! But based on their reviews, these little puppies are absolutely delicious and we wish they'd sell them in a 5lb bag. As a gluten-free family, they're priceless.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I got this product from a Thingdrop, and it was pretty good. It was super cheesy and while I coudl tell that it was vegan cheese, it was definitely the best non-dairy cheese I've ever had. It was almost too cheesy, like too gooey, which is my only critique. The sauce it came with was amazing, I couldn't get enough of it!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Hoooolyyy 💩, I was planning to share these with my toddler but I took one bite and changed my mind because I am a monster. I felt guilty, gave him one bite, and then he kept begging for more so had to share anyway. These are so good, the vegan cheese is SO creamy. I'll for sure be buying more of these from Target.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I purchased Wholly Veggie's mozzarella sticks with truffle flavor through Thingdrop. The package arrived in the mail in a large cardboard box with a polystyrene cooler inside packed with dry ice and the product itself. I ordered these because it was a good deal, but I actually felt some real eco-guilt when it came. This big box and a foam cooler were sent across the country for me to have a frozen side. The box contained 13 small vegan mozz sticks, which I ate as a side with my dinner. I overcooked them by a minute or two and all the cheese oozed out. They tasted good. I thought the truffle flavor was nice but not overbearing. The included marinara was a good addition. I don't normally eat vegan alternative foods, so I took a look at the ingredients and nutritional values. It sort of seems like these are mostly potato and oils with a dusting of cauliflower breading. Compared to regular mozzarella sticks, they have approximately the same amount of calories, but more carbs and fat and 5x less protein. A serving of these is about the same protein as a serving of french fries but with twice as many carbs and 10x as much saturated fat. Unless I'm not understanding the nutritional facts and ingredients, it seems like junk food.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

The packaging is very cute, and I've had the opportunity to try multiple snacks from the line, all of which have been pretty good. They don't have as veggie a taste as some other plant-based snacks, but unfortunately for me they always give me a stomach ache. I recently tried the truffle mozzerella sticks, and while they were good, I had to lay down afterwards from being nauseous. I think it is because there is a lot of oil, and possibly because the majority of their snacks are fried. I would recommend this to a friend who loves junk food, but is trying to go vegan!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

We picked these up on a Thingdrop, and were excited to give them a go. As part of a late night movie munchie snack, we popped these in the oven. While the flavor was pretty yummy, the texture was overly gooey, making it impossible to dip or eat easily. Love the idea of plant-based, gluten free snacks like this but I think the filling needs to be a bit reformulated to be fully satisfying. The dipping sauce was super yummy though!