Imperfect Foods

3.5 57 Reviews

Imperfect Foods delivers groceries to your home that would have otherwise been thrown out by traditional grocery stores, eliminating food waste.

Imperfect Foods Reviews

Imperfect Foods reviews

3.53

63% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

57 reviews

3 months ago

I love what this company does - the food itslef is not bad just a little imperfect which I love - so great I highly recommend

4 months ago

Customer

They are using ANY method necessary random billings for crazy amounts of money from $60-100'dollars to bill my card. Now that I blocked imperfect foods they are billing through instacart. This is dishonest and just right illegal. DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING. there's no way to cancel service even on website. I gave contacted an attorney to fight this. It's dishonest and Illegal. Breaking into MY CARD by any means. Not happening!!! I'm one of many people that struggle to cancel. I even tried to go on their app. It's impossible. Not 4 stars .5

9 months ago

I really had high hopes for this as I was looking forward to 1.) helping eliminate food waste and 2.) get a new rotation of veggies into my meals for the week but it didn't work well for me. The variety wasn't that good and the produce didn't last as long as I would like. In 1-2 days, the veggies were not very fresh.

2 years ago

I tried Imperfect Foods for a few months and found that it wasn't a good fit for me. The offerings were not as great as other boxes and I found that most of the produce arrived in terrible condition, leaving me to either eat it all that day or toss it. The grocery sections weren't terrible though.

3 years ago

I love Imperfect in theory, but struggle with it in execution a tiny bit. Yes, I want those forgotten & ugly fruits & vegetables to get eaten, that mission is A+. But their sustainability efforts are belied by their new plastic-clad product offerings, cardboard boxes for which they don't have a recycling program, and ice packs & coolings bags.

Feedback

I kind of miss when Imperfect was just funky produce. I do understand their need to scale & change, and hats off to them for being the first in this now-crowded market. But if sustainability is their mission, they could do better.

10 months ago

Very convenient. But, for what their mission supposedly is- it’s weird that they don’t accept food stamps. They could be doing so much good if they also were trying to provide accessible groceries to low income, disabled, single parents, and marginalized communities. I had multiple orders that were missing items or were somehow incorrect. It happened multiple times. Consistant mistakes & issues led me to believe that they are mistreating their workers. I ended up canceling my membership

a year ago

Having been using for about a year. If you spend 60 dollars the shipping is free. I have had a few shipping issues, but they always refund me for the items that have broken etc. There are certain items that come at an obvious discount, but most are about the same price as in the store. It’s good for getting basics delivered every week. I have found that I’m buying less and less produce from them because it’s more expensive than in the store.

a year ago

Sale or special offer

I got a promotion for $25 off my first four boxes and have gotten great stuff for a great price! Would recommend giving it a shot!

2 years ago

I love imperfect foods! My mom orders from here, and it's such a great way to eliminate unnecessary food waste.

2 years ago

The biggest issue with imperfect is that I'll typically throw out 10% of the produce inside the box and 25% by the next day since it's close to rotting/moldy straight out of the box. I admire their mission and only buy their pantry or shelf stable goods (if you cancel your purchase they send you 50% off coupons every couple of months, up to 25$ in savings), but even then I hesitate to use them since I'd rather buy my groceries from one place. I live in California meaning that a bell pepper typically goes for $1.50 in a grocery store, but it'll be the same price on Imperfect (so i'm not saving money AND it's probably gone bad too). Watch out for their hidden subscriptions where they'll load your cart preemptively and if you don't empty it, they'll charge you for that order. This is why I cancel my subscription after every order and hated this feature. The only redeeming quality is that they have Minor Figures oat milk which is the best oat milk.

Feedback

read above ^

3 years ago

I love the mission of this company. The website is so easy to manage. I try new veggies and fruits because of this company and everything comes delivered to my apartment!

Feedback

They sometimes forget some items and have not responded to concerns.

2 years ago

I don’t know why everyone doesn’t use imperfect foods! The variety of products is amazing, much of the food is just as I would buy it at the store, and the prices can’t be beat! Can’t recommend enough

2 years ago

the quality of this service has really been a bell curve over time, at least for my area i really truly love the mission and food waste is something that i think is so important however, during my last few orders, I've noticed that the prices have been the same or higher than grocery stores in my area - isn't the idea that it is unwanted produce for lower prices? much of the produce is also lower quality as they are near or past their last legs. upon receiving the last few orders, I've also had rotten or recalled grocery items. customer service is nice, though, and refunded me when i had let them know that something arrived fully moldy, but it is sad. there have also been packaging issues when ordering things like fish. every time that i've ordered fish, it is in the same liner as a lot of other non-fish items and the melted fishy water gets over everything else :'( I really wanted to love this and sometimes they do have really cool things for lower prices But in my last few orders, price has gone up and quality has gone way way down. I know there are supply chain issues that affect all this, so I do hope to try them again soon and see if things have gotten better.

2 years ago

Overall I love this service and everything they are doing! I love finding new products and saving on waste when I order from them! Customer service is amazing! And they take back their packaging which I love!

Feedback

Sometimes the prices of certain items are quite high

2 years ago

Meh. I like some of their own brands and get most of my Impossible meat through them.

Feedback

I don't feel like I am saving any money. And sometimes the veg are MORE expensive than Whole Foods.

3 years ago

Imperfect Foods is pretty wonderful – they put so much food, that would otherwise go to waste, into our homes. And who cares if your apple is more oval than round? While it's not the most tech savvy brand around (their website leaves something to be desired) it is quite easy to schedule your boxes for delivery. When I used their service (throughout the pandemic) I would look forward to every Thursday when the grocery items for the next week would drop.

Feedback

They use SO MUCH PACKAGING. Also, the variety of organic goods is sometimes lacking (especially in the products that they make themselves) Occasionally you get a very rotten piece of produce. Not sure how that stuff gets overlooked.

3 years ago

I had a buddy who worked there and wanted to be supportive. Plus: it was a pandemic and Imperfect Foods helped me avoid stores. Selection was OK. Produce never arrived in good shape and the cold chain was iffy. When I started, there were errors in my boxes every week (though refunds were easy). But prices were higher than the local Whole Foods and shipping something from hours away felt global-warming-weird. I haven't had an order in a few months.

Feedback

Get your cold chain and packing under control so I could order fresh staples.

3 years ago

I didn't like this delivery box at all. The food went bad quickly and the packaging of the vegetables didn't protect them.

Feedback

Better packaging and fresher food.