Homiah

4.7117 Reviews

Homiah makes spices and sauces inspired by Southeast Asian heritage.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.7
Average rating from 17 users
100%
Recommend it to a friend

Homiah Reviews

2 days ago
Experience

I loved the convenience and high quality of the sauce packets. The instructions were accurate and the flavor was delicious, and most of the options aren’t meals that I have ingredients for at home so it was fun to try new things out.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTasty 😋
Claire R's review of Homiah
Useful review?
3 days ago
Experience

Loveeeee this product! I’ve only tried 1 of the packets so far but it was absolutely fantastic. Worth whatever it costs, don’t really care how much - it’s so easy to use, flavorful, and makes your food taste restaurant quality at home. I love easy meals like this, just adding some veggies and protein and call it an eve :)

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
Useful review?
5 days ago
Experience

Very convenient. I love the ingredients. The packaging is really nice also . Directions are fairly simple. I used a few and gifted the rest to my sister who is a curry lover. She's very excited to try them.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋
Useful review?
6 days ago
Experience

I used to live in Southeast, so I was excited to stumble upon Homiah. The spice kits taste just like some of my favorite flavors in SE Asia that are hard to find in the States. I also like that each spice kit makes 2 meals, so it's pretty inexpensive for what you're getting. I also don't love to cook, so being able to add my favorite protein and vegetables made the process really simple and enjoyable. I also appreciate that each kit is vegan and gluten/soy free.

Feedback

My only negative feedback is due to personal preference. I love spicy food and the kits just didn't have the spice level that I like...but that is an easy fix!

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
Brittney J's review of Homiah
Useful review?
7 days ago
Experience

I am definitely a beginner cook but I am always looking for ways to make my life easier when I do decide to cook. However, I am a huge fan of food, so I would love to be able to make recipes at home that are easy and delicious. Homiah seems like an excellent option for some people, but I do not think it really hit the mark for me. I decided to make the red curry as that is the one my brother wanted us to make and normally this would be too much food for me. I used my favorite Caraway pan to cook the curry, and things for the most part went well. It was super simple to make. But for me as a beginner chef who did not grow up eating curries, it was not immediately obvious how big to cut the chicken, potatoes, or carrots. I think a pointer for how big the pieces should be would be helpful, as some potato pieces were not fully cooked. I cannot say the end result was aesthetically pleasing, as almost none of the dishes I make are. I am always left wondering, was it something I did, or is it just the recipe? The picture of the curry on the website does not look very thick at all, so I think this was how it was supposed to turn out (though the liquid had some ingredient separation as you can see in the picture I included). However, the most notable difference is that the sauce did not seem to really permeate the rest of the ingredients as it appears to on the website. And overall this dish was not too flavorful, especially compared to curries from restaurants. It did have a little kick to it that forced me to get some milk, but it was not crazy spicy, which was good since the package only showed two chilis out of four. It is possible that this is exactly what the dish is supposed to taste like, as it is Malaysian curry. Around me, there are not really Malaysian restaurants, though I have had lots of Thai and Indian food. I still do hope to eventually try the other two spice kits that were given to me, though I will have to wait until I see my brother again since this makes too much for just me! And that brings me to my conclusion that this was just not for me. I would rather spend my money at a restaurant that sells curry than have to buy a spice kit, chicken, potatoes, carrots, and coconut milk. To me eating out is almost always worth it since it guarantees a tasty meal, no dishes, and almost always leftovers. But obviously, someone with a family would have a very different viewpoint than this. Maybe I would have come to a better conclusion had I chosen a different dish to make, but only time will tell if my decision will change!

Feedback

Indicate how big the pieces should be for anything that needs to be cut up and added to the curry.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelLuxury
Hailey K's review of Homiah
Useful review?
8 days ago
Experience

Delicious spice kits! I would definitely buy again. My partner loved it so much he purchased some as gifts for his family. Pros: Unapologetic flavors that reflect Southeast Asia. Perfect spice level (for my spice tolerance -- probably a little spicy for someone not used to spicy food at all). The instructions were simple to follow and the packing is delightful! Cons: cannot think of any.

Useful review?
12 days ago
Experience

The spice kits are really well made, and they are not kidding when they say the kits have incredible fragrance. They really do smell amazing when you open the packets. Packaging is colorful and easy to use.

Feedback

I did get amazing aromatics, the flavor wasn't as strong as the aroma. I may have used too much coconut milk or cooked too long, so I won't rule out operator error.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityTasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
14 days ago
Experience

These are SO GOOD. I like a lot of flavor, and these packets absolutely pack the punch. They’re so versatile and make a flavorful weeknight dinner so east to make. I love that you can throw in any protein and veggies!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
16 days ago
Experience

Grabbed this during the thingdrop and have already bought another box! Absolutely delicious and so easy. I love that I can get so much flavor out of a little pack, and it's convenient over rice, with veggies, or as a marinade. Definitely a new pantry staple.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋
Useful review?
19 days ago
Experience

I got this in the most recent thing drop and I'm so glad I did. I made the Laksa last night and it was incredible. It was so simple to add the protein/ carb/ veggies I wanted and have a complete and delicious meal. I'm impressed with how easy the process was and this is an awesome way to introduce a new dish!

Feedback

Honestly no notes!

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
Useful review?