Reviews

    Yin Sleep

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    4 days ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Coming from a science background I'm doubtful of most nootropics, so I admit I tried these with a healthy dose of skepticism. In the end, however, I was pleasantly surprised. The manufacturer is still dialing in the exact formula (I wrote the founder to find out more about the various ingredients), yet over the course of my seven-day trial I found this dosage to be quite effective. I had a deeper, sounder sleep five of the nights I used them, and had no negative physical or psychological reactions. And, since they impact REM sleep, I awoke most mornings having better recall of my dreams than usual, which I found telling. The primary ingredients are L-Theanine and magnesium, with other proprietary components like NanoHemp, NanoCBN, and an exclusive blend of eight terpenes labeled YinTerpene, though, other than possibly the terpenes, I don't know if these unique elements are of high-enough quantity to have a significant effect in and of themselves. That having been said, it worked for me, at least for a week. I'm not sure if it will retain the effectiveness over the long term, but I'm certainly going to give it a go for another month or so.

    Pipcorn

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    6 days ago

    Did you ever have two things that you thought would go together great, but when you combined them they just didn't gel? That's how I feel about Pipcorn's Spicy Cheddar Cheese Balls with Tabasco Sauce. You get an immediate burst of heat from the Tabasco sauce, followed by a nice cheesy taste, then a lingering burn at the finish. The key flavors are there, and both are prominent—they just never quite come together as a cohesive whole. The ratings for the other flavors and products generally seem high, so I'm writing this one off as an experiment that didn't quite work out rather than an out-and-out dismissal of the brand.

    Spicy Cheddar Cheese Balls with Tabasco Sauce Flavor

    Dreamfarm

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    7 days ago

    It's great when design and innovation come together in a small package, which is exactly what you get with this flexible nylon spatula that combines both lifting and chopping capabilities. It's ergonomically designed so you can slide the edge down the side of a pan and scoop up a slice of brownie (or slide it under an egg or omelet), while the edge is sturdy and offset, making it easy to use as a knife to slice pieces out of whatever you're baking. There's also an intentional kink in the handle just below the blade that makes it easy to set the spatula over the edge of a pan/cookie sheet or place it aside so that the the head sits well above the counter. It comes in a bunch of colors, though I am admittedly partial to the midcentury-inspired green one I own. A good-looking and great addition to any kitchen!

    Mini Chopula

    Nora Seaweed Snacks

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    17 days ago

    I'm by no means a seaweed connoisseur—this is only the second time I've tried it as a standalone snack (as opposed to being used as part of a sushi roll or in another recipe)—but if these strips of tasty goodness are any indication, I'll definitely be eating them again. Opening the package is a surprising experience, as the smell of the sea is overwhelming and, quite honestly, a bit off-putting. However, after the first bite, as the seaweed all but melts in your mouth, that scent becomes a benefit and a "tease" for the briny, oceany (not sure if there's any other word to use) taste. I'll certainly be trying both Nora and other brands moving forward as I progress on my seaweed snack voyages.

    Nora Snacks Original Crispy

    wildwonder

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    21 days ago

    Received a free product from wildwonder

    Who would've expected a drink where the first ingredient is "Fresh brewed turmeric" to taste so great? I sure didn't. The "Mango Gold" is uniquely flavorful, blending the aforementioned turmeric with mango puree, passion fruit juice, Jerusalem artichoke, agave nectar, and even a touch of black pepper to create a slightly sweet yet zestful sparkling treat. I'm eager to try the other flavors, and confident that this will become one of my go-to choices for healthy drinks in the coming months.

    Mango Gold

    Yesly

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    a month ago

    Received a free product from Yesly

    Yesly seems like the poor man's Gatorade: this "enhanced still water beverage" quenches your thirst, but leaves a strong, somewhat metallic aftertaste (probably due to steviol glycoside, which is essentially the chemical compound behind the natural sweetener stevia). The kiwi strawberry flavor (which came from neither kiwi nor strawberry juices) in the can I tasted were present though not overly powerful, which is fair, as the label states the liquid only has "a touch of flavor." I personally like a bit more oomph when it comes to a sports drink, and since it's filled with many of the same chemicals/electrolytes as others (though admittedly has the bonus of zero calories), I'll stick with what I've got for now.

    Kiwi Strawberry

    Pop Art Snacks

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    a month ago

    Has our individual self-esteem sunk so low that we now need snack food packaging to prop us up? These potato bites taste fine—star-shaped 3D puffs with little slits (similar to Chex cereal) and a cheesy, crunchy flavor—but are honestly nothing special in the snack food realm. The marketing copy on the bag, however, is over the top. It's like Dr. Bronner's for Gen Z or Gen Alpha. Does anyone really need their bag of potato snacks to remind them "we all have the power within us to shine!" or "... we know how beautifully unique you are" or "when you inspire greatness in yourself, you inspire greatness in others"? Come on ... this is snack food, people! We don't need our potato chips or cheese puffs or whatever to "help today's youth realize their unbridled potential in life." I truly hope that there are better sources for that type of encouragement (friends, parents, family, teachers, etc.) than snack food packaging.

    3D Potato Bites White Cheddar

    Andalou Naturals

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    a month ago

    Received a free product from Andalou Naturals

    A gentle, low-lather product, this shower gel is mediocre. The scent is pleasant and it does the job in terms of cleaning and hydrating, but I found that I really needed to scrub (as opposed to using bar soap or other body washes) to eliminate any residual odors, such as after a long run or tough workout. Perhaps it works better in another dimension, however, as the label claims the product uses a "... proprietary Hydro Firm Complex™ of multi-dimensional Hyaluronic Acid, Prickly Pear Elixir, Algae Oil ..." (semi-random capitalization copied as written). Seriously, it's an okay cleanser, but not one that I would count on when the going (and odors) gets tough.

    Ultra-Nourishing Shower Gel

    Rowdy Mermaid

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    a month ago

    Not knock-your-socks-off great, but refreshing and reasonably tasty. Lunar Berry (which blends blueberry, lavender, and vanilla) was aromatic and balanced the trio of flavors well, while Savory Peach (peach and thyme) delivered on the peach with corresponding savoriness, though I didn't specifically taste thyme. That having been said, store-bought bottled kombucha such as Health-Ade tastes better, and of course nothing compares to fresh-off-the-tap (or even growler-filled) competitors (I'm admittedly spoiled, living in San Diego where there are a number of kombucha distilleries). In short, based on these two examples Rowdy Mermaid products aren't the best, but they're a decent substitute if bottled or fresh kombucha isn't otherwise available.

    Savory PeachLunar Berry

    BHU Foods

    Level 5
    Jeff BLevel 5 52 Reviews

    a month ago

    Everything about these refrigerated bars screams "Tasty," yet somehow they miss the mark. I purchased two bars on a BOGO deal, and they both more-or-less delivered on their promised flavors. They weren't super sweet, which was what I wanted, but they also left a metallic aftertaste (the Carmel Peanut Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough bar more so than the PB&J + White Chocolate one). They were quite dry, too. As for their "healthiness," decent fiber in each bar (9 g and 16 g, or 32% and 57% daily value, respectively), but the saturated fat is is off the chart (11 g and 8 g, or 55% and 40% daily value). Wowza! All I can say—in an intentional nod to a far-better-tasting competitor—they were far from perfect.

    PB&J + White Chocolate protein barCaramel Peanut Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough protein bar