Birchbox

2.3611 Ratings

Birchbox offers to send a box of 5 handpicked deluxe beauty product samples monthly to help subscribers develop an effortless, simple beauty routine.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

2.4
Average rating from 11 users
27%
Would recommend it to a friend

Birchbox Reviews

Experience

Liked having an opportunity to test new products, but didn't like having a lot of the products i didn't like or need laying around my house.

Feedback

Opportunities to further curate your own box.

Fun unboxing 📦
a month ago
Experience

When I first tried it, I received lots of great items. I’ve subscribed a few more times and very disappointed, because there are too many repeat items, poor quality items and tiny samples.

Feedback

Better and useful items, larger samples

Travel friendly ✈️
Le U's review of Birchbox
2 months ago
Experience

I was subscribed to Birchbox as a gift and I think it was a really good gift! I just think I am the kind of person who would never reach for a sample product. I am not super experimental in my beauty routine and I like to do research on my products before I buy them to make sure they are right for me. However I have tested some pretty amazing products through this service and ended up buying the full sized version. This was a great gift, and it was fun getting something new every month!

Feedback

Diversifying the brands!

High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
2 months ago
Experience

I loved this at first, but it got quickly redundant and wasteful. Too much perfume. Too much packaging.

Fun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️
9 months ago
Experience

I never received anything in my Birchbox I found worth using. In fact, I felt like the box was kind of a waste of paper and plastics and felt bad getting it until I eventually canceled. I did end up giving out a lot of the samples to my younger cousins.

Has no effect 🤷
9 months ago
Experience

super wasteful and waste of money.

Feedback

give out samples for free LOL

10 months ago
Experience

I use to be really into trying new products. in 2020, I really simplified my skincare routine and wear minimal products now. However, I first started this to learn about new brands. What I struggled with is using all the samples in the box that lead to waste. Also, if I was given a lipstick or makeup that I don’t use - I felt cheated out of a sample. Maybe good for those still trying to figure out what they like.

10 months ago
Experience

At one point I would have considered myself to be a "makeup person," especially when I was subscribed to Birchbox. It was fun to receive a package every month with a handful of new brands and sample products to try. However, I rarely found myself actually using these products. Perfume/scent is a very personal preference (I also selected that I didn't want these, but continued to receive). How many highlighters does one need? My friends have similar experiences - you accumulate so many of these smaller sample sizes and never really use them. Often they end up in the trash.

Feedback

The brand needs to think about sustainability and the planet going forward. Not sure what that will look like for them though, as their business thrives on the subscription kits.

10 months ago
Experience

The subscription may be good for gifting and those who love trying new products, but personally not for me and only accumulates waste.

10 months ago