Birchbox

2.4321 Reviews

Birchbox offers to send a box of 5 handpicked deluxe beauty product samples monthly to help subscribers develop an effortless, simple beauty routine.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

2.4
Average rating from 21 users
24%
Recommend it to a friend

Birchbox Reviews

21 days ago
Experience

I received this S a gift for six months. The products we nice but nothing I was thrilled about and nothing I decided to reorder. I do think this would be a great gift to give someone as it was fun to see what I would get each month.

Feedback

I did not care for the options given in the subscription. I never wanted to try hair products but would have to include it each month. I would rather double up on skincare or makeup.

Good for gifts 🎁Easy subscription management 🔁Travel friendly ✈️
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

It's fun to get a "gift" in the mail every month but I just wasn't using the products in the box so I finally cancelled. I still like some of the brands they carry on-site and order from them, but I can't justify paying a monthly fee for something I'm barely using.

Feedback

Use bigger named products, or consider a theme like all-natural products.

Good for gifts 🎁Custom personalizationFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

Fine, have discovered some cool products

Feedback

Don't love the excessive packaging, wish there was an option for only cruelty-free products

Good for gifts 🎁Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
6 months ago
Experience

Birchbox was one of the first, main stream subscription boxes and at first it was very exciting to open. The boxes are often beautiful and I've kept many of them for organization, but the contents were often boring and not something I was interested in. There was often one sample I really loved and the rest were passed along or tossed. There was an option to let them know things you didn't want, I requested no fragrances because I don't wear perfume, but in every single box I got a perfume sample.

Feedback

If you let your members state preferences, please actually listen. And better samples of cutting edge things would be great.

Good for gifts 🎁
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

Liked having an opportunity to test new products, but didn't like having a lot of the products i didn't like or need laying around my house.

Feedback

Opportunities to further curate your own box.

Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
9 months ago
Experience

When I first tried it, I received lots of great items. I’ve subscribed a few more times and very disappointed, because there are too many repeat items, poor quality items and tiny samples.

Feedback

Better and useful items, larger samples

Travel friendly ✈️
Le U's review of Birchbox
Useful review?
9 months ago
Experience

I was subscribed to Birchbox as a gift and I think it was a really good gift! I just think I am the kind of person who would never reach for a sample product. I am not super experimental in my beauty routine and I like to do research on my products before I buy them to make sure they are right for me. However I have tested some pretty amazing products through this service and ended up buying the full sized version. This was a great gift, and it was fun getting something new every month!

Feedback

Diversifying the brands!

High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I loved this at first, but it got quickly redundant and wasteful. Too much perfume. Too much packaging.

Fun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I never received anything in my Birchbox I found worth using. In fact, I felt like the box was kind of a waste of paper and plastics and felt bad getting it until I eventually canceled. I did end up giving out a lot of the samples to my younger cousins.

Has no effect 🤷
Useful review?