Reviews

    Skincare for Weirdos

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    12 days ago

    Received a free product from Skincare for Weirdos

    First, let me say I am obsessed that the patches are actually hearts--very charming. The packaging is very Gen-Z coded (am I allowed to say that?) and though I myself am not Gen-Z, I found it very irreverent and cute. At first I found the tweezer applicator to be a little bit overboard, but then once I used it I realized how silly I had been with previous patches NOT using one! Obviously I am way less likely to misplace the patch this way! As for the patches themselves--I love that they have a wee bit more active ingredients % than similar patches--works better! I haven't had a chance to use a patch on an eruptive-style pimple, but I bet they are up to the challenge! Shipping from Canada made delivery a bit slower than normal, but the packaging it arrived in was charming I hardly cared. Would purchase again!

    The Starter Kit

    Thesis

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    This is probably the second or third nootropic supplement I've tried, and I just don't find them to make a noticeable difference in my daily life. Unfortunately, Thesis continues this trend. I followed the instructions and tried each formula individually for several days, waited a day (or more) and started the next one. Clarity gave me a gnarly stomachache, Logic and Energy probably were probably the nearest to actually making me feel positive performance, and I'm still taking the Creativity. I guess my brain chemistry (and Wellbutrin, lol) is too strong for these? Also, as much as I love the cute little packets, they made it difficult for me to remember to take the packets regularly since they were separate from my day-a-week pill case. I put them on my desk hoping it would help me remember to take them, and it did, though not as regularly as I probably should. As with anything that mixes with individual people's bodies, your mileage may vary!

    EnergyLogicCreativityClarity

    Supergoop!

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    5 months ago

    I can't remember how Supergoop came into my life, but I am glad it did! Wide range of sunscreen products for face, body, kids, etc. Minus one for the price point is a wee bit high BUT Supergoop is FSA-eligible, which is why you always see huge tubs of it in every abode of your in-the-know friends. I am particularly obsessed with the Glowscreen, which means on a good day I need no other face makeup. The cool girlies love the Unseen sunscreen which DOES have the best texture of sunscreen I've used. I love the travel packs to take on vacations, so you have a few options for face, reapplication, body, etc. The Glowstick can be a bit sticky, but I love the glow she gives!

    PLAY Everyday Lotion SPF 50glow stickUnseen Sunscreen SPF 40glowscreen

    Flamingo

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Flamingo is affordable and easily accessible at a Target or Costco, but I wouldn't say I get a particularly good or close shave. It's perfectly mid.

    razorreplaceable razor heads

    Blobs

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    As a responsible adult with a candy weakness, I am (or should be) interested in low-sugar, vegan alternatives to my beloved Haribo and random Trader Joe's gummies. Enter Blobs--interesting flavors, perfect size packages, and no guilt. Win-win-win! I took Blobs with me to see Stop Making Sense in iMax and they were a perfect companion. My only complaint is that the texture is more of a *fruit snack* than a *gummy* (the texture reminds me of a gusher without any gush), but that is a personal preference. The next time I am in a Hudson News in an airport, I hope Blobs is too, because I would pick up some packs!

    Variety Pack

    Herbivore Botanicals

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    6 months ago

    I am a HUGE fan of Herbivore Botanicals, though I admit I do not use the products regularly as part of my routine because the products are generally too expensive to keep in regular rotation. My favorite product is their Lapis Oil, a blue tansy face oil--I love using blue tansy as a antimicrobial, and there are literally only a handful of brands that carry such a product, and HB is one of them. Actually, all of their face oils are incredible and their retinol alternative, Moon fruit, though expensive, is great. I would definitely recommend starting with some of their mini sets that one can get at Sephora for under $50 to see which products work best. My #1 complaint is that clear glass bottle packaging isn't good for skincare if it's going to last you several months--the Blue Lapis oil will start to discolor if it sits out on a bathroom counter or vanity for too long.

    For Days

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    6 months ago

    I think I found out about For Days via A Thing or Two HQ newsletter from Erica Cerulo and Claire Mazur. When I first started shopping there, it was mostly upcycled or circular eco staples like t-shirts and sweats. Now they've really expanded to include other, non-clothing brands, so I find it to be a GREAT place to learn about new brands. Their Take Back Bag is my favorite feature, because I constantly struggle with how to ethically dispose of old clothing. For $20, For Days will send you a TBB that you fill with WHATEVER (baby clothes, sheets, mens dress shirts, towels), basically any kind of textile in any condition. Once the bag is received, you get a $20 credit with them. However, the "Closet Cash" where the credit exists is separate and confusing. The quality of the in-house For Days brand is good, though I would say sizing runs a wee bit small.

    Thesus Outdoors

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    6 months ago

    A few years ago I was looking for an all-weather boot, something sturdy but something I could get away with wearing out and about. Enter the Weekend boot! I found Thesus (which at the time was Alice and Whittles) via the Madewell "Labels we Love" section. I liked that the boots were vegan, handmade in Portugal, and the business was owned and operated by women. There is no ethical consumption under capitalism (no matter how badly we wish it were!) but I felt confident buying these. They also threw in an extra pair of brightly colored laces that I love switching out to other kicks as well as wearing them with the boot. They are perfect for hiking, rainy tailgates, running November errands, kids soccer games--anywhere that a sneaker won't cut it. They did require about 6-10 miles of breaking in!

    Kiramoon

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    7 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I was looking forward to trying a new chemical peel/exfoliating mask but I have to admit Kiramoon does not provide me with the masking experience I want. When I do a mask I want/need it to do a few things and unfortunately Kiramoon doesn't do any of them: - I want to SEE the mask on my face--that is part of the fun! Kiramoon is a transparent, thin mask so once it is applied to my face, all I can see is the slight sheen -I want the mask to DO something on my face--regardless whether or not it *literally* does anything to my face, at the very least I want it to change form in some way--dry hard, dry clear, change color, peel off, sting, etc. Once the Kiramoon mask is on my face, it basically disappears. I would be willing to overlook the lacking experience of the mask if I found that it did wonders for my skin--but unfortunately, after 3-5 uses I am not seeing results. At the full price point, it's a pass for me. But everyone's skin is different so your mileage may vary!

    Ziba Foods

    Level 6
    Jeanine NLevel 6 51 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I picked a sampler pack up on a Thingdrop, and it arrived right before I was headed to Oslo for a week-long work trips. These were a godsend!!!! Easy to pack among different bags, healthy, yummy, and the variety meant I wasn't just eating a sad Cliff bar when I needed. Though not every snack was to my liking, it was always the perfect thing to have while traveling. HIGHLY recommend for your next road trip, international flight(s) or any kind of long travel day. I also noticed that my hometown hero deli, Zingerman's, stocks Ziba as well!