Book of the Month

4.08 • 24 Reviews

Book of the Month curates and delivers new fiction books to subscribers every month, and also organizes virtual book clubs.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.1
4.1/5
Average rating from 24 users
83%
Recommend it to a friend

Book of the Month Reviews

2 months ago
2/5

Experience

As an avid reader, I was really excited about Book of the Month. However, the options to choose from were less than exceptional. I also wish there was an option to choose paperback because I do not like hardcovers, nor the higher price for hardcovers. It has a lot of potential, but just missed the mark for me personally.

Feedback

The kicker that made me never want to rejoin is just how ANNOYING the cancellation process is. Who still has to call to cancel nowadays??? Let me click a cancel button. If the cancellation was easier, I honestly probably would come back every few months or so. But you want millennials to CALL? Nooooope.

Difficult returns
Useful review?
5 months ago
5/5

Experience

I am a huge fan of Book of the Month. I really appreciate that if you're not interested in any of the options for that month, you can easily skip OR you can choose from a smaller selection of past books. I look forward to the beginning of every month and getting to see the choices.

High qualityWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Super fun activity
Useful review?
5 months ago
4/5

Experience

I really enjoyed having book of the month, I had it for a while. I liked being able to go outside of my comfort zone and to try new books I normally wouldnt have thought to pick up. I also liked the monthly price. $10 for a brand new book is amazing. It was like a present each month

Feedback

Would have loved more monthly choices.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦Super fun activityLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
6 months ago
4/5

Experience

Made a great gift! Probably wouldn't buy it for myself since I like to research books and add to my own to-read list but would definitely gift again.

Useful review?
7 months ago
5/5

Experience

Great selection, good deal.

Useful review?
8 months ago
4/5

Experience

This is one of my most favorite subscription services ever. I love reading but i also love finding new and upcoming books, and this is the perfect way to do so at an incredibly affordable price.

Feedback

Sometimes i wish there was more of a selection, and i run out of room for all the hardback books

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteSuper fun activityEco-friendly packaging
Sophia G's review of Book of the Month
Useful review?
8 months ago
5/5

Experience

It's how I'm building my library now. Great book suggestions! It's also awesome to get new releases at a reduced cost! Can't recommend this more.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
8 months ago
5/5
Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteSuper fun activity
Useful review?
10 months ago
5/5

Experience

Great gift! I got this for my mom for mother's day last year and she loved it!

Good for gifts 🎁Easy subscription management 🔁
Useful review?
a year ago
5/5

Experience

Must have subscription for book lovers! I love having the option to choose from 5+ different books each month and having discounted access to books on my TBR list. BOTM has some really fun perks & it's nice to be able to skip a month if I'm not into any of the featured books. Shipping is also insanely fast! I'll definitely be renewing my subscription when it's up.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteEco-friendly packaging
Useful review?