Blabbi

4 36 Reviews

Blabbi sells a word game that makes use of made-up words.

Blabbi Reviews

Blabbi reviews

3.97

73% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

36 reviews

20 days ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This game is SO DUMB. My family played it once and, yes, we did laugh at all of the stupid, made up words we created. However, we've never touched the game again because of the agonizing lack of a point. Do not recommend.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Broke this out at a friend's game night, and it took a couple of rounds to get in the flow with it, but it was hilarious once we were there! Once you get the right people in the right mood, definitely will break this game out again. Love the idea behind it!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I really had fun playing this with friends and love that it can also be played with only two people. I accidentally left it at said friends house and they asked me if they could keep it because their in-laws had played it and loved it. I almost said yes until I realized that I couldn’t justify repurchasing it for myself at the regular price of $60.

a year ago

I think it's a really fun concept but it feels like there needs to be some more rules or guardrails on how to make this game run. Maybe I just come from a long line of cheaters, but if there's anyway to "game" a game, my people will take every advantage.

Feedback

I have to agree with other reviews, I would not buy this game at a $60 price tag. It's a very simple setup and it doesn't feel representative of that price.

a year ago

Pros: *The game pieces and packaging are great. I love the the soft silicone tiles *Probably would be fun to play with a larger group, especially if the group is very comfortable being silly together

Feedback

Cons: *MSRP for this game is *insane* *Not really suitable for 2 players. The rules amendment for 2 is basically just "ignore the rules", and frankly I could do that with the scrabble tiles I already owned. I do not think this game should be marketed for 2 players until and unless an actual *game* is created for a 2 player session.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This game is super unique and can be fun with the right group! It took a minute to get into the right mindset - this played more like an improv game than strategy, so our creative brains needed to be on. With the right group, it's a hit, but with the wrong group (basically anyone who is unfamiliar with improv / doesn't think in that kind of way) it's a dud. Overall, happy to have this one in my collection, since it's different than any other game I own.

Feedback

Some of the mechanics may need some work (or the how-to). It was weird that there was no instruction to get more tiles, so we ran out quick. And scoring was kind of weird. Playing the casual format was way more fun.

a year ago

Received a free product from Blabbi

If you are looking for a fun new game to play - this is it! I played this game with 4 other friends and it we laughed ALL night playing it! This game forces you to think on your feet, be creative and most importantly silly!

a year ago

I really enjoyed this game! It's fun and creative, and definitely something new! It was great with 2-4 players and will definitely be making it's way into the regular game night rotation.

Feedback

I purchased this game via Thingdrop and while I've really enjoyed it, I think the standard pricing of this product is a bit expensive.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This was fun! I don’t think we fully understood the directions, so we just started making our own rules. There were points during the game where we were all in tears from laughing and some ‘oh. ok.’ moments. It’s one of those games you need to just stop the second it ain’t funny anymore (a la cards against humanity). Overall it’s a good game to add to game night, especially if you like word games or have creative friends!

a year ago

Fun in concept! I gifted it to my mom who is a big Worlde fan, so I thought another new word game would be right up her alley. The rules are a bit confusing, but the game is fun – I'd suggest getting a larger ground (4+) to play.

Feedback

I paid the Thingdrop price – the real price ($60 I think) is pretty bonkers. I would pay max $20 out of pocket for this game in the future.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

My spouse and I played this game alone with modifications. We implemented some "inverse scrabble" rules (you can redraw tiles if you give up your turn; you can use a dictionary to prove another person's word actually exists, penalizing them with a missed turn). We were very generous regarding the stories or definitions we came up with for each of our fake words, but mostly they fit the prompts well. It was very funny and imaginative. I loved the rubber tiles. They did not move around on the table or fall off when the table was bumped. Fantastic. Overall, I found it to be quite fun (I'm very creative and artsy, and a writer), but my spouse struggled to enjoy the narrative-creating aspect of the game (giving the fake word a definition, background, context, story, etc). It is necessary to the gameplay, obviously, but if you're playing with someone who struggles with anxiety, time constraints, or creative hurdles, this might not be the game for you. I rated it 4/5 for myself and would play it again, and I found it enjoyable, funny, and whimsical My spouse rated it 3/5 and would not like to play it again, and he found it to be exhausting due to how creative he was expected to be on the spot.

Feedback

Some basic "inverse scrabble" rules need to exist: An option for exchanging a poor hand of rules = lose a turn If you're suspected of having used a real word (within your language) = consult a dictionary and lose a turn

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love word games, and blabbi puts a spin on them and adds some silliness. Once everyone understands how to play (which might take a while lol), it’s really fun. Good quality as well.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

A great casual, party game to add to the rotation! It definitely took some time to get in the right mindset to play, coming from games like Scrabble or Bananagrams, but once you're in, it's great. The design and production of the game is really well made. The rubber(?) tiles don't slide around like other wordgame tiles which is really nice. I did buy Blabbi as a Thingdrop and if it weren't for the discount I wouldn't have been able to justify $60 for the game.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Overall I think Blabbi is an enjoyable party game if you have the right people who will buy in to the silly concept that is Blabbi. I think you need at least 3 people to have fun, but the more people the better in my opinion. The game is simple and even though there are points, this game is more about having a silly goofy time with your friends/family rather than trying to win. I think this is because the rules, or lack thereof, are kind of subjective and so even if I do convince my fellow players that my made-up word is acceptable, you never know if someone is just being nice. So if everyone goes into the game with the right mindset I think Blabbi could be a new favorite of a party game that prompts a lot of laughs. If people take it too seriously, it can get kind of dry and boring pretty quickly. So just have fun with it! It's not that deep.

Feedback

The letters seem kind of small? Not a dealbreaker by any means, but there doesn't seem to be a reason to not make them bigger for people with worse eyesight.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

High-quality product that was a blast to play with friends! Appreciated the diversity of topic cards but wished there were a few more tiles to play a slightly longer game. Only gripe was that I'd love to buy more as gifts, but price point is a little too high for what you're getting.

Feedback

More tiles!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Great quality, very well made! This is a fun game and concept but it's definitely better if you have 3+ players. I played Blabbi in Casual Mode/2 players and it was ok. Looking forward to rounding up more people to play.

Feedback

I would market this game for 3+ players

a year ago

Let's just say it came in very handy when we experienced a huge power outage. On a more serious note, the game is incredibly well made - all the materials for the cards and pieces feel high quality and modern. The game is funny and quirky. It's something new and with such a low barrier to entry, feels like the perfect fun but not too serious game to have around.

a year ago

Obsessed with the concept and the branding. Such a creative idea for a word game. It’s super fun to play with a group and will have everyone laughing!

Feedback

I got this during a Thingdrop so was able to buy it at a discounted price. That being said, I would NEVER pay full price for this game. Almost $60 for this is outrageous and I truly don’t understand that price point.

a year ago

Cute packaging and game. It is a fun game for a group. Would make a good gift for people who love games.