Blabbi

3.9521 Reviews

Blabbi sells a word game that makes use of made-up words.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4
Average rating from 21 users
70%
Recommend it to a friend

Blabbi Reviews

5 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I really had fun playing this with friends and love that it can also be played with only two people. I accidentally left it at said friends house and they asked me if they could keep it because their in-laws had played it and loved it. I almost said yes until I realized that I couldn’t justify repurchasing it for myself at the regular price of $60.

Good for gifts 🎁Super fun activity
Useful review?
17 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

My spouse and I played this game alone with modifications. We implemented some "inverse scrabble" rules (you can redraw tiles if you give up your turn; you can use a dictionary to prove another person's word actually exists, penalizing them with a missed turn). We were very generous regarding the stories or definitions we came up with for each of our fake words, but mostly they fit the prompts well. It was very funny and imaginative. I loved the rubber tiles. They did not move around on the table or fall off when the table was bumped. Fantastic. Overall, I found it to be quite fun (I'm very creative and artsy, and a writer), but my spouse struggled to enjoy the narrative-creating aspect of the game (giving the fake word a definition, background, context, story, etc). It is necessary to the gameplay, obviously, but if you're playing with someone who struggles with anxiety, time constraints, or creative hurdles, this might not be the game for you. I rated it 4/5 for myself and would play it again, and I found it enjoyable, funny, and whimsical My spouse rated it 3/5 and would not like to play it again, and he found it to be exhausting due to how creative he was expected to be on the spot.

Feedback

Some basic "inverse scrabble" rules need to exist: An option for exchanging a poor hand of rules = lose a turn If you're suspected of having used a real word (within your language) = consult a dictionary and lose a turn

Good for gifts 🎁Super fun activity
Amanda P's review of Blabbi
Useful review?
18 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

High-quality product that was a blast to play with friends! Appreciated the diversity of topic cards but wished there were a few more tiles to play a slightly longer game. Only gripe was that I'd love to buy more as gifts, but price point is a little too high for what you're getting.

Feedback

More tiles!

Holiday 2022 🌟
Useful review?
19 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I'm a big fan of word games and think Blabbi is a really clever, different game. It really makes you think! I've only played in casual mode so far (the no-scoring version for 2 players or 8+). I would love to try it with a larger group. I think the game materials are really well made and feel durable.

Feedback

I'd agree with other reviews that the retail price of this game feels too high. The materials and concept feel too simple for the $59.99 price tag.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorks really wellHoliday 2022 🌟
Useful review?
21 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Great quality, very well made! This is a fun game and concept but it's definitely better if you have 3+ players. I played Blabbi in Casual Mode/2 players and it was ok. Looking forward to rounding up more people to play.

Feedback

I would market this game for 3+ players

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
22 days ago
Experience

I really enjoyed this game! It's fun and creative, and definitely something new! It was great with 2-4 players and will definitely be making it's way into the regular game night rotation.

Feedback

I purchased this game via Thingdrop and while I've really enjoyed it, I think the standard pricing of this product is a bit expensive.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Super fun activityHoliday 2022 🌟
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I think it's a really fun concept but it feels like there needs to be some more rules or guardrails on how to make this game run. Maybe I just come from a long line of cheaters, but if there's anyway to "game" a game, my people will take every advantage.

Feedback

I have to agree with other reviews, I would not buy this game at a $60 price tag. It's a very simple setup and it doesn't feel representative of that price.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelSuper fun activity
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Let's just say it came in very handy when we experienced a huge power outage. On a more serious note, the game is incredibly well made - all the materials for the cards and pieces feel high quality and modern. The game is funny and quirky. It's something new and with such a low barrier to entry, feels like the perfect fun but not too serious game to have around.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Toni C's review of Blabbi
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

The game was enjoyable, but definitely won’t become a family favorite. Worth it for the discounted price, but the real price is absurd.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelEco-friendly packaging
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Fun in concept! I gifted it to my mom who is a big Worlde fan, so I thought another new word game would be right up her alley. The rules are a bit confusing, but the game is fun – I'd suggest getting a larger ground (4+) to play.

Feedback

I paid the Thingdrop price – the real price ($60 I think) is pretty bonkers. I would pay max $20 out of pocket for this game in the future.

Useful review?