Subset

4.7 22 Reviews

Subset (formerly Knickey) sells organic basic clothing for all body types.

Best of Thingtesting
Subset Reviews

Subset reviews

Best of Thingtesting4.68

Best of Thingtesting #1 in Underwear

100% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

22 reviews

a year ago

Underwear perfection! After searching and combing through multiple, sustainable underwear brands, Knickey and Pact have come out on top for me! Neither have more seamless options, but that's alright with me. They're comfy, cotton, and make me feel great in them. They come in such a fun array of colors as well. The only thing I don't love is that on some of my pairs, after washing, the inseam gets all wonky and doesn't lay flat. This is after I wash it according to the instructions. It's not a big deal and it doesn't affect the comfort level, but just a pet peeve of mine. I also tried the Triangle bra and am obsessed. I've been looking for regular bras that are nursing friendly and I finally found one! Super cute and comfortable, just like the underwear.

10 months ago

I love their underwear! Spandex and other material underwear was just not working for me down there so I was looking for organic cotton options and decided to try Knickey. There was a noticeable difference within the first few days of wearing and they are super comfortable. Only complaint is that they don't really have no-show options (flat seams but they're still visible under leggings and other thinner fabrics) other than thongs but as someone who hates wearing thongs I would love a cheeky design that doesn't have lining/is no show!

3 years ago

I love the fact that I can recycle my worn garments with this company. I love their underwear and their bras - they're all super soft and comfortable and the colors are all so wonderful. It is on the pricier end, but I still think it is a great purchase for me to wear and take care of.

3 years ago

Purchased some midrise briefs and they are quite possibly the most comfortable basics. Will note that the sizing runs VERY large.

Feedback

I wish there were high rise brief styles. (not just the french cut)

a year ago

I love all cotton panties (no modal or seamless for me!) and these are thick in the best way. They have a few different cuts and I think they're sooo comfortable. Also, you can try on one pair of each style risk free from your order! The real reason I love them is the recycle program. I don't throw away any clothes ever (I resell, donate or recycle) and love that I can send back intimates for discounts! The program is easy to use and they take your donations to a program that shred the fabric and use it for things like insulation!

a year ago

My go-to for organic cotton underwear. Their pieces are comfortable, breathable and high quality. No unnecessary frills, no questionable materials and a sustainable business model. Always love receiving orders from them.

a year ago

I bought the high rise briefs in three colors, and while I like the fabric the fit was not great for me. I love how high rise it is, but the cut in the back is too little. The cut caused my underwear to create a line on my butt, so I can't wear fitted pants without the seams really showing through in the back. If the cut covered more of my butt, I think it'd be great. I'd be open to trying a different fit :)

Feedback

If you want more coverage in the butt, the mid-rise brief or retro brief is probably best.

2 years ago

I will only wear three types of underwear: Seamless "Cool Cotton" by Tommy John Women's, Skims' Boxers, and organic cotton undies from Knickey. They're glorious. Knickeys have the best shape retention of any underwear out there and they're so, so comfy. They're made of super-soft pima, so they always have a smooth touch. I reach for these any time I don't need a seamless look (very fitted) or "thigh protection" (such as with dresses or dropped inseams). For some brands, the fabric is too thin or woven poorly, so the undies wear out in less than a year. Not Knickeys. Not even with frequent use. I wash them with baby detergent and air dry them (something I do for all my clothing), and they look virtually brand new still.

Feedback

You can't improve Knickeys. It's already perfect.

a year ago

So high quality! I avoid wearing my non-Knickey underwear because the comparison between the cotton they use versus other brands is so drastic. The cotton from my Aerie, Victoria’s Secret, Hanes, etc. underwear is much thinner and wears way more quickly than my Knickey underwear. You will get VPL just because you can’t do seamless with cotton, but I would recommend sticking with the things if that’s a concern. My favorite are probably the mid-rise ones, and the bralette has such a nice thick band (while not being longline) that stays put. Also love the simple, easy to recycle packaging, as well as the ability to recycle my old underwear (with reward points too).

Feedback

The high-rise brief cuts into my skin a bit much around the leg openings and creates a weird bulge (not uncomfortable though!), but I think this could be improved with a different placement. Also, I keep falling out of the bralette when I bend over, but I think this is my anatomy. I was hoping things would be different since it isn’t a true triangle bralette and the fabric comes up a bit, but warning to my ladies who have this issue - this probably will still be the case here.

2 years ago

Knickey's products are adorable, fit amazingly, and hold up well. I love the brand mission and can feel wearing them, knowing their products are organic. I personally love the high-rise thong (for daytime) and brief (for nighttime).

3 years ago

Seriously great underwear! I love that you can send in underwear to be recycled as well! These are so comfortable and I love that there is no lace, which means no pulling apart after a few washes!

a year ago

I wanted reliable, high wasted, 100% cotton black undies that didn’t dig in and held up over time. These are all of the above

a year ago

So happy to have found this brand. I love that the materials are primarily organic. I purchased panties and they’ve held up really well over the past year. Also, they’re super comfy.

3 years ago

Knickey is the only underwear brand I own. The organic cotton is breathable, durable, and comfortable wash after wash and the mission is fantastic. For anyone that cares about the health of their down-there parts plus the planet, this is the brand for you.

a year ago

I adore this brand. They have a recycling program for socks, underwear, and panty hose(which I have yet to use but it's an insanely cool offering since most recycling programs don't take those). The underwear is comfortable, and the gusset area is actually a normal size and not a half inch wide like most underwear brands. Their packaging is plastic free. They're expensive, but a great price compared so some of the other sustainable underwear brands out there. They're well made and last a long time if you want them to.

a year ago

I want to love these - I do. I love that they recycle undergarments and I love the company. I've sent in undergarments to be recycled twice. I purchased several styles of medium Knickey underwear in 12/2022. It is about 6-ish months later and Im starting to see snags and bunching in the elastic. These do not fit me as well as the black basic underwear that I have purchased from Aerie.

a year ago

The best everyday undies. I will never buy any other thongs than these. The fit is awesome, low rise and high rise thongs are my go to’s. They have lot of colors to choose from.

a year ago

Love this underwear (and the bras). All of the things from this company I have tested so far have been extremely comfortable and I love all of the options they come in. I would just warn that, after a couple of years, I have found that the elastic does start to wear down in the underwear, but the brand will recycle them for you.

Feedback

Great, sustainable, comfortable undergarments.

a year ago

Knickey's undies are great for everyday wear! They're my second favorite to the brand ARQ, but more acceptable to wear out, as the ARQ underwear isn't the best with tight-fitting clothes. I really like the high-waisted thongs.

Feedback

However, even though ARQ is more expensive, I can justify their price point more because they feel so much more high-quality and thicker. I feel like the price point should be more like $10-12 rather than $17.