Rootless

3.25 โ€ข 12 Ratings

Rootless makes whole-food nutrition bites that combine dates, almonds, and seeds with seaweed to provide essential nutrients and minerals.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

3.3
Average rating from 12 users
50%
Would recommend it to a friend

Rootless Reviews

๐Ÿ’ธBought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I got these as part of a Thingdrop and was super curious. The branding and art direction got me, and I've got such a sweet tooth that anything that looks like dessert means I will be trying it. I ordered the Double Strawberry Starter Kit and when they arrived, the packaging was just as lovely IRL as it was in the pictures. The little bites smelled divine, too! I actually really enjoyed the flavor and texture - a nice treat in the morning that had just enough sweetness and substance without being too much for first thing in the morning. My dad is currently going through chemo and also enjoyed having one every morning, as it helped with his iron deficiency from treatment quite a bit.

Feedback

All that said, these are expensive! I considered buying more but just haven't pulled the trigger...if the refills were under $30 ($1/bite), it would be a lot easier for me to wrap my head around.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission ๐Ÿ’•
24 days ago
Experience

Picked these up during a #thingdrop and have been pleasantly surprised how charming these little things are in the morning with my coffee. I'm not much of a breakfast person during the work week, so these are perfect little bite to start the day. I love that I can just keep them on my desk. I remember reading a New Yorker article a few years ago about how seaweed (or was it kelp? are they the same thing?) could revolutionize food consumption, waste, hunger, etc. so I totally buy what Rootless is selling.

Feedback

I will say the taste and texture reminds me of the "dessert" I was once served on a Russian airline in that it is not sweet and the texture is literally dirty--that of dirt. But they are cute! I like them!

High qualityInnovative productFun unboxing ๐Ÿ“ฆEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission ๐Ÿ’•
Jeanine N's review of Rootless
3 months ago
Experience

I have iodine deficiency (thyroid struggle is real) and usually I have to sprinkle seaweed ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒฟ on everything I eat which isnโ€™t always a flavor I want to experience haha. Itโ€™s so nice to get most of my iodine in a natural way in one delicious bite. Will report back in a few weeks! Reporting back after 22 days, as promised. My iodine levels are good and my iron went up a bit which is fantastic and curious. ๐Ÿฅผ๐Ÿฉบ I feel less fatigued and my skin is less dry ๐ŸŒŸ - I haven't changed anything else in my life significantly. BONUS: I have tried all 3 flavors of rootless and here's my expert and entirely personal opinion:๐Ÿ˜‹ 1. pistachio orange 2. coconut chai (pro tip: let the bites aerate for a few minutes after first open) 3. strawberry

Feedback

Founder mentioned she's already working on this but would love an option without allergens (sesame seeds).

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityCool look & feelWorth the money ๐Ÿ’ธFun unboxing ๐Ÿ“ฆTravel friendly โœˆ๏ธWorks really wellTasty ๐Ÿ˜‹Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission ๐Ÿ’•
Pooja S's review of Rootless
3 months ago
Experience

A little underwhelmed by this product. I bought it with a Thingdrop discount and was excited to try, though I am not sure I would have otherwise ordered it. I actually thought the taste was fine, and it definitely grew on me. It sort of became crave-able. But I don't notice any sort of difference in regards to anything it advertises, and weighing that against the cost and environmental impact, it's a pass for me. ADDED NOTE: a couple weeks in, and these little nuggets got stale. With just a few left, the taste has basically disappeared. Not the most shelf-stable container apparently.

Feedback

Savory flavors are not a bad idea! But really I think there needs to be some sort of packaging in between, where it can feel premium but still include less.

Good for gifts ๐ŸŽTasty ๐Ÿ˜‹Luxury
3 months ago
Experience

I absolutely loved the packaging and presentation of the brand but the product really wasnโ€™t for me. I got the Double Strawberry starter kit and the taste really wasnโ€™t there - so much so that I couldnโ€™t get myself to have more than a couple

Feedback

The taste is my only negative point but is a big one that I hope will be improved

Cool look & feelFun unboxing ๐Ÿ“ฆ
Ada R's review of Rootless
3 months ago
๐Ÿ’ธBought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Ordered this through ThingDrop and was excited to try it. Flavor sounded good, packaging and branding is gorgeous. However I was a bit underwhelmed by the actual product. I thought it smelled like a freshly unwrapped fruit by the foot, however tasted really off. It was dry and underwhelming. I will caveat this that I don't love seaweed snacks, so there's something there. But boy did these smell great. I do love the sustainability mission with the ingredients and the refill product.

Feedback

I found that it was hard to take the bites themselves out of the box they came in. On the taste side, I really would love for them to taste as good as they smelled. I was bummed for sure.

Innovative productEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Nate R's review of Rootless
3 months ago
Experience

Order and delivery were quick and easy. Packaging was really lovely, I'd like to keep using the box in the future. I enjoy seaweed and am interested in supporting the cultivation of seaweed for multiple industries so I was excited to try these. I got the Coconut Chai flavor and its fine. I taste both Coconut and Chai, but I don't think the flavors blended super well with each other or with seaweed. It's not integrating well into my daily routine. I found myself wishing for a savory or salty flavor because this flavor felt like it didn't quite work. I do not notice any change in energy or health after taking these.

Feedback

I would like some savory or salty flavor options. And I'd like sustainble refill options, where you get a box initially and then can get refills in a compostable/recyclable package.

Cool look & feelHas no effect ๐ŸคทEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
3 months ago
๐Ÿ’ธBought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I got the Coconut Chai bites and wasn't a fan. The taste wasn't great - it was a bit dry and underwhelming. I've always enjoyed seaweed snacks and have heard they're a good food to have in rotation so I really wanted to like these, but I wouldn't get them again.

Feedback

I understand this is a high quality food with great branding, but I couldn't justify the price point for this product.

Cool look & feel
3 months ago
๐Ÿ’ธBought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I like it in concept, but dont see myself eating these on an ongoing basis. I dont have a good sense of why the seaweed is so beneficial, so it sort of just feels like a (sort of) yummy snack to eat in the afternoon so I don't eat a bar of chocolate instead. The flavor is okay (I got the chai) but a little dry. Cute branding. The packaging and shipping experience was lovely.

Feedback

Help me understand why I NEED to be eating seaweed every day.

3 months ago
๐Ÿ’ธBought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I bought the Double Strawberry Starter Kit, based on the reviews from the Rootless website. The other current flavors are Coconut Chai and Orange Pistachio. My initial reaction was... not pleasant (I mean, it does taste like seaweed but looks like a dainty chocolate truffle). But, these have really grown on me and I look forward to eating my bite each day. It is seaweed that has chic branding. I do believe that we absorb more nutrients through food than through the usual supplements and vitamins so this is a really unique take on this. The website has a ton of great information on the benefits of seaweed. However, I'm not sure if I'm seeing or feeling anything (this is hard to quantify), which is reflected in my rating, as well as the price (see below for more detail).

Feedback

$44 / mo. is $$$$. Would love to see the price come down before I could think about repurchasing. Currently priced as a luxury item and not something I could see myself purchasing as a monthly subscription, especially as I don't know if I'm seeing any impact yet.

High qualityCool look & feelEasy subscription management ๐Ÿ”Fun unboxing ๐Ÿ“ฆTravel friendly โœˆ๏ธAmazing websiteLove the brand's mission ๐Ÿ’•Luxury
3 months ago