Rootless

3 22 Reviews

Rootless makes whole-food nutrition bites that combine dates, almonds, and seeds with seaweed to provide essential nutrients and minerals.

Rootless Reviews

Rootless reviews

3

43% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

22 reviews

2 years ago

A little underwhelmed by this product. I bought it with a Thingdrop discount and was excited to try, though I am not sure I would have otherwise ordered it. I actually thought the taste was fine, and it definitely grew on me. It sort of became crave-able. But I don't notice any sort of difference in regards to anything it advertises, and weighing that against the cost and environmental impact, it's a pass for me. ADDED NOTE: a couple weeks in, and these little nuggets got stale. With just a few left, the taste has basically disappeared. Not the most shelf-stable container apparently.

Feedback

Savory flavors are not a bad idea! But really I think there needs to be some sort of packaging in between, where it can feel premium but still include less.

2 years ago

I have iodine deficiency (thyroid struggle is real) and usually I have to sprinkle seaweed 🌊🌿 on everything I eat which isn’t always a flavor I want to experience haha. It’s so nice to get most of my iodine in a natural way in one delicious bite. Will report back in a few weeks! Reporting back after 22 days, as promised. My iodine levels are good and my iron went up a bit which is fantastic and curious. 🥼🩺 I feel less fatigued and my skin is less dry 🌟 - I haven't changed anything else in my life significantly. BONUS: I have tried all 3 flavors of rootless and here's my expert and entirely personal opinion:😋 1. pistachio orange 2. coconut chai (pro tip: let the bites aerate for a few minutes after first open) 3. strawberry

Feedback

Founder mentioned she's already working on this but would love an option without allergens (sesame seeds).

2 years ago

I ordered the double strawberry flavor and I think they taste nice. It’s sweet, salty and honestly a little decadent. Only a slight hint of seaweed. The texture is akin to a dried fruit or date and nut bar which I personally love but is something to keep in mind. The metal tin they come in is stunning and I look forward to reusing it for something else once I finish the supplements. Overall I like the taste, texture and packaging but I personally will be following the companies suggestion of eating one in the evening as a sweet treat rather than in the morning with my other vitamins because these are 40 calories for one which is much higher than any other vitamin/supplement I’ve tried. *editing to say that I was super busy and didn’t finish them for 60 days and they did dry out quite a bit and lose a lot of their flavor. If you are buying them definitely try to use them within 30 days.

Feedback

Selling a larger size container for couples, roommates, families would prevent having to buy multiple tins each month which takes up a large amount of cabinet/counter space. *Also after realizing they dry out if not used up within 30 days I would suggest a more air right packaging solution.

a year ago

I tried their double strawberry flavor! I was excited to try these myself after our team put the brand on my radar. The sustainable tin packaging and beautiful branding really sold me, so I purchased a box to test for our Tiktok account. Unfortunately, the bites were extremely dry and not tasty to me in the slightest :( I gave them a couple of tries to see if the pieces were just inconsistent, but that wasn't the case. I should also note that I am really not the biggest fan of nuts in general, but I was expecting the overall bite to taste a lot better than this. I will be repurposing the tin though!

Feedback

I really wanted to like these and wish that they just simply tasted better

a year ago

I like this company and their mission. Conceptually this product is quite innovative. Instead of taking multi-vitamin pills that have a nasty-metallic after taste and give your fluorescent urine, or sugar-laden gummies, using whole food ingredients to deliver essential nutrients for optimal absorption sounds great! The good: the whole food ingredients especially use of seaweed. The room for improvement: However, they didn't deliver on taste! I tried all three flavors, and orange pistachio was the closest to decent. The strawberry or coconut chai were not flavor profiles that I cared for. Think of the former as seaweed covered in strawberry dust and two things that don't belong together coconut and chai! C'mon, you're speaking to a South Asian here!! I don't know why people automatically go for sweet taste with seaweed, when it is meant to be paired with savory, spicy, sour, etc.

Feedback

Taste and flavor profiles need to shift from sweet to savory and bold.

2 years ago

Picked these up during a #thingdrop and have been pleasantly surprised how charming these little things are in the morning with my coffee. I'm not much of a breakfast person during the work week, so these are perfect little bite to start the day. I love that I can just keep them on my desk. I remember reading a New Yorker article a few years ago about how seaweed (or was it kelp? are they the same thing?) could revolutionize food consumption, waste, hunger, etc. so I totally buy what Rootless is selling.

Feedback

I will say the taste and texture reminds me of the "dessert" I was once served on a Russian airline in that it is not sweet and the texture is literally dirty--that of dirt. But they are cute! I like them!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Ordered this through ThingDrop and was excited to try it. Flavor sounded good, packaging and branding is gorgeous. However I was a bit underwhelmed by the actual product. I thought it smelled like a freshly unwrapped fruit by the foot, however tasted really off. It was dry and underwhelming. I will caveat this that I don't love seaweed snacks, so there's something there. But boy did these smell great. I do love the sustainability mission with the ingredients and the refill product.

Feedback

I found that it was hard to take the bites themselves out of the box they came in. On the taste side, I really would love for them to taste as good as they smelled. I was bummed for sure.

2 years ago

Order and delivery were quick and easy. Packaging was really lovely, I'd like to keep using the box in the future. I enjoy seaweed and am interested in supporting the cultivation of seaweed for multiple industries so I was excited to try these. I got the Coconut Chai flavor and its fine. I taste both Coconut and Chai, but I don't think the flavors blended super well with each other or with seaweed. It's not integrating well into my daily routine. I found myself wishing for a savory or salty flavor because this flavor felt like it didn't quite work. I do not notice any change in energy or health after taking these.

Feedback

I would like some savory or salty flavor options. And I'd like sustainble refill options, where you get a box initially and then can get refills in a compostable/recyclable package.

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I like it in concept, but dont see myself eating these on an ongoing basis. I dont have a good sense of why the seaweed is so beneficial, so it sort of just feels like a (sort of) yummy snack to eat in the afternoon so I don't eat a bar of chocolate instead. The flavor is okay (I got the chai) but a little dry. Cute branding. The packaging and shipping experience was lovely.

Feedback

Help me understand why I NEED to be eating seaweed every day.

a year ago

Quite tasty! I got double strawberry. Love that it's packed with nutrition,

Feedback

Maybe it's a texture thing but there was a sand-like crunch to some.