Reviews

GEM

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
7 months ago

Experience

I like this company and their mission. Conceptually this product is quite innovative. Instead of taking multi-vitamin pills that have a nasty-metallic after taste and give your fluorescent urine, or sugar-laden gummies, using whole food ingredients to deliver essential nutrients for optimal absorption sounds great! They also use targeted vitamins and ingredients for optimal health, immunity, calm, and sleep. After trying all their products, the one I use regularly is their immunity blend which unfortunately, they are phasing out. I've use their daily essentials, especially like their cacao flavor. While my review of a similar product, Rootless, was a bit ruthless, my review of Daily Gem is not! Why? Because they have figured out how to package the taste of seaweed/algae with the right ingredients - even though they may have "sweet" flavor profiles, they are counter-balanced with tangy (citrus), spicy (ginger), and the use of cocoa/cacao, which blends wells with the seaweed. They figured out the right mix. This is a whole-food, good-for-you, power-packed supplement goodness! I highly recommend!

Feedback

Possibly explore more flavor profiles (savory, sour, spicy)

High qualityInnovative productEasy subscription management πŸ”Travel friendly ✈️Works really wellAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
Useful review?

Rootless

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
7 months ago

Experience

I like this company and their mission. Conceptually this product is quite innovative. Instead of taking multi-vitamin pills that have a nasty-metallic after taste and give your fluorescent urine, or sugar-laden gummies, using whole food ingredients to deliver essential nutrients for optimal absorption sounds great! The good: the whole food ingredients especially use of seaweed. The room for improvement: However, they didn't deliver on taste! I tried all three flavors, and orange pistachio was the closest to decent. The strawberry or coconut chai were not flavor profiles that I cared for. Think of the former as seaweed covered in strawberry dust and two things that don't belong together coconut and chai! C'mon, you're speaking to a South Asian here!! I don't know why people automatically go for sweet taste with seaweed, when it is meant to be paired with savory, spicy, sour, etc.

Feedback

Taste and flavor profiles need to shift from sweet to savory and bold.

Innovative productEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
Useful review?

TΓ‘che

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
7 months ago

Experience

Anytime a new plant-based milk comes to market, I'm always looking to test them. I really like the concept of pistachio based milk-alternative. I like the company and what they stand for. After trying this brand, I was not impressed. For me, the mouthfeel, texture, smoothness, and taste, and ability to be mixed into coffee/tea are important. While the smoothness and texture were fine, I didn't like the taste. As previous reviews here have suggested, the other flavors (not original) were a bit too sweet, and I agree with that as well. The price point, and the value I'm getting for the buck that I'm spending is not good. As a healthcare provider, I'm always looking for what I can recommend to my patients, and this is not it, especially from a value perspective.

Feedback

Tastes a bit weird. Value (price point from a cost per ounce).

Innovative productLove the brand's mission πŸ’•Luxury
Useful review?

iwi life

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
7 months ago

Experience

Do you KNOW where your omega-3 supplement comes from? Do you KNOW if it is sustainable? Do you KNOW if it is free of heavy metals and toxins? Do you KNOW how much of the fish-based Omega-3 you take, you are ACTUALLY absorbing? Do you KNOW where fish get their Omega-3? Ans: Algae If you are consuming fish or krill based Omega-3 supplements, no matter how "sustainable" a manufacturer claims to be, they are not. Simply put. There is not enough creatures in the sea to support the naturally occuring marine habitats and wildlife as well as a growing human population. We need to look for alternatives. Iwi Life is just that. The best replacement for fish or krill based Omega-3. Their products work, especially their cholesterol formulation, as it has been tested in clinical study and i have noticed a change in my numbers. Their products also have high absorption compared to fish or krill based omega-3s. I have been using this product happily and successfully for the past year. I recommend this product to my patients to get them off their crappy Omega-3 supplements. And best yet, no fishy burps!!

Feedback

Reduction or elimination of plastic containers, moving to glass, and all subscriptions starting with refill container with their already eco-friendly refill packaging. As a health care provider, I would like to see more clinical studies to show superiority of these products to fish and krill-based Omega-3s and taking on and replacing prescription products like Lovaza or Vascepa.

Worth the money πŸ’ΈEasy subscription management πŸ”Works really wellAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
Useful review?

Cards Against Humanity

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
8 months ago

Experience

Beyond *Cheeky*! A perfect way to have hours of laughter with your friends, and gets even more boisterous when you mix in some cocktails! A view into the dark psyche of each player based on the topic and the cards they've been dealt! Make sure the kids are in bed and you're all playing in the basement!

Feedback

More cards for the starter pack

Super fun activity
Useful review?

Daring

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
a year ago

Experience

As a former chicken eater, I find this product an excellent replacement! I really like all the flavors they have to offer, but the breaded chicken is by far the most favorite in our household. Just throw them in air fryer and in a few minutes, a healthier version of "fried chicken"! The other flavors that are unbreaded substitute really well for any place you would normally use chicken. We just made Italian white bean and kale soup and added lemon-flavored chicken bits into the soup --- really good! It has the same texture as chicken, breaks apart along the fibers like chicken, but the most important - no chickens are harmed and production is lot more sustainable than breeding chickens. Out of all the chicken substitutes I've tried, this one is by far the best replacement!

Feedback

None.

Tasty πŸ˜‹Sustainable products
Useful review?

NOODIE

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
a year ago

Experience

A completely vegetarian & vegan ramen experience! The vegetables and reduced sodium content make them healthier. I tried all the flavors and the Tonkotsu & peanut chili are my favorite. The smoky garlic is nice too.

Feedback

The costs also needs to come down a bit. I would recommend even healthier whole-grain noodle option like soba (buckwheat).

High qualityInnovative productEasy subscription management πŸ”Tasty πŸ˜‹
Useful review?

Athletic Greens

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
a year ago

Experience

This is a whole-food green drink with greens + fruit + herbs & adaptogens + mushrooms + pre- & probiotics + multivitamins, all in one! I got their starter pack which came with a metal canister & measuring spoon; a BPA-free plastic bottle; 30-day supply of the greens powder; and, 1-yr supply of Vitamin D drops. This is a pretty good investment, especially if you have a discount code. Economics: Many people spend too much money on supplements, and this product may reduce the need to buy a whole bunch of them. So, from an economic standpoint, you may wind up saving overall costs. Product: A potent formulation of key products, plant diversity that will help your digestive system, help alkalinize your blood, and deliver key nutrients that my be deficient in your diet. The version I have is 52nd iteration. The company really works to update their ingredient list for all-in-one product. It has endorsements from celebrity athletes and wellness influencers. Transparency: ingredient list and nutrient content from food label; certifications (NSF) and sourcing of food ingredients. Taste: I've tried a lot of green drink powders. This one is one of the best tastes that I've enjoyed. I have incorporated the drink in the mornings, but you can have it any time of the day. Subscription: easy to manage.

Feedback

I'd like to know exact amounts of ingredients; they also sell omega-3 supplements that are fish-based. I'd like for them to cut out the "middleman" fish and go straight to the source where fish get their omega-3s from - algae. This is a more sustainable source and depending on the formulation, better absorbed by the body.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money πŸ’ΈEasy subscription management πŸ”
Useful review?

Cometeer Coffee

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
2 years ago

Experience

It's a very unique concept in delivering the best flavor in coffee. I chose the light roast bundle. I was happy to be one of the 1st ones to try it. Here is what I like: coffee roasted and brewed to its perfection and then packed in frozen cups. I have had coffee 100's of different ways, each being its own ritual of morning just getting started. I get to experience top-notch coffee roasters from the country. I have to say that this validated why Central & SouthAmerican coffees are by far my favorites, and why I do not prefer African coffees from Ethiopia or Kenya. Another thing I like is the transparent nature to which Cometeer takes sustainability responsibly. From the packaging for shipping to the canisters when contain the frozen coffee brick can be reused, repurposed, or recycled.

Feedback

The other two coffees from Africa; good roasters, but the coffee is just not for me. This is the only reason why I gave rating of 3, because the other two coffees were just not to my liking. At least I tried them I hope to be able to pick and choose my favorite boxes moving forward where I can mix and match based on my preferences. The image above of just dropping a brick of coffee in hot water is not accurate, at least based on my 1st experience. It may be because it was super hot on the day the package was delivered and the dry ice may have evaporated a lot faster. It may have refroze causing it to loose its shape. Please make sure to refreeze the coffee pods when you get them into the house.

Innovative productCool look & feelEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?

Lupii

ROHIT M
27 Reviews
2 years ago

Experience

I do like their mission and approach to food, however, the bars don't do it for me due to taste. I didn't like any of them. While I do love lupini beans and think they're a unique combination of fiber and protein that fulfills a lot of dietary patterns (including Keto), I don't think the combination of ingredients to make a sweet bar with is a good one.

Feedback

Instead of sweet taste and flavor profile, I would suggest to go down the savory route with herbs and spices and it would actually be a better product.

Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
Useful review?