Better Brand

3.337 Reviews

Better Brand makes low carb, low sugar, and high protein bagels using plant-based ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.3
Average rating from 37 users
57%
Would recommend it to a friend

Better Brand Reviews

Experience

It is not going to be a normal bagel. But for my current goals the macro and calories are on point and it is a goos vehicle for cream cheese. Adjust your expectations. It’s more than I want to pay but until another cheaper sub comes along I would purchase again.

9 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I love bagels! So I loved this idea and jumped on the Thingdrop as soon as I saw it. The box came and the packaging was lovely...however slightly over the top. Sometimes when a product seems slightly overpriced (granted I got a great deal on Thingdrop, but I was aware of what the full price was), I think to myself: "am I paying for the product or the packaging?" I love branding and work in brand-land, but sometimes get frustrated with how much people over-index on packaging and brand...like the product needs to be great too!! Anyways, I digress. Back to the bagels. I open this beautiful packaging and find a...bun? These bagels are missing the most bagel-y part of being a bagel: the hole! I was with my parents when I opened them and they both said the same thing: "that's not a bagel!" Well, again, I'm a substance person so I was like I'm not going to judge these suckers until I've actually tried one. Lo and behold, I was pleasantly surprised. They tasted decent and had a nice chewy texture. With some cream cheese, they were fab! HOWEVER I would not advise eating them untoasted. That was a weird experience. But toasted, they are fine. And toasted + spread of your choice, you'd think you were eating a normal bagel.

Feedback

Would I call it a "better" bagel? Mmmmmmaybe? I don't know. To put it this way, I haven't bought them again at full price because I don't see it being quite worth it, but if they can get the price down and maybe spend a little more time on the product, I think they are onto something.

Innovative product
2 months ago
Experience

I love this product. My whole family ate them many times for breakfast when we were all together for the holidays, and, no-one could tell them from regular carb-loaded bagels. I now subscribe!

Feedback

Sometimes, they are not perfectly shaped, therefore, hard to slice.

Innovative productEasy subscription management 🔁Tasty 😋
3 months ago
Experience

tl;dr = If you've ever found yourself uttering the words "you don't know what a good bagel is" or "it's all about the NY water" then this bagel isn't for you. Full Review: I also sent a pack to my bagel aficionado brother (who also has experimented a lot with the "low carb/keto" friendly items and he said "It's by far the best 'non-carby' bagel I've ever had but...it's not a bagel. It's probably the closest you can get though without being a bagel"

Feedback

It comes in a normal box with no special packing but asks you to freeze immediately once you get it which feels strange and curious how much it's needed and if I could just refrigerate it because another problem with it frozen is you absolutely need to cut and toast these so you have to do that strange semi-defrost first. Also If they did offer ones with seasoning like poppy or sesame seeds or everything seasoning it would definitely be a huge plus and help cover up some of the non bagel texture/taste. (but was overall way better than I was expecting

Innovative product
Jesse R's review of Better Brand
4 months ago
Experience

Great nutrition contents, packaging and ease of storage. My kids could easily grab and make their own meal

Feedback

we live in a part of the country that has exceptional bagels, so it was hard to compete on taste.

Innovative productFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Giving this rating not because it's the best bagel I've ever had, but because it perfectly solves a bagel craving for me at a zero-guilt nutritional cost. I've eaten these a variety of ways, with cream cheese, as part of a breakfast sandwich, etc. and found that they work well for me toasted. They're breadier than a normal bagel for me, but with toppings I don't notice much. And whereas with some foods the taste/health tradeoff is distracting for me, that wasn't the case here, even if I know it's not quite my favorite bagel plain.

Feedback

They do still taste a bit breadier or texturally less fluffy than a regular bagel. I look forward to trying additional flavors than plain.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Fan of the brand, its mission, and its aesthetic, but overall, it was just OK for me. Was on the fence on the rating but rounded up. Shipping was fast (which usually is nice!), but it came on a day where I'd just brought home a bunch of pastries, so I ended up putting them in the freezer as the options were to either eat right away or freeze (why? not sure as the card that came in the box didn't give any explanation). Upon opening the bag, I noticed that most of the bagels were hole-less — the only one that actually looked like a bagel was the one I photographed, which wasn't quite what I expected (wasn't mad about it though). The bagels were on the smaller side, and since they were frozen, I opted to microwave, slice in half, and then toast. The bagel texture is spongier and chewier than a "regular" bagel. Dressed the bagel up with cream cheese, onions, capers, and smoked salmon, so the bagel was more of a vessel than the main star, so the bagel taste wasn't too noticeable through those stronger flavors. For the nutritional benefits, I'd eat it again, but at its price point, I don't think I'd buy them on my own.

Feedback

The brand comes off as a more premium product, where the bagel bag and the other packaging were nice. However, the inconsistency in the bagels didn't quite fit that vibe. It would also help to include tips on how best to experience the bagel as the packaging only included storage information.

Fun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
Jen W's review of Better Brand
4 months ago
Experience

Love the crunchiness. It’s a bit dense but that’s to be expected for the ingredients. Generally love these and they’re very filling!

Feedback

Texture is a bit unique but I’m okay with that.

Innovative productTasty 😋
4 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I was skeptical of this concept at first, but actually found it to be better than expected. The keep frozen part is confusing, but as long as you know you plan to eat it and leave it out to defrost for a bit, it is manageable. Most impressed by the ingredients, quality, and nutrition. A bit pricey for a bagel, but definitely worth trying!

Feedback

Pre-slice the bagels & offer more flavors

High qualityInnovative productFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
5 months ago