Better Brand

3.340 Reviews

Better Brand makes low carb, low sugar, and high protein bagels using plant-based ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.3
Average rating from 40 users
55%
Would recommend it to a friend

Better Brand Reviews

Experience

Low carb, high protein bread. That is usually not a good combination. I like the idea of healthy bagels, and I wanted to like these, but they are dense and chewy. If you're really bent on eating low carb, then I would definitely try these bagels. However, if the majority of food you eat is low carb, I think you can afford to eat regular bagels.

Feedback

There's not much that can be done.

Love the brand's mission 💕
4 days ago
Experience

The nutritional information was very promising and who doesn't want a healthier way to consume their usual carb items? I am used to healthier food alternatives making certain compromises like Halo Top with icecream, Smartsweets with candy, Lilys with chocolate, but I couldn't find myself finishing a single Better Bagel unfortunately. The texture is very chewy and like a dense sponge-like bordering memory foam kind of bite. I've tried it with a cream cheese schmear and separately as a bagel sandwich with labneh, lox, heirloom tomato, red onions, capers, cucumbers and I feel that it works a lot better for the latter when it's buried under a lot of components. I'd stick to just reducing my "regular" bagel consumption or eat things on Ezekiel bread instead of buying another package of these bagels. It's all subjective though so please read more reviews to get a grasp if this is for you.

Innovative productCool look & feelAmazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
4 days ago
Experience

For my diet and lifestyle- these are INCREDIBLE!!!! would get them again and again

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
a month ago
Experience

It is not going to be a normal bagel. But for my current goals the macro and calories are on point and it is a goos vehicle for cream cheese. Adjust your expectations. It’s more than I want to pay but until another cheaper sub comes along I would purchase again.

2 months ago
Experience

Overall, it is definitely a decent bagel with similar texture to regular bagel. It has a decent amount of protein so good if you are looking for that. The bagel was really salty in my opinion. I would recommend having it with cream cheese and tomato with a balsamic glaze drizzle to balance the taste out! Would only recommend this product if you are looking for ways to add more protein to your diet.

Feedback

Wish it was less salty

Innovative product
2 months ago
Experience

Bagel were good but very chewy. The type of protein they use to make it high protein low carb made my stomach a bit upset. Not jumping to re-purchase

Feedback

The everything bagel topping was falling off of the bagel and was an absolute mess. I also was not in love with the overly chewy texture.

Innovative product
2 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I love bagels! So I loved this idea and jumped on the Thingdrop as soon as I saw it. The box came and the packaging was lovely...however slightly over the top. Sometimes when a product seems slightly overpriced (granted I got a great deal on Thingdrop, but I was aware of what the full price was), I think to myself: "am I paying for the product or the packaging?" I love branding and work in brand-land, but sometimes get frustrated with how much people over-index on packaging and brand...like the product needs to be great too!! Anyways, I digress. Back to the bagels. I open this beautiful packaging and find a...bun? These bagels are missing the most bagel-y part of being a bagel: the hole! I was with my parents when I opened them and they both said the same thing: "that's not a bagel!" Well, again, I'm a substance person so I was like I'm not going to judge these suckers until I've actually tried one. Lo and behold, I was pleasantly surprised. They tasted decent and had a nice chewy texture. With some cream cheese, they were fab! HOWEVER I would not advise eating them untoasted. That was a weird experience. But toasted, they are fine. And toasted + spread of your choice, you'd think you were eating a normal bagel.

Feedback

Would I call it a "better" bagel? Mmmmmmaybe? I don't know. To put it this way, I haven't bought them again at full price because I don't see it being quite worth it, but if they can get the price down and maybe spend a little more time on the product, I think they are onto something.

Innovative product
4 months ago
Experience

This is quite the valiant attempt, but it’s just not there yet. It’s a really unpleasant spongy texture that emphasizes the high protein content (think unflavored whey or pea protein flavor). It like it best sliced up and toasted as bagel chips with some butter and cream cheese.

Feedback

The texture probably needs the most work. I’d be willing to sacrifice some of the protein for a less spongy product. I think that would help with the flavor too.

Fun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
Experience

I love this product. My whole family ate them many times for breakfast when we were all together for the holidays, and, no-one could tell them from regular carb-loaded bagels. I now subscribe!

Feedback

Sometimes, they are not perfectly shaped, therefore, hard to slice.

Innovative productEasy subscription management 🔁Tasty 😋
4 months ago
Experience

tl;dr = If you've ever found yourself uttering the words "you don't know what a good bagel is" or "it's all about the NY water" then this bagel isn't for you. Full Review: I also sent a pack to my bagel aficionado brother (who also has experimented a lot with the "low carb/keto" friendly items and he said "It's by far the best 'non-carby' bagel I've ever had but...it's not a bagel. It's probably the closest you can get though without being a bagel"

Feedback

It comes in a normal box with no special packing but asks you to freeze immediately once you get it which feels strange and curious how much it's needed and if I could just refrigerate it because another problem with it frozen is you absolutely need to cut and toast these so you have to do that strange semi-defrost first. Also If they did offer ones with seasoning like poppy or sesame seeds or everything seasoning it would definitely be a huge plus and help cover up some of the non bagel texture/taste. (but was overall way better than I was expecting

Innovative product
Jesse R's review of Better Brand
5 months ago