Reviews

    Cadence

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Honestly, I'm not impressed. I had long been eyeing these chic, functional travel packs and was excited to see them discounted on a ThingDrop. But when they arrived, the quality of the material was a bit lower than I had expected -- Especially for a product at such a high price point. I wouldn't have purchased these without the steep discount.

    Feedback

    The plastic/material quality should be higher to justify the steep price.

    iwi life

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    High-quality product, great mission, and lovely packaging. I was drawn to this product because I've long wanted to increase my Omega-3 intake, but the idea of taking fish oil pills makes me gag. I was hopeful that iwi life's pills would avoid the smell and stench issues of fish oil pills, but unfortunately, that wasn't quite the case. I haven't noticed any foul taste/burps (though I do always take these with food, so that could be masking it), but I did notice a funky smell any time I open the pill bottle. I guess that comes with the territory of algae! All in all, a quality product, and a great option for vegan folks.

    Feedback

    If it's possible to mask the smell further, that would be great.

    Leaf Shave

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    A dermaplane a day* keeps the mustache away!!! (* more like a dermaplane a month) After years of suffering through wax strips that left my skin irritated, stinging, and patchy with straggler hairs, I was intrigued to learn about dermaplaning as a waxing alternative when I came across the Leaf ThingDrop. I took the plunge and ordered their dermaplane, and after a week of working up the courage, I took it on its maiden voyage. What an upgrade! Though daunting at first, the process was simple, painless, and effective — it removed far more hair than wax strips ever did for me, and my skin was left supple and irritation-free. The tool is evidently high-quality in its material and craftsmanship, making it a pleasure to use. I will say I got a little careless once I got the feel for how to dermaplane, and I did accidentally knick myself, but that was purely the result of user error. Just stay steady and slow and you’ll be good to go. Recommend!

    Feedback

    I suggest newcomers take a look at the introductory guide included in the package, which provides a QR code linking to a helpful instructional video for dermaplaning newbies like myself. These resources made the process extremely approachable!

    Camp

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    a year ago

    Sale or special offer

    The original vegan mac flavor from Camp tastes nearly identical to the White Cheddar flavor of Hippeas. Initially, this was a boon, as I adore that snack and could demolish a bag with no problem, but once you’re experiencing that flavor in a mac and cheese bite as opposed to in a crunchy snack curl, the artificial flavor suddenly tastes distinctly chemically and brings on the “ick” after a few bites.

    Quiet Hours

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    This buttery smooth, gorgeous ice roller provides such a nice burst of energy and calm in the mornings, after a night out, or whenever I need a moment. You can tell the material and assembly is high quality — the difference between my cheap Amazon “jade” roller is stark. Recommend!

    postcode pours

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Friends with postcode pours

    Obsessed with this brand. These personalized, high-quality candles make for fantastic gifts for any occasion -- especially as housewarming gifts. The scents are strong and luscious without being overpowering. The packaging is curated with careful attention to detail. And the company's mission -- donating a portion of profits to charity -- is admirable. Treat yourself or a loved one to these candles ASAP!

    Fishwife

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Great flavor and branding, but not quite great enough to justify the steep price. I tried Fishwife's limited-edition Campfire Cod product as part of a ThingDrop. The flavor was fresh and smoky and the quality of the fish was evident -- plus the packaging was fun and inspired. But the price was beyond what I would reasonably consider paying for fish. With a retail price of $39 for three *small* tins (smaller than standard fish tins), I could not see myself buying this again without the discounted price I first received. Perhaps I'm vastly misunderstanding the true cost of ethically-sourced seafood, but $13 for a few bites of canned cod just doesn't seem worth it to me.

    Feedback

    I would highly suggest seeking ways to cut costs without compromising on values and mission, to the extent possible.

    Plink!

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I’ve been a Nuun drinker for years and was so pleasantly surprised by how well Plink matched — if not exceeded — the quality of an established, widespread product like Nuun. I tried the variety pack through a Thingdrop and loved all the flavors — especially pineapple. Plink is a tasty way to hydrate first thing in the morning, after a workout, or after an evening out. A few significant pros of Plink over Nuun: - Flavors! I loved all three Plink favors I tried. Can’t say the same about Nuun - Fizz! It’s mesmerizing to watch the plume of fizz when you plop Plink into your water - Packaging! I appreciate the fun packaging, but most of all I like that each Plink comes individually wrapped in a thick packaging — making it more portable than a Nuun tube but still protecting the goods. - Marketing! I’ve been receiving some emails from the Plink marketing team and I love the clever messaging the brand puts out

    Feedback

    I would love to see more vitamins in Plink

    FFUPs

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    FFUPs are silly, fun, and tasty, offering a fresh take on snack food. Their flavors are innovative — who would have thought hot chocolate or salt and vinegar flavored corn puffs would work? The packaging is playful — I’m a sucker for their personified corn puff mascot. And the texture is on point. I brought a few bags of these onto a boat full of inebriated friends over Memorial Day weekend, and the FFUPs quickly vanished. People kept remarking on how good they were — attracting affection that the other packs of snacks on the boat didn’t seem to inspire. All in, FFUPs were a vibe. The main reason I stop short of giving FFUPs five out of five stars is their value. Because I got FFUPs with a Thingdrop discount, they were more than worth it. But when I look at their retail price per bag (especially considering the size of each bag), it’s not worth it to me. Maybe my friends from the boat would feel differently, though…

    Italic

    Level 3
    Sarah BLevel 3 25 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I just learned about Italic recently and can’t believe more people aren’t talking about it. I bought some gorgeous kitchen accessories made by the same manufacturer used for Williams Sonoma and Crate & Barrel but for a fraction of the price. Same story with a set of lavish candles and a soap and hand wash set that looks like you would buy it for 2x the price at Le Labo. A great site for gifts — for your loved ones or just for yourself, because you deserve it

    Feedback

    The site left me wanting more — there wasn’t as t inventory as I’d like, and of what there was, much of it was out of stock.