Smallhold

4.7 47 Reviews

Smallhold sells organic, freshly harvested speciality mushrooms.

Smallhold Reviews

Smallhold reviews

4.74

96% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Offers unique mushroom types
  • Exceptional freshness and quality
  • Eco-friendly, simple packaging
  • No need for washing
  • Higher price point than competitors
  • Inconsistent mushroom sizes
  • Strong smell in the fridge
  • Packaging may lead to transit bruises

Smallhold offers unique, fresh, and high-quality mushrooms that come in a variety of types, often hard to find elsewhere. They are packed in eco-friendly packaging, and they do not need washing as they're not grown in dirt. Their freshness and flavor have been praised by customers, adding a distinctive taste to various dishes. Despite these strengths, a significant downside of Smallhold is the high price point compared to other mushroom brands, which may deter regular purchases. Some customers also mentioned inconsistent sizes within the same pack and a strong smell as areas for improvement.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

47 reviews

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Awesome mushrooms! I got the BOGO Free offer with try new things and was so excited for the assortment. I bought trumpet mushrooms and made the Serious Eats trumpet mushroom “B”LT and then used the assorted for a wild mushroom risotto. Love the assortment, love the packaging. All around great experience.

6 months ago

Have always been a big fan of these guys! Love the growing varieties and quality.

6 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Loved these mushrooms! Had a BOGO coupon, so ended up purchasing one pack of blue oyster mushrooms plus a second package with a mix of blue and yellow oyster mushrooms (I would have tried more diverse types, but at the two stores that had them near me these were the only varieties available). They were easy to prepare (stovetop stir-fried with olive oil, kale, and a bit of ginger) and really meaty. The only drawback, and why I am not giving them 5 stars, is the cost. At $9.50/package, I can't imagine I would buy them regularly, esp. knowing I can find oyster mushrooms at local Asian markets for much less. Still, they were and are super tasty!

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I first tried Smallhold at the Union Square Farmer's Market and loved how they always had varieties that were not as easy to find at the local grocery stores. Now that they are available at my local Whole Foods and are even easier to obtain. We have been getting their Trumpet Mushrooms recently and have loved finding different ways to cook with them. One of my favorite things about Smallhold mushrooms is that you do not have to wash them and worry about water in your mushrooms because they are not grown in dirt, which is really cool. The only downside is because they are still a small brand, they are on the pricier side compared to mass-production mushroom companies.

6 months ago

Received a free product from Smallhold

I liked that my oyster pack had a bunch of different kinds of mushrooms! They were all tasty and lasted a while in the fridge, even though they had a strong smell. That said, I got my box for free and would not spend $10 on a small box of mushrooms in the future when i can get much cheaper ones at the Asian store.

5 months ago

I bought this on a whim at Whole Foods and I was pleasantly surprised at how large the mushrooms were. They are large and delicious and perfect for whatever I am using to cook with. These are a really great buy.

5 months ago

I love that these mushrooms grow in a sustainable way - whenever I see their fridges around, my heart jumps a little! I have a long and strenuous journey with mushrooms - I used to find them gross but wanted to learn to like them. I love that Smallhold mushrooms make it easier for me as they are always fresh and have great quality, meaning less slimy duds and more joyful exploration!

5 months ago

I purchased these because of the BOGO deal from Thingtesting. I wasn't able to redeem that deal, though, because self-checkout at Whole Foods was malfunctioning and wouldn't give me a receipt. I'm not disappointed I missed out on that deal, though, since I am stoked about the product. I bought Blue Oyster and Lion's Mane. Both were delicious, and I could use the entire pack without cutting off any bad bits. These Lion's Mane are the best I've ever found in a grocery store; the only comparable ones have been from farmer's markets. I personally love the no-dirt policy, so I can trust that I don't ever need to wash them before cooking. As others have mentioned, you might be able to find similar quality in some varieties for less money at other specialty grocers. I rarely go to specialty grocers, though, so I will continue to purchase these with my regular grocery shopping.

5 months ago

I love the packaging and everything inside. I am a huge mushroom enthusiast and this brand was up to my standards. They were so yummy and delicious.

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I've tried the lions mane mushrooms and oyster mushrooms (blue and yellow), and was really happy with both of them! I've never seen lions mane for purchase outside of niche mushroom foragers at farmers markets, but these seemed pretty affordable (for what are usually only foraged mushrooms) and were really tasty, as were the oyster mushrooms. They were also super clean since they were cultivated, so no dirt!

6 months ago

Their mushrooms are delicious and flavorful. However, I’d not be willing to get a box for myself at the current sales price.

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I’d already seen these at Whole Foods before they popped up on Thingtesting. The package stands out against every other container of mushrooms - cardboard (not wrapped in plastic), colorful (white, blue). All the other “fancy” mushrooms look like they’re sweating under plastic wrap while these look perfect. I was excited to combine a container of the blue oyster mushrooms with some baby bellas for a mushroom tart. They definitely stood out and enhanced the overall mushrooms flavor. They’re expensive (compared to flavorless mushrooms) so they may not be an all-the-time thing, but when flavor is important, get Smallhold.

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Love these king oyster mushrooms. The yellow ones were what caught my eye and I tried them for the first time. Sooo good

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

It can be a pretty good deal for certain mushroom like lion’s mane! The mushroom was good quality and having this BOGO deal allowed me to try two different kinds of mushroom.

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Got 2 packs of Lions Mane through ThingTesting's BOGO offer - they were delicious simply pan fried with oil and seasoning. However, the high price makes it unlikely that I would ever buy it again and the photos of the packaging make it seem like each pack is filled up but it definitely isn't. It's 8oz of mushroom that filled up maybe half of the box, and probably rolled around a bunch and bruised in transit to the store.

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I used the lion's mane mushrooms to make steaks. They were small pieces, not the huge ones you usually see. The recipe I used was for a dry rub after oiling a pan and pressing them flat. These made for nice crispy pieces that were about pancake thin. I used them in a sandwich with vegan cheese, lettuce, onion and avocado and they tasted like the combination of spices that I used. Liquid aminos, which was the marinade, granulated garlic, onion, paprika, cumin, pepper, salt and cayenne, this was like a blackening mixture many people use for meat. I was glad I chose this recipe as they came out not taste like mushrooms, which I have never liked because of the taste. This was different almost a jerky in taste and texture. I did not get a mushroom taste or texture. The only mushrooms I eat are black fungus, portabello and shitake. This tasted like a thicker crispy bacon, but what do I know about bacon, it has been 4 decades, lol. I enjoyed them and will make them again, if they will come in bigger pieces, next time trying a batter of vegan milk and egg, spices and bread crumbs. Loved the boxes for sustainablility although they were hard to find at Whole Foods as from the front of the area they were in, they just seemed like a box on the shelf, they were not sitting face forward, maybe the box does not allow for that? I finally did find them, and I thank you for the exposure to this great mushroom.