Public Goods

4.0427 Ratings

Public Goods sells affordable personal, home, and pet care products made from sustainable materials and healthy ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4
Average rating from 27 users
88%
Would recommend it to a friend

Public Goods Reviews

Experience

A pretty good concept and nice offerings with a nice minimalist aesthetic.

Feedback

I like their cleaning products but feel as though a lot of things are watered down.

4 days ago
Experience

I've been using this brand for most household items since backing them on kickstarter (or indiegogo...I forget) years ago. I LOVE the simplicity. Everyone who comes over compliments us on the matching products, too!

Feedback

It seems there's been such a focus on creating new products, you've lot sight of some of the existing ones. Lots are out of stock and I've seen prices go up, which is a bit of a bummer. I still love you, though.

Cool look & feelWorks really wellTasty 😋Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
15 days ago
Experience

I liked how they offered a trial period where I was able to order products and try a variety. My favorites were the oatmeal, bug spray, and bamboo straws.

Feedback

I wish they offered student memberships to help subsidize some of the cost.

Worth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Tasty 😋Amazing website
a month ago
Experience

Fantastic ramen and ready-to-heat grains at good prices. Great ingredient transparency.

High qualityFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Eco-friendly packaging
a month ago
Experience

I am an early adopter and bought into their lifetime membership. Some of the products are great, others just okay. I don’t think there’s anything we hated. We’ve use the deodorant (great smell, but didn’t work), the period Care (works great, but lots of packaging), some of the food products (the ramen was good), body lotions (like!), face lotion (meh), and body wash (my favorite). We’ve also purchased some of their natural body scrubbers which work well. Overall would recommend if you can find enough products to justify filling a box.

Easy subscription management 🔁Smells amazing
2 months ago
Experience

One of the few brands I consistently order from. Their garlic and chipotle almonds are always in my pantry. The candles are fantastic and not overpowering, sold at extremely low prices. I use their spices and continue to order them. You can expect consistency from them.

Feedback

The deodorant doesn't work.

Good for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
3 months ago
Experience

Public Goods has an exceptional range of products and the quality is incredible for the price. Our home especially loves the Cedar & Suede candle. Smells sooooo good. I just recently purchased their pressed wood fiber cutting boards and they look ultra chic and work so well. The customer service is fast and responsive. Love this brand.

Feedback

For me, the annual membership price for any brand is a stumbling block. There are so many services that require an annual membership and those costs stack. So, for me, that's the only reservation I have.

High qualityCool look & feelEasy subscription management 🔁Works really wellSmells amazingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
3 months ago
Experience

Above-average home products that have the parred back minimalist aesthetic at a good price. Some of the products like the shampoo are a bit too watery to my liking, however.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸
4 months ago
Experience

Good products for the price. Very solid quality. Would love a little more of a scent. The candles like the black currant (I believe is the name) lasts a while for it’s size, but the scent isn’t very long lasting and doesn’t permeate far into the room.

Feedback

Make scents a little stronger.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productEasy subscription management 🔁Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
Experience

My boyfriend was one of the first Public Goods members and managed to snag a lifetime membership at a low rate. As a result, our home has quickly been filled with Public Goods items -- cleaning products, dishware, towels, and more. All of their products are gorgeous and housed in minimalist, aesthetically-pleasing packaging. Some things are huge hits -- the dishes, in particular. Gorgeous, sleek, well-made, and compliment magnets (Note: many of these are pictured in the bottom row of my appended photo). Other products -- albeit fewer -- are misses. The face sunscreen stands out in particular. Because it relies on zinc, it made our faces ghastly white and scaly. (Disclaimer: We tested that product years ago, and it's possible PG has since improved its formula). I haven't yet tried any of the consumable products, but I'm sure the situation is similar -- many hits, some misses. I look forward to continuing to test PG products as they expand their selections and hone their formulae. However, I'm not sure I would be so high on their products (value:quality) if I were a regular subscriber, rather than an early adopter. In other words, the annual subscription is a bit high to justify the prices (good, but not exceedingly cheap) and quality (good, but not incredible, overall).

Feedback

Personal care products, in particular, could use improved formulas.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityCool look & feelAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Sarah B's review of Public Goods
5 months ago