Motif

4.1428 Reviews

Motif sells a line of science driven, clean skincare products.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.1
Average rating from 28 users
81%
Recommend it to a friend

Motif Reviews

3 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Wonderful! Very light scent, not irritating or overbearing. Super nice feel on the face, not drying at all. Just enough grit to give some exfoliation without too much. And the packaging's lovely. Highly recommend!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
10 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Motif's Abundance cleanser was the first Thingdrop I could snag, and I am so happy to have gotten it! This cleanser is a delightfully rich and creamy one with a little bit of physical exfoliation. This is not a cleanser for anyone who wants something foamy and leaves you feeling squeaky clean. This left me with a nice hydrated feeling but might feel like it leaves a film to anyone not anticipating what Abundance is bringing to the table. I might have preferred if the luffa bits - what I believe is providing the exfoliation - were left out. I like to do my cleansing and exfoliating separately, but that's just me. I'm still working my way through this bottle, and I am happy with the results. It's pricey and would be an excellent gift for someone trying to get into skincare but it might be doing a bit too much for someone with a highly curated regimen that works for them. But hey, isn't that true of anything? Overall, very excited by this product and excited to watch this brand.

Feedback

I am really excited to see what's next for the brand. They covered a lot of bases with this first launch! Though I am not sure it will be in my price range unfortunately.

High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
11 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Nice cleanser overall! Gently exfoliating and a nice ritual of leaving it on for a bit as a mini-mask (I do so in the shower). I do view it more of a treatment than an every day cleanser, as I feel some residue on my face after I wash it off and it didn't feel like it took my sunscreen off . Will definitely continue to use as part of a double cleanse!

Cool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
12 days ago
Experience

I've been using the Abundance cleanser for about a week now, and I do really like it--I'm obsessed with the masking element (leaving it on your skin for a few mins to mask) which is exactly what I want for a nightly cleanser. I almost always finish my day in the shower so I do the masking in the shower and then turn the shower temp down before rinsing it off. And the packaging vibe is gorgeous.

Feedback

The sticker price is STEEP for me for a cleanser at $60 retail BUT if it lasts awhile I could be convinced to switch. The other drawback is that I do not love the physical bits in the cleanser--the size and shape are kind of big and awkward?

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Jeanine N's review of Motif
Useful review?
13 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I waited to do my review until I had used the product for about 2 weeks. So far, it's a gentle cleanser like advertised. The product does have a minor exfoliant mask-like look and feel and was gentle on the face. As I haven't seen any major improvements or "Plumping" in 2 weeks (I do want to preface that I do have Hypothyroidism, PCOS and Hashimotos so I have skin flareups that have nothing to do with the skincare itself) my face and neck do still feel really nice and clean! I love the fact that this is a Dermatologist and Chemist led brand and that it's a very non-irritating product. My face doesn't feel dry at all. I will be continuing to use this product and will update as I go!

Feedback

I am excited to continue the use this product. The packaging and overall unboxing expierence is great and I'm glad the product is great too. If the cleanser gives me visible results within the upcoming weeks then I will find a way to budget this into my skincare regime! Also, the creators are very personable and seem really open and welcoming to feedback via email.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Gabbie L's review of Motif
Useful review?
18 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

For my skincare, I prefer using dermatologist-developed/tested formulas, so I was excited about this one! I really wouldn't call this a cleanser since it doesn't do much cleaning. While I do personally double-cleanse, people who are looking for a one-step cleanser would probably not like this. It is more of a gentle daily acid exfoliator, but I would rather just use my leave-on toning acid which is more effective than this product. I understand that based on the price point and product experience, Motif is gearing more toward the luxury market, but considering their first product is not a very effective cleanser or a mask, I'm not sure if people would be willing to spend so much on it. The scent and texture are inoffensive - it is creamy and smells herbaceous from the clay and lightly floral. My skin is also not dry afterward, but I also think that has to do with the fact that it isn't great at cleaning your skin.

Feedback

I see what they are trying to do by creating a one-step/do-it-all cleanser, but it doesn't do much. I'm rating Motif 2 stars though because the customer service is very very kind, and I like the idea behind it of all-in-one skincare that is no fuss and dermatologist developed. I hope they improve this first product or perhaps rebrand it, and I am looking forward to what they come out with next!

Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
18 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Very luscious and rich cream-type cleanser that felt more like a mask than a cleanser. Adored the packaging and the whole unboxing experience felt very high quality, which is expected for the price. The ingredient list felt substantial though completely unsure of efficacy regarding it's 'plumping' and 'hydrating' claims. Though my skin didn't feel like it was stripping nor did my skin feel tight with other cleaners. Overall, would use in tandem with other cleansers, opting for Motif every other day as a cleansing mask.

Feedback

Glad I stumbled upon the product! Unsure if I would repurchase at the moment, but time will tell.

High qualityLuxury
Useful review?
19 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I just started using this face wash so I will have to wait another week or two to fully review the product, but I love the packaging, the aroma and consistency of the face wash so far. I have been loving working it into my routine and feeling like I am getting a little extra TLC. I don’t use it to remove makeup. I mainly am writing this review to call out the incredible customer service! I had typed the incorrect address resulting in a hold at USPS. Motif called USPS on my behalf (even though I offered, since it was my mistake), re-shipped the package to the corrected address, included an extra face wash and I think the tissue paper was scented. Incredible care put into my customer experience so I can only imagine the care put into crafting this product.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
20 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

I've never been really excited about high-end cleansers, but it's clear that this is a high quality product and feels so luxurious to use. It's creamy, has a great/natural scent, and has tiny grains that help to exfoliate while softening/hydrating skin at the same time. I'm a fan!

Feedback

I can't think of anything that would be better other than the price point!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
20 days ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

If there is one thing I have more or less under control, it is my skincare routine. After quite a few years of experimentation, I have finally figured out how to not make my face break out much, or at least experience anything more than redness. It probably helped that I cut back on less healthy food, but finding the right combination of cleanser, face lotion, and sunscreen has seemed to also do the trick. So I am now a bit weary to change up anything with my skincare routine. However, this product seemed interesting enough I had to try it. I liked knowing that it was designed by board-certified dermatologists and chemists, and I love the thought of having velvety soft skin. When I opened up the package, I do recall a faint dusting of white powder all over the bottle. This was easily wiped off but it was a bit strange. Unfortunately, I cannot locate the picture I took of the bottle when I first opened it. I have been using the product for over a week now, and while I can't totally tell if my skin has improved, I am very glad I have not started breaking out. That means that their claim that the product is formulated for sensitive skin is true. I do use this in the shower in the morning, which I know is not recommended since shower water can get really hot, but I am too lazy to wash my skin outside of when I'm showering in the morning! I do make sure to turn the water temperature down while rinsing off this cleanser. I was a bit weary of using this daily at first, as this felt almost like a mask, which I believe you should only do once or twice a week. But, I can tell that it is not quite as thick as other masks I have used, so I continue to use it once a day. The brand also recommends having it on for 30 - 60 seconds and then washing it off. If I am showering and doing a lot quickly, that is actually a pretty short time period if I start washing another part of my body! Thankfully I have not really seen any adverse side effects from keeping it on a little longer. I also like how they recommend that you put some cleanser on your neck. That's not something I have ever really done before, but I have started doing it now. Overall I do feel like my skin is getting adequately cleaned and it is not breaking me out, so I am happy with this product. However, I got this product at a steep discount thanks to the Thingdrop program. I read some of the other reviews and a common complaint was the price. And looking at the website, I totally agree. This is definitely out of my price range for a cleanser. If I had not received one of these as a Thingdrop, this is not something I could consider purchasing unless a close friend of mine really recommended it.

Feedback

As is a common theme, I agree the price should definitely be lowered. Perhaps offer a sample size so new customers can try out the cleanser before committing to a big bottle.

High qualityCool look & feelHoliday 2022 🌟Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?