Motif

4.1 49 Reviews

Motif sells a line of science driven, clean skincare products.

Motif Reviews

Motif reviews

4.08

78% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

49 reviews

All49Abundance Plumping Phytoceramide Cleanser2

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I grabbed the cleanser during Thingdrop and as someone very skeptical about luxury beauty claims, I was pretty excited to see what all the fuss was about. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the cleanser was good...like REALLY good. I loved the non-foaming texture and the lack of a strong fragrance (which most luxury skincare products tend to come with). There is a mild, gentle exfoliation that occurs when you spread it around your face. The cleanser is super gentle and once washed off, leaves behind a smoother, more visibly plump surface. I honestly don't know how they do it! However, as much as I enjoyed it, I don't think I would pay $68 for another bottle.

Abundance Plumping Phytoceramide Cleanser

2 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This cleanser is lovely. I use it as a second cleanser after I take most of my makeup off with an oil balm and it functions as both a mask and a cleanser. It leaves my skin super soft with the lightest bit of exfoliation. I don't really have any complaints and would repurchase if it wasn't $65 a bottle. I will say, if I noticed it cleared up acne or made my skin look like no other product does, I wouldn't mind spending that much.

Abundance Plumping Phytoceramide Cleanser

7 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

They definitely hit the nail with creating a luxury face wash. Every part of the experience from the packaging to the actual cleansing feels really well thought out and seems like a really high-quality cleanser. I really liked how it worked but at the price, not sure it felt worth a rebuy.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This feels more like a mask and less like a cleanser as it doesn't wash away completely. Whatever does stay in your face feels pretty thick, but does leave a velvety, moisturized feel. I worry the thickness impacts the absorption of my serum. The packaging is very nice, very similar to Oribe's.

Feedback

The smell is not for me, while not overpowering it's reminiscent of old/expired cosmetic. No fragrance would be better. The cleanser needs to be washed out with cool water, which means you can't use it in the shower, not convenient to use twice a day as recommended.

a year ago

This cleanser is LUXE and leaves your skin feeling clean and moisturized. The texture is almost like a mousse and feels soft on my skin, as one would expect, it doesn't really foam when applied. I was worried that the exfoliation would irritate my skin after daily use, but it's super gentle, and I have had no issues. The bottle feels well-made and looks good sitting in the shower. The scent is subtle but smells clean and refreshing.

Feedback

As people stated below, the price is pretty high for the average person, but if it's in your budget, I think it makes for a great cleanser! A smaller size would be great for people to try it out without committing to a full-sized bottle.

a year ago

Great product feels high quality. A little drying so definitely can’t skip moisturizing but skin is nice and clear.

Feedback

A flip cap would be preferred for dispensing.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Wonderful! Very light scent, not irritating or overbearing. Super nice feel on the face, not drying at all. Just enough grit to give some exfoliation without too much. And the packaging's lovely. Highly recommend!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

If there is one thing I have more or less under control, it is my skincare routine. After quite a few years of experimentation, I have finally figured out how to not make my face break out much, or at least experience anything more than redness. It probably helped that I cut back on less healthy food, but finding the right combination of cleanser, face lotion, and sunscreen has seemed to also do the trick. So I am now a bit weary to change up anything with my skincare routine. However, this product seemed interesting enough I had to try it. I liked knowing that it was designed by board-certified dermatologists and chemists, and I love the thought of having velvety soft skin. When I opened up the package, I do recall a faint dusting of white powder all over the bottle. This was easily wiped off but it was a bit strange. Unfortunately, I cannot locate the picture I took of the bottle when I first opened it. I have been using the product for over a week now, and while I can't totally tell if my skin has improved, I am very glad I have not started breaking out. That means that their claim that the product is formulated for sensitive skin is true. I do use this in the shower in the morning, which I know is not recommended since shower water can get really hot, but I am too lazy to wash my skin outside of when I'm showering in the morning! I do make sure to turn the water temperature down while rinsing off this cleanser. I was a bit weary of using this daily at first, as this felt almost like a mask, which I believe you should only do once or twice a week. But, I can tell that it is not quite as thick as other masks I have used, so I continue to use it once a day. The brand also recommends having it on for 30 - 60 seconds and then washing it off. If I am showering and doing a lot quickly, that is actually a pretty short time period if I start washing another part of my body! Thankfully I have not really seen any adverse side effects from keeping it on a little longer. I also like how they recommend that you put some cleanser on your neck. That's not something I have ever really done before, but I have started doing it now. Overall I do feel like my skin is getting adequately cleaned and it is not breaking me out, so I am happy with this product. However, I got this product at a steep discount thanks to the Thingdrop program. I read some of the other reviews and a common complaint was the price. And looking at the website, I totally agree. This is definitely out of my price range for a cleanser. If I had not received one of these as a Thingdrop, this is not something I could consider purchasing unless a close friend of mine really recommended it.

Feedback

As is a common theme, I agree the price should definitely be lowered. Perhaps offer a sample size so new customers can try out the cleanser before committing to a big bottle.

a year ago

Does it leave my skin feeling plumped? Yes. Does it leave my skin feeling soft and hydrated? Yes. Does it cleanse thoroughly? Yes. Motif's cleanser is creamy and light. Doesn't feel heavy or rough on the skin. There's a very light scent that's not quite floral but is very enjoyable. I am really enjoying using this cleanser and it's definitely supplanted some of my regular routine.

Feedback

I leave it on for the recommended minute for the added masking benefits, but I don't think it's really necessary. It leaves skin feeling amazing with or without the added minute of wear time.