Motif

4.11 β€’ 38 Reviews

Motif sells a line of science driven, clean skincare products.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands β€”Β because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.1
Average rating from 38 users
81%
Recommend to a friend

Motif Reviews

Start a review
5 months ago

Experience

Does it leave my skin feeling plumped? Yes. Does it leave my skin feeling soft and hydrated? Yes. Does it cleanse thoroughly? Yes. Motif's cleanser is creamy and light. Doesn't feel heavy or rough on the skin. There's a very light scent that's not quite floral but is very enjoyable. I am really enjoying using this cleanser and it's definitely supplanted some of my regular routine.

Feedback

I leave it on for the recommended minute for the added masking benefits, but I don't think it's really necessary. It leaves skin feeling amazing with or without the added minute of wear time.

Worth the money πŸ’ΈLuxury
Useful review?
4 months ago

Experience

I've been using the Abundance cleanser for about a week now, and I do really like it--I'm obsessed with the masking element (leaving it on your skin for a few mins to mask) which is exactly what I want for a nightly cleanser. I almost always finish my day in the shower so I do the masking in the shower and then turn the shower temp down before rinsing it off. And the packaging vibe is gorgeous.

Feedback

The sticker price is STEEP for me for a cleanser at $60 retail BUT if it lasts awhile I could be convinced to switch. The other drawback is that I do not love the physical bits in the cleanser--the size and shape are kind of big and awkward?

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
πŸ’ΈBought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

I waited to do my review until I had used the product for about 2 weeks. So far, it's a gentle cleanser like advertised. The product does have a minor exfoliant mask-like look and feel and was gentle on the face. As I haven't seen any major improvements or "Plumping" in 2 weeks (I do want to preface that I do have Hypothyroidism, PCOS and Hashimotos so I have skin flareups that have nothing to do with the skincare itself) my face and neck do still feel really nice and clean! I love the fact that this is a Dermatologist and Chemist led brand and that it's a very non-irritating product. My face doesn't feel dry at all. I will be continuing to use this product and will update as I go!

Feedback

I am excited to continue the use this product. The packaging and overall unboxing expierence is great and I'm glad the product is great too. If the cleanser gives me visible results within the upcoming weeks then I will find a way to budget this into my skincare regime! Also, the creators are very personable and seem really open and welcoming to feedback via email.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityFun unboxing πŸ“¦Love the brand's mission πŸ’•Luxury
Useful review?
5 months ago

Experience

This cleanser is LUXE and leaves your skin feeling clean and moisturized. The texture is almost like a mousse and feels soft on my skin, as one would expect, it doesn't really foam when applied. I was worried that the exfoliation would irritate my skin after daily use, but it's super gentle, and I have had no issues. The bottle feels well-made and looks good sitting in the shower. The scent is subtle but smells clean and refreshing.

Feedback

As people stated below, the price is pretty high for the average person, but if it's in your budget, I think it makes for a great cleanser! A smaller size would be great for people to try it out without committing to a full-sized bottle.

High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
5 months ago

Experience

Buying process was easy and shipping was efficient. Loved the look and shape of the packaging; it made it look more luxurious.

Feedback

I tried the plumping phytoceramide cleanser; it left my skin feeling velvety and I enjoyed the exfoliating beads in it. One thing I wish was better would be that it left a film on my skin that you really had to scrub in order to get off.

Useful review?
5 months ago

Experience

This is the sophisticated older sister of St. Ives Apricot scrub. I love a cleanser that can double as a mask, i like texture, and I think the packaging is great, but at $65 msrp I just don't think this cleanser offers anything particularly special. If it were priced closer to other prestige brands (~$35) it would be a potential repurchase.

Cool look & feel
Useful review?
4 months ago
πŸ’ΈBought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Nice cleanser overall! Gently exfoliating and a nice ritual of leaving it on for a bit as a mini-mask (I do so in the shower). I do view it more of a treatment than an every day cleanser, as I feel some residue on my face after I wash it off and it didn't feel like it took my sunscreen off . Will definitely continue to use as part of a double cleanse!

Cool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
πŸ’ΈBought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

If there is one thing I have more or less under control, it is my skincare routine. After quite a few years of experimentation, I have finally figured out how to not make my face break out much, or at least experience anything more than redness. It probably helped that I cut back on less healthy food, but finding the right combination of cleanser, face lotion, and sunscreen has seemed to also do the trick. So I am now a bit weary to change up anything with my skincare routine. However, this product seemed interesting enough I had to try it. I liked knowing that it was designed by board-certified dermatologists and chemists, and I love the thought of having velvety soft skin. When I opened up the package, I do recall a faint dusting of white powder all over the bottle. This was easily wiped off but it was a bit strange. Unfortunately, I cannot locate the picture I took of the bottle when I first opened it. I have been using the product for over a week now, and while I can't totally tell if my skin has improved, I am very glad I have not started breaking out. That means that their claim that the product is formulated for sensitive skin is true. I do use this in the shower in the morning, which I know is not recommended since shower water can get really hot, but I am too lazy to wash my skin outside of when I'm showering in the morning! I do make sure to turn the water temperature down while rinsing off this cleanser. I was a bit weary of using this daily at first, as this felt almost like a mask, which I believe you should only do once or twice a week. But, I can tell that it is not quite as thick as other masks I have used, so I continue to use it once a day. The brand also recommends having it on for 30 - 60 seconds and then washing it off. If I am showering and doing a lot quickly, that is actually a pretty short time period if I start washing another part of my body! Thankfully I have not really seen any adverse side effects from keeping it on a little longer. I also like how they recommend that you put some cleanser on your neck. That's not something I have ever really done before, but I have started doing it now. Overall I do feel like my skin is getting adequately cleaned and it is not breaking me out, so I am happy with this product. However, I got this product at a steep discount thanks to the Thingdrop program. I read some of the other reviews and a common complaint was the price. And looking at the website, I totally agree. This is definitely out of my price range for a cleanser. If I had not received one of these as a Thingdrop, this is not something I could consider purchasing unless a close friend of mine really recommended it.

Feedback

As is a common theme, I agree the price should definitely be lowered. Perhaps offer a sample size so new customers can try out the cleanser before committing to a big bottle.

High qualityCool look & feelEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
Useful review?
4 months ago
πŸ’ΈBought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Wonderful! Very light scent, not irritating or overbearing. Super nice feel on the face, not drying at all. Just enough grit to give some exfoliation without too much. And the packaging's lovely. Highly recommend!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelLuxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
πŸ’ΈBought a product using a Thingdrop discount

Experience

Very luscious and rich cream-type cleanser that felt more like a mask than a cleanser. Adored the packaging and the whole unboxing experience felt very high quality, which is expected for the price. The ingredient list felt substantial though completely unsure of efficacy regarding it's 'plumping' and 'hydrating' claims. Though my skin didn't feel like it was stripping nor did my skin feel tight with other cleaners. Overall, would use in tandem with other cleansers, opting for Motif every other day as a cleansing mask.

Feedback

Glad I stumbled upon the product! Unsure if I would repurchase at the moment, but time will tell.

High qualityLuxury
Useful review?