Biom

4.4 55 Reviews

biom makes plant-based and biodegradable multi-purpose cleaning wipes.

Biom Reviews

Biom reviews

4.36

87% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

55 reviews

2 years ago

I absolutely love the packaging, it looks great on the counter & is really functional... will use for all my wipes forever.... but the biom wipes didn't work the best for me. They're durable but not super saturated so I found myself having to use a few at a time. The scent is great and I appreciate the companies vision, but will probably just stick with the container!

Feedback

I'd definitely grab the container (ps they have it at The Container Store) and you can grab the wipes with it, or take any wipes out of their plastic container and simply place into the biom container!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I really liked the unboxing for Biom, it was really clean and streamlined even though the box was bigger than I expected. The design of the container is nice and I liked the quantity of wipes. My main issue with Biom is that I kept ripping the wipes when pulling them through the dispensing slot. The wipes weren't sturdy enough to make it through without ripping. I love the concept of Biom I just would not repurchase if the wipes weren't fixed because I ended up opening the container to get the wipes versus using the dispensing slot.

Feedback

Make the wipes sturdier! Also can we compost the wipes?

2 years ago

I purchased the wipes on a thingdrop promotion. I love everything about the design and overall concept of the product. However, when it came to actually cleaning multi-surface areas in my home I did not find it as effective as some the more traditional brands on the market. I also found that they dried out fairly fast even when I kept the top closed and followed instructions.

Feedback

I would maybe develop a stronger product solution against taking multi-surfaces. I would also maybe thing about what to do with customers who do not like it and now have a dispensing bottle and will not buy refills. Could there be a return of the bottle so it could be repurposed in some way? For a companies mission to have a low impact on the environment, maybe think how the waste stream of the product and its packaging can be more circular?

2 years ago

They make wipes look and feel cool! And smell so delicious and natural. I really appreciate the thoughtfulness in the design and taking a household item like this into a whole new direction. This would be a great housewarming gift for any friend/family.

Feedback

Like others have noted, there are a few functionality issues. Wipes not being wet enough. I've even had issues getting the lid on/off to reload. This seems like the sort of company to take note of the feedback, though, so I expect them to make some changes in the future!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love the look of this container on my counter. It’s the same matte black as my expensive water kettle so it doesn’t look ugly or out of place on the counter! The bergamot wipes I picked also smell great and do a good job of cleaning up messes and don’t leave any residue behind. I really appreciated the personal touch from the company’s founder who sent a personalized video to me talking about the company and the best way to use the canister. Unfortunately the pull method they recommended doesn’t work very well and the wipes kept ripping when I tried to pull them out (both the way they recommend and the way they don’t) and the top one dries out pretty quickly when sticking out of the hole so I’ve just resigned myself to taking the whole lid off whenever I need a wipe.

Feedback

They would truly be 5/5 if the wipes were stronger or the “pull hole” was weaker, also the wipes could be a little more moist so they don’t dry out so fast.

a year ago

One of my favorite Thingdrop finds! Can't think of a single con. Price point is comparable to traditional cleaning wipes. The canister not only reduces plastic pollution, but has a simple, pleasant design that I don't mind having out in home/apartment decor. Smell of the wipes isn't harsh or chemical-forward. I'm enrolled in one of their wipe subscriptions, making ordering hassle-free. Obsessed!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I was trying to cut back on paper towel usage and find a cleaner/cleaning wipe that wasn't so harsh. I happened to catch Biom on a Thingdrop and was pretty excited for the product. Having those ugly plastic satchels laying around our house was hurting my OCD soul. Naturally I loved the Biom canister and the fact that these bad boys are biodegradable. I keep them with our home workout equipment and it's been a great product to clean the ole Peloton with. If you consider that a pack of Clorex wipes is about $6, Biom's products are a no brainer given that they smell wayyy better and are environmentally friendly 🌲☮️✌🏼

Feedback

Loading the wipes was tricky at first. Probably user error but I found there to be quite a bit of resistance when pulling wipes from the canister. I wish there were different time horizons for the subscription (e.g., every 3-4 months), at least it doesn't come across that way on the All-Purpose Cleaning Wipes product page.

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Like the idea of the product and the container looks cool. In practice however, it was hard for me to load properly with the wipes, which also weren’t easy to pull out and dispense. Wipes dried out as well during those challenges.

Feedback

Preloaded containers or more obvious instructions on how to use would help.

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

My household is not a Clorox wipe household, but I picked Biom up during a Thingdrop because I was interested in the convenience of a wipe without the obnoxious packaging or bad chemicals. On those two fronts, Biom delivers! It is a chic, Wall-E style container that sits comfortably and pleasantly on my kitchen counter. I appreciated getting 2 sets of wipes in the package and the box, while huge, is beautiful and will make a great care package box!

Feedback

As others have mentioned, the wipes lack enough moisture to wipe down an entire kitchen or bathroom, so I still feel like I am wasting it! UPDATE: what it lacks in moisture, it has in durability; even though it wont wipe away a grease spot with ease, it WILL remain untorn throughout

2 years ago

Such a beautiful container!!! The wipes work great, smell good, and are surprisingly sturdy for how biodegradable they are. High price point, but love the concept of refillable wipes because those Clorox containers are large.

2 years ago

I love that I can leave my cleaning wipes on the counter now and not worry about them being unsightly! They work well, smell good, and don’t leave me worried about chemicals.

Feedback

It’s a little hard to open at first, but once you get the hang of it it’s not an issue. Good instructions are included.

2 years ago

This is an impressive plant-based product! From the personalized video from the creator to the quality of the product, I am sold on these wipes. When I first looked at the container I thought it was going to be very flimsy, but it is very sturdy and the wipes are durable as well. Their smell is refreshing and clean.

Feedback

It truly is a great product all around! Maybe the packaging could be downsized a bit.

2 years ago

I love the idea of this product and love the simplicity of the bottle shape.

Feedback

I do wish the bottle was a little more user friendly and that the wipes had more moisture to them. Wasn’t sure if I got a dud pack but it looks like others have found the same thing to be true 🥲

2 years ago

I am thrilled that I discovered Biom and got to try it through Thingtesting! A lot of thought went into this product, which is evident from when you press "send to order"...I received a thoughtful video email from the brand founder and nuggets of wisdom regarding the brand's purpose and mission while awaiting the product's arrival. I love a good unboxing experience, and Biom didn't disappoint. The experience was pleasant! One could say that the shipper is a bit large and wasteful, but it's made from cardboard and molded fiber pulp, and all of it is recyclable. Again, you can tell that a lot of thought went into the design of the container. All boxes are checked in terms of durability, functionality, and it's aesthetically pleasing :) Nice to keep on the countertop vs. a plastic mass brand container. The container kind of looks like a bluetooth speaker! All in all, I like what Biom is doing :) Side note: Although it's not a toothbrush, Biom reminds me of Quip!

Feedback

The wipes are pretty good. I like the formulation, but they're not wet enough. When the wipe hits the object I am trying to wipe down; it's almost dry :/. I've checked the seals of the container for air leaks, and all is good on that front- I think the alcohol rapidly evaporates.

2 years ago

First of all, I love the concept of sanitizing alcohol wipes that are plant-based and biodegradable. I constantly use wipes, so it's nice to know I'm reducing my environmental impact by using ones that can be compostable. After I placed the order, I received a nice video from the founder which was a nice touch. Sometimes it's the little things that make the biggest impact. It also came in a cute, plastic-free box with easy-to-follow instructions. I also really appreciate the transparency on the website.

Feedback

The shipping was a little slow...but given we are still in a pandemic, I shouldn't complain about that. Will definitely buy this product again.

7 months ago

The wipes are smaller than clorax however they work so well!! I've tried method, seventh generation and they get messes ok but these do a fantastic job! I do find they run a little dry and I have to add a little water to keep them moist.

a year ago

I really love these! I got the disinfectant wipes after I had covid and pretty much cleaned my whole house with them. Love that the container is reusable and the wipes themselves are compostable. Sometimes the wipes seem a little dry, but I’ll add some extra water and they still get the job done.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I recently purchased the Biom Hand Wipes and Dispenser for my home, and I have to admit, my experience with the product has been rather underwhelming. While the hand wipes and dispenser serve their intended purpose, there wasn't anything particularly noteworthy about them that would set them apart from other similar products on the market.

2 years ago

Love the sustainability angle, product design, and quality. Looks great on a countertop.

Feedback

The wipes just aren't that effective for most dirt and stains that show up in a kitchen.

2 years ago

I didn’t think I could love a cleaning product so much but I do? The packaging is so modern and sleek looking that I don’t mind at all keeping this on my counter. It’s so handy for quickly cleaning my phone or other objects that carry a ton of bacteria and I bring into my home. Love that the vessel is reusable and not a giant plastic container. The scent is super soft and pleasant - no alcohol smell and it doesn’t feel like a harsh cleaning product.

Feedback

Could be cool to have a suction cup on the bottom so I can stick it to my counter and not need to use two hands to get a wipe out.