Paro

4.3 85 Reviews

Paro makes easy-to-cook South Asian pantry staples.

Best of Thingtesting
Paro Reviews

Paro reviews

Best of Thingtesting4.29

Best of Thingtesting #6 in Pantry

76% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Beautiful presentation and branding
  • Easy to cook and prepare
  • Flavorful and delicious meals
  • Offers unique international cuisine
  • Possibly bland flavor
  • Requires additional seasonings
  • High price point
  • Confusing cooking instructions

Paro provides a convenient, easy to make and nutritious meal. Users enjoy its beautiful packaging and flavorful dishes, especially the Kitchari. However, some users found the flavor to be bland and needed additional seasonings. There were also concerns about the relatively high price for the quantity provided.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

85 reviews

All85Kitchari24Masoor Daal4Tarka2

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Ordered the Kichari Paro product from Thingdrop and was super excited to receive and cook. It came quickly in the mail with adorable packaging that even included free seeds as that's part of their charm, storytelling, and culture sharing. This particular flavor was a tad bitter, but it was tasty and I would purchase and pair it with meals again. The portion was also fairly large and lasted for about 4-5 meal side dishes. Great all around product!

Kitchari

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

Park’s kitchari was very tasty itself and had a great flavor, but the candied fennel seeds that come with every order really amazed me.

Kitchari

5 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I tried the Kitchari and found it super easy to make. However I found it a bit flavorless and ended up frying up garlic chip, adding a chili crisp and chives to add complexity. I’d try their other products however since it really was easy to use

Kitchari

5 months ago

I love the story behind the brand and the fact that they use simple, nourishing ingredients. I tried the "kitchari", which I unfortunately found to be super bland.

Kitchari

3 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I has the kitchari and it was good! The design of the box is bright and eye catching, which I liked. I was surprised at how small the box is though, and I was worried it wouldn't make very much... But then I was surprised again after cooking because it made more than I was expecting! As a single person who ate this as a side, I feel like I'll get more than the 2.5 serving size listed, so I'm happy about that. Another thing I liked was the taste! While it had quite a variety of flavors, it felt well balanced and nicely seasoned. Something I think could be improved are the instructions. It starts out simple enough but between 3 and 4, I got confused. 3 says to stir often until tender, then 4 says to let it sit and thicken... But do I keep the heat on or off? Do I keep it on the stove with the heat off or do I take it completely off the heat? I'm a somewhat beginner cook and this was my first time cooking something like this so I personally could have used more instruction here. Step 4 continues on to say the consistency should be similar to risotto, but as someone who has also never had rissoto, I didn't know what I was looking for and was just confused. I ended up turning off the heat and letting it sit for a while, which seemed fine. It did thicken up but still had a little liquid left, which I don't know if is right or not but it still tasted good in the end. I think this is minor as it still worked out and tastes good. Overall, I think I would buy this if I saw it a store. It was convenient and easy to prepare and tasted great. The box also lists some benefits of mung beans, which is great! I love learning little things like from packaging, and it makes me feel even better about eating it.

Kitchari

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I loved the packaging, and I loved that my box of kitchari came with an adorable tin of candied fennel seeds. However, I did not find the kitchari to be super-flavorful. And--this is just my bias--I didn't love the texture. It was easy to make, and I'd be willing to try the masoor daal. It just wasn't my favorite.

Kitchari

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I have been on a big Ayurvedic kick lately after taking a course to learn more about the different practices and incorporating them into my routine. I have been eating Kitchari and mung beans for a few months now so I was excited to try this all-in-one kit. I took advantage of the Thingtesting offer to try Paro for free! The branding and the mission statement are very beautiful and I love how easy everything was. When I first opened the box, the serving seemed small but after cooking it, it fluffed up quite a bit. I'd say you could get two servings in one box. Since I have been eating Kitchari for months, I knew what to expect, but I found this mixture to be a bit bland. I had leftover Kitchari spice and ended up adding more spice to the dish and it tasted a lot better.

Kitchari

6 months ago

Received a free product from Paro

So helpful when you want a quick lunch with minimal effort! Tried the Kitchari... easy to cook and super tasty as a meal or a side dish. All you need is boiled water in a pot and it is 10/10 perfection. You can also customize to how hard/soft you prefer to eat your rice. Would definitely repurchase.

Kitchari

4 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I enjoyed the texture and flavor of this dish. I have to say, it could pack a more flavorful punch, but what’s in the box was still comforting and tasty! One issue I have is the price. My is it expensive, and $5 shipping that wasn’t reimbursable by this “free”’deal? Gotta say I feel a bit misled. Still, a tasty addition to my dinner. I’d consider purchasing again at a more reasonable price point.

Kitchari