Human Essentials

4.2437 Reviews

Human Essentials makes a zero-waste deodorant featuring biodegradable packaging and natural ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.2
Average rating from 37 users
86%
Recommend it to a friend

Human Essentials Reviews

10 days ago
Experience

I tried out three of the scents and each was great. It seemed to work pretty well for natural deodorant!

Feedback

I liked it overall but to be honest I don’t know if I can ever fully use a natural deo. I haven’t found one that actually fully works 100%

Innovative productTravel friendly ✈️Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?
18 days ago
Experience

I love the concept and mission behind this deodorant but sadly I didn't love the product itself. Leaves a white residue on clothing and while the scent was strong, it didn't seem to last too long or mask any natural bo.

Eco-friendly packaging
Useful review?
18 days ago
Experience

I got the Neroli Pink Peppercorn & Bergamot scent - it's definitely really strong, and probably a love it or hate it type of fragrance. The scent when applying is really strong, but I can't say that I notice it throughout the day. The feeling is a little creamy/sticky compared to other big brand deodorants like Dove sticks. Packaging is so fun with the paper strips, but I found at the bottom 2 strips, the entire thing became somewhat unstable and kept popping out of the holder. I wasn't too bothered as I had used the deodorant for over half a year at that point, but thought it was worth noting here since I felt like the product was wasted as I threw the item out at that point instead of fussing with it every morning.

Useful review?
25 days ago
Experience

Actually smells great. Would buy again.

Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I truly love these deodorants - I have very sensitive armpits, but these have given me no issues whatsoever, and the get the job done. I've tried both the "Neroli, Pink Peppercorn, and Bergamot" and "Desert Lime, Mandarin, and Vanilla" scents and loved both. I was actually hesitant about the mandarin one at first, but it ended up being my favorite - it smells like a creamsicle!

Feedback

While I love the fact that these are biodegradable, I do think the packaging could use some tweaking. I don't love getting deodorant on my hands while peeling off the layers, and sometimes the inner paper liner gets stuck which causes issues with application. I also find that I go through these quicker than typical deodorants, and at the price point, it's definitely a splurge - but arguably worth it!

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I really enjoyed the scent of this deodorant, but I did not like the way you had to peel off strips of cardboard to get to the next level down of the stick to use more product. Once I got to the 3rd strip from the bottom, the rest of the deodorant stick broke away from the base as it wasn’t secured tightly enough. I kept trying to put it back into the base, but it was so annoying to try to apply that I ended up throwing the whole thing away.

Feedback

Packaging needs improvement. Product separates from the base rendering the stick unusable

Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

OMG I love this stuff - I bought the one in the pink packaging and the scent is unlike any other deodorant I've purchased - it legit smells like perfume. I love the sustainability aspect of this brand as well.

Feedback

I wish that it lasted a bit longer w/ odor and sweat protection and didn't go on so cakey - it sometimes leaves a white film on my clothing.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
3 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

Love this deodorant! I enjoy the eco-friendly aspect and the unique scents that they have. I've tried the Guava, Sea Salt, and Coconut and the Neroli, Pink Peppercorn, and Bergamot and really like both and found them to be long-lasting. The customer service was also great and very quick to respond when there was an issue with my order.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityCool look & feelSmells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Human Essentials has a very cool concept for the packaging of this deodorant. I got the Desert Lime, Mandarin, and Vanilla scent, which smells great! Kind of like a creamsicle. I like that there's no plastic and the way you "raise" the deodorant as it is used is by pulling off the strips to expose the stick. It has a nice texture that goes on well but can come off in clumps (easily smoothed). I haven't noticed any streaking on clothing which is nice, but like many more natural deodorants the smell doesn't last over the course of the work day. I notice that by the afternoon I do need to reapply. Since there's no mechanism attached to the stick, I do notice that when I pull off the lid, the stick gets pulled out of the container a bit, but it is easily pushed back down. It does get soft in the heat, but I haven't noticed any melting in the packaging.

Cool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Smells amazingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

LOVE the smell, and of course the packaging is bubbly, and visually striking. The smell is like being at a spa, love it especially before yoga.

Feedback

The texture itself leaves a little bit to be desired (personal preference) - a bit tacky/soft so I feel the need to 'rub' it in after use.

Innovative productEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?