Human Essentials

4.3126 Reviews

Human Essentials makes a zero-waste deodorant featuring biodegradable packaging and natural ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.3
Average rating from 26 users
88%
Would recommend it to a friend

Human Essentials Reviews

Experience

Human Essentials has a very cool concept for the packaging of this deodorant. I got the Desert Lime, Mandarin, and Vanilla scent, which smells great! Kind of like a creamsicle. I like that there's no plastic and the way you "raise" the deodorant as it is used is by pulling off the strips to expose the stick. It has a nice texture that goes on well but can come off in clumps (easily smoothed). I haven't noticed any streaking on clothing which is nice, but like many more natural deodorants the smell doesn't last over the course of the work day. I notice that by the afternoon I do need to reapply. Since there's no mechanism attached to the stick, I do notice that when I pull off the lid, the stick gets pulled out of the container a bit, but it is easily pushed back down. It does get soft in the heat, but I haven't noticed any melting in the packaging.

Cool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Smells amazingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
2 days ago
Experience

I've tried two scents so far and they are pleasant, leave no irritation, and scents lasts long. Love the packaging and the unboxing experience. Feels premium, but still keeps in mind the sustainability roots of the brand. The unraveling concept is a nice touch and a good solution to other push pop-like alternatives. Texture can be a little too soft, especially with NY's hot summers, I can easily put more than I'm wanting to.

Feedback

Firmer texture, more scents!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelSmells amazingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
17 days ago
Experience

I purchased the Coconut Guava & Sea Salt and the Desert Lime Mandarin & Vanilla Flower scents through a Thingdrop. I love the scents, truly I think they're some of the best smelling deodorants on the market. I like the packaging and that I don't have to shove the bottom to get the product out. The peeling of the layers is a super great concept and I love that it's compostable. Overall, with the lack of antiperspirant in the product I don't feel like it worked as well for me as other deodorants, but because of the lack of typical antiperspirant ingredients I didn't really go into it thinking it would work perfectly. On a day where I'm just walking around with the dog or hanging on the couch, this product is great. I definitely wouldn't wear it to the gym though!

Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
18 days ago
Experience

I love the orange one and I love that it's compostable and already purchased again.

Feedback

So....it did melt. The whole thing turned into a squished mess. I ended up composting the tube and putting the deodorant into a lil jar. Also shipping costs are kind of wild.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
25 days ago
Experience

Love the packaging! It's so unique and the smell is great. I was super impressed as I've never tried a natural deodorant that works this well. Definitely recommend.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Smells amazingAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
a month ago
Experience

I got to purchase Human Essentials through a Thingdrop! I love the smells and the packaging is cute & makes it easy to spot in the depths of my gym bag. The deodorant itself takes a little while to dry out, but leaves less of a white cast compared to other natural deodorants. The compostable packaging is a big plus but I have not been home any of the times I had to peel the deodorant so ended up having to trash the pieces instead of effectively compost it; the little strips become grimy quickly.

Feedback

It is expensive deodorant. For something that is used daily, it is on the pricier end of natural deodorants. I am glad I could buy it through Thingdrop but I am unlikely to purchase it when other brands are almost ~$3 cheaper and also offer bundle discounts for multiple tubes.

Smells amazingEco-friendly packaging
a month ago
Experience

Loved everything about this deodorant except it’s lack of antiperspirant. I swear a lot so need something with antiperspirant.

Innovative productCool look & feelEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
a month ago
Experience

First of all, I LOVE the packaging! It is so fun, and economical, to unwrap the deodorant as needed. I love the smell and how fresh I feel after using it. Such an innovative product that other companies can learn from. I hope that they will be in stores soon.

Feedback

I would love to see more scents available. The price seems very high and not consumer friendly, I would not pay the full amount for this product.

Innovative productTravel friendly ✈️Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Karen J's review of Human Essentials
a month ago
Experience

Brilliant packaging and a delicious scent make this a great, all-natural alternative to BO!

Feedback

Maybe make it a bit more solid... it gets a bit soft in the summer!

High qualityInnovative productEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
a month ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

It's hard to find a natural deodorant that works well and smells great and Human Essentials has done it! I love knowing that everything is biodegradable and I am doing my part to save the planet. The first couple of days I had some pain in my armpits but it subsided (there was no visual rash so idk what was happening lol)

Feedback

The price is a bit high for how quickly I went through it - I'd love to see discounted bundles of three to make the price more manageable and to save on shipping emissions, costs, etc.

Cool look & feelSmells amazingLove the brand's mission 💕
a month ago