Gainful

4.1 22 Reviews

Gainful sells and delivers personalized protein powder catered to people's goals and mindsets.

Gainful Reviews

Gainful reviews

4.14

75% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

22 reviews

All22Tropical Mango Hydration Drink Mix 2

3 months ago

Received a free product from Gainful

I really love the brand's hydration mix because it has only good ingredients in it, has low sugar, and tastes good. I really like this Tropical Mango flavor, but I would love to try something else. The price is a little steep, but it's better than some other hydration options. I also appreciate that this comes in paperboard as a container as opposed to plastic.

Tropical Mango Hydration Drink Mix

3 months ago

Received a free product from Gainful

I loved the flavor packets. Got me through my workout and is also great for hydration after. Tastes great and dissolves easily

Tropical Mango Hydration Drink Mix

5 months ago

This protein powder is fine. I don't have any serious complaints, nor do I find it to be noticeably preferable to any other protein powders I have tried. The flavor is fine, and I do appreciate having the individual flavor packs rather than committing to a full bag of a single flavor. But I do think the price is high, and I also don't like that there is no notification that the subscription is renewing before it sends. My other subscriptions send an update prior to the order processing so I can skip, but Gainful only sends a confirmation once the order has already processed and so I am locked in for the month even if I have product leftover. **editing to note that Gainful has followed up with me to note that I should have been receiving updates about my order before processing. this hasn't yet been resolved for my account, but others shouldn't have the same experience with the emails. (I reached out on their site as well about the subscription update emails.)

a year ago

As a vegetarian, I often look for protein powder options. My friend suggested I try Gainful and I really like it. The powders are customizable and they have vegan options. The protein powder itself has no flavor so it can be added to into anything you want to eat or drink. However, if you want a (sugarless) but sweet protein shake, you can add one of Gainful's flavor packs. My favorites are the cookies and cream, strawberry, cinnamon, and chocolate peanut butter options. The online subscription management is also easy to use.

9 months ago

I love the concept of personalizing protein powder, and the flavor packets were all fantastic. However, when I tried gainful it was when I was a D1 athlete, and I noticed no difference in any of the goals I was aiming for. I guess if you like protein powder, the flavors are great, if you really want to meet goals, I am not sure this does anything different from any protein powder on the market.

9 months ago

Really solid brand, though it feels like it started changing recently. I used to be all in on the seemingly customized blends but the protein mixes stared to seem a bit more generic (since multiple friends ended up with the exact same “blend” while having very different goals). The protein tastes great and I love the idea of the flavor boosts to change up the taste from day to day. Moved on to a new powder for different macros but this is still a solid choice.

a year ago

I really, really like the customization aspect of the protein! I wish there were more brands that did this. The ingredients are simple too, which is a plus. However, as someone who likes to use protein powder in many things, I need the taste to be good and I didn't love this one. It was a bit chalky for me personally. That being said, I only tried the plain plant protein & the chocolate flavor so maybe other flavors are better.

3 years ago

Simple easy protein that's made for my needs. I was looking for the right DTC protein to add to my DTC collection and this did the job just right. I didn't care for the flavor packets, I wish it was just blended into the overall mix since it was a bit inconvenient. Just to note, I switched to Ritual's Protein and have cancelled my subscription to Gainful since. I think it's better quality, more convent, and just looks pretty next to my Ritual Vitamins.

Feedback

Make all-in-one vs separate flavor packets.

6 months ago

As far as protein powders go, this is probably my favorite. I like that it's customizable and that it doesn't make me feel bloated afterward. The subscription model is great, but I generally don't need another pack of it every month, so I can skip a month.

2 years ago

I liked the personalized experience of it, and I appreciate that they offered both a caffeinated and caffeine-free version of their pre-workout.

Feedback

It's a little pricey!