Bite

4.0332 Reviews

Bite makes plastic-free personal and oral care products.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4
Average rating from 32 users
83%
Would recommend it to a friend

Bite Reviews

Experience

I liked these but sometimes the flavor was a bit off

5 days ago
Experience

I adore bite for traveling, I usually make sure I restock before any trips as they make packing much easier and there's no fussing with those tiny toothpaste tubes. It takes some getting used to once you make the switch to the tablets, as they do not foam and froth like a standard toothpaste, and when you spit, it's usually a slightly off-putting off-white color. I am fine with this since this is a natural product with no dyes, but it is a jump from the normal squeaky clean feeling of your crests and colgates. This applies to both the mouthwash and toothpaste.

Feedback

The mouthwash tabs seem to deteriorate quickly in the container and leave a powdery dust, not sure what causes that but they look odd in the container over time.

Cool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
6 days ago
Experience

I have been using Bite for about 3 months now and I don't think I will ever switch back to traditional toothpaste. I use the fluoride-free bits with nHap (nano hydroxy apatite) which is a proven remineralizing agent. I have almost always had issues with cavities or soft spots when going to the dentist, but ever since using Bite, I haven't had any. These bits don't foam as much as regular toothpaste but I don't mind since my teeth still feel very clean afterwards. I also don't have any more guilt about throwing away toothpaste tubes that can't be recycled every couple of months! These are also super travel friendly and I can throw the bits in my carry-on, and brought them camping with me with no issues.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Travel friendly ✈️Amazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
7 days ago
Experience

I’ve been using the toothpaste bits and I always feel like I’m probably not getting the greatest clean but I guess we shall see what the dentist thinks.

Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
19 days ago
Experience

It was great! The texture is kinda like a thicker Smartie - its like a tad chalky and breaks apart the same way but then once you start brushing it froths right up like regular toothpaste. Left my mouth tasting minty too.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
Experience

I love it! I thought I might hate the feeling of chewing the bit down, but I don’t mind it actually and I’m very happy to be cutting down on waste with the glass bottle and metal top. I’m especially impressed with their use of hydroxyapatite. That’s the only active ingredient I want to use after learning about it. Sometimes what’s best/most effective for my health and what is sustainable two things don’t mix, so I was really glad to find a company who could do both.

Feedback

They definitely should advertise the hydroxyapatite more! It’s not super evident initially.

Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Eco-friendly packaging
5 months ago
Experience

Everything about Bite toothpaste felt more or less the same as the regular deal – foaminess was equal, but mintiness was even greater. I went to dinner after trying these and couldn't shut up about how fresh and clean my teeth & mouth felt. Depending on my mood (and what I ate that day), I'll use two tablets. Adds some novelty to brushing your teeth and more importantly, makes you feel good about not needing to throw away tubes of toothpaste. Never thought about how easily that could be prevented! Considering trying the whitening and mouth wash too...

High qualityCool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
5 months ago
Experience

They get the job done. I only have the original charcoal toothpaste bits, but I've loyally used them for a few years now. It's nice knowing I haven't thrown out a plastic toothpaste tube in years, and I really like the charcoal mint clean.

Feedback

Honestly, not much differentiation. Feels like Quip could strut in, copy the product, and that would be that.

Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
6 months ago
Experience

It kills me to not be able to rate Bite higher, because I firmly believe the sector they’re trying to make more eco-friendly desperately needs it. From a packaging / waste perspective Bite is a five-star experience and the real deal. The packing is aesthetic and eco-friendly. I tried the floss and the mouthwash bites - the floss took some getting used to because it shreds way more than typical floss does, but once I learned the right tension, I actually liked it way better than normal floss because I felt like it cleaned more effectively (better friction). It’s little glass bottle is also adorable. The mouthwash bites have a nice taste and are super convenient for travel, but they need some work still (see below). Overall, I wasn’t sold enough to rebuy anything.

Feedback

The mouthwash bites are sold with a little metal container for throwing a few in your purse - great idea but useless in reality. If you live anywhere even remotely humid, the metal container will fail to protect the bites from moisture and once these get wet, they’re gross. Similarly, if any moisture gets in to the little jar of bites, this spider-web consistency substance takes over the jar (the first time this happened I screamed! 😫). Considering these products are stored in a bathroom where steam is normal, it feels unrealistic to not be able to expose them to any water. Finally, the cancellation process for subscription was a true nightmare. You can’t cancel easily via email, on mobile, or through a browser, you have to live chat someone from their team to cancel for you. Because of this, I actually lost an entire shipment of product because it was sent to an old address before I could successfully touch base with someone to update account info or cancel.

Difficult returnsEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
6 months ago
Experience

Love the concept and branding, but it's very different than standard toothpaste. Would still highly recommend!

Good for gifts 🎁Fun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️Love the brand's mission 💕
a year ago