Crown Affair

4.7827 Reviews

Crown Affair makes high-quality hair care products from clean ingredients and effective formulations.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.8
Average rating from 27 users
100%
Recommend it to a friend

Crown Affair Reviews

3 months ago
Experience

I absolutely love the aesthetic and founder of the company! I originally purchased the set that came with the hairbrush, hair towel, and hair oil. I use the hairbrush every single day and it has become my ride or dye hairbrush even though I never thought I would convert to a boar bristle brush, I think it helps that it's a dual bristle brush having both boar-bristle and nylon bristles! I also am obsessed with the hair towel and find that it dries my hair super nicely without tugging/pulling on it. The hair oil smells divine, but definitely is not my go-to or a staple, but maybe I need to retry!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Luxury
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

my hair absolutely LOVES this shampoo and conditioner – especially a double shampoo as instructed on the bottle. it helps my waves clump better and doesn’t strip my highlights, what more can you ask for?

Feedback

n/a

High qualityWorth the money 💸Luxury
Useful review?
3 months ago
💰Invested in Crown Affair
Experience

my favorite hair brand of all time. restored hair from years of damage.

Feedback

n/a

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

Their bristle brush is fantastic, it has made a big difference in my hair health and is super sturdy. I really recommend getting their brush cleaning brush because it makes it way easier to clean the brush. I also use their silk scrunchies daily and they're the perfect size (not too big and not too small).

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityAmazing website
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

Have swapped out all my other hair products for exclusively Crown Affair items. The shampoo and conditioner changed my air dry more than anything else in their product portfolio. I buy in bulk (take all my money) to make sure I don't go a wash day without them. I got the air dry towel as a gift with purchase and love that, too. My hair has never felt healthier. Or smelled better.

Feedback

Definitely pricey. So far, the results prove to be wroth it. I didn't feel as much of a difference with the Leave-In or Hair Oil as I did with the shampoo, conditioner, and towel.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
9 months ago
💼Works for Crown Affair
Experience

These products have truly transformed my hair. My hair before Crown Affair: so puffy and dry, needed chemical smoothing treatments just to keep it manageable. My hair after Crown Affair: so long, silky-soft, smooth. Even better, all the products are so luxurious it really makes me love taking care of my hair. And THE SCENT is truly to die for. And, The Towel and The Dry Shampoo are truly innovative.

Lovely customer supportInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

The brush!!! So amazing. Literal game changer for my hair. I have never used this kind of brush before and it makes my hair so so soft, I guess by redistributing the oils, and therefore it also really smoothes any frizzies out too. I will say that it kind of molds/styles my hair in that I can’t really run my fingers through it after easily, it kind of holds its shape (not sure how to describe this). I have fine yet thick hair that is very long and fairly straight. Since I loved the crown affair brush so much I did purchase a mini brush by a legacy maker of these bristle brushes to keep in my bag and there is a notable difference in the bristle quality and the other brush doesn’t tend to mold my hair, but I honestly like them both equally.

Feedback

Bristles get pretty gross and dusty pretty fast. I purchased a brush for my brush to help with that

Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
Josie F's review of Crown Affair
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

I am obsessed!!!! CA products are exactly what I was searching for with my hair care. I use the Ritual Shampoo & Conditioner, the Oil, and The Comp No. 002 every day. I have short, straight hair that easily gets oily so I've never found an oil I've actually enjoyed until CA. The products all smell so refreshing - The Oil is the cherry on top to a great shower. The branding and founder's story is genuine and relatable, and I really enjoy following along CA's journey on its Instagram.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Smells amazing
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

I love every product I have tried from crown affair and will keep buying their stuff for as long as the brand exists. The renewal mask and hair oil are nourishing and make my very long hair feel like silk threads without making it look or feel oily. The only negative thing I can say is that the brush used to have silver writing on the handle that said Crown Affair and it was rapidly rubbed off when I would use the brush while I still had a little hair oil on my hands. If they could seal the writing with something to better protect it then the products would be perfect. Also, the renewal mask smells incredible. If the brand ever makes a perfume in that scent I’ll be first in line to get it!

Feedback

For ethical reasons I would love to see the brand make a faux boar bristle brush. I use the brush 002 with wooden pins and it does a great job of detangling and is easy to clean but it doesn’t smooth the hair down the same way boar and vegan boar bristles do.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Smells amazingLuxury
Sierra S's review of Crown Affair
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I got The Brush No. 001, Comb No. 002, and Scrunchie No. 001. I like that Crown Affair is a smaller brand and I appreciate that they have a fairly small selection of products. I'm trying to take better care of my hair and I've noticed a significant reduction in split ends ever since I started my new routine with the comb and brush (comb only when wet, brush once dry). To be honest, I don't love the brush. It makes my hair really frizzy (which it's normally not at all) and it smells SUPER weird if it ever gets wet. I avoid using it for the most part now since I don't like the way my hair looks after using it. The paint has also started to chip and the logo embossing has completely faded away, which is disappointing for how expensive it is. The scrunchies are great and last fairly long! I'm excited to try the hair oil and towel sometime soon.

Feedback

More colors in the scrunchies! The brush also does collect a lot of dust and is difficult to clean. I don't really want to have to buy a separate cleaning brush for an already expensive brush.

Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Cristina A's review of Crown Affair
Useful review?