Act+Acre

3.86 • 21 Reviews

Act + Acre creates clean, plant-based hair care products using the cold process method.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.9
Average rating from 21 users
65%
Would recommend it to a friend

Act+Acre Reviews

3 days ago
Experience

I was recommended this brand because of my already thinning hair. I got the shampoo and conditioner. I was hoping it would really do something for me, but unfortunately it didn't really make a difference. I used it for 1.5 years and I've decided to part ways with it. I'm open to trying the scalp treatment but other than that, I don't see myself revisiting the brand anytime soon.

Feedback

The shampoo really lacks the lather where I feel like I'm giving my hair a good wash so I end up using more than I probably need.

Sustainable products
Useful review?
20 days ago
Experience

I got the cold pressed hair care kit + scalp detox and scalp renew products. I still have the two scalp products (which are nice but I have other scalp products I like more), and had to giveaway the shampoo and conditioner. It left my hair feeling so greasy and crunchy and not clean and hydrated. The brand says there's a transition period for hair to go to "clean" products, but I was already using very clean ingredients and shampoo and conditioner bars. Context for hair type: asian woman, medium thick hair (not super thick), and naturally wavy. Pretty bummed to have spent the money and to have had a bad experience with the products, but some people say it really works for them.

Feedback

I think the brand name has more hype than the products and it's pretty overpriced. Save your money and use products that you know work for you.

Has no effect 🤷
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Loved the brand. Worked well. Would use again.

Feedback

Could be cheaper.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Nice smell, feels clean.

High qualitySmells amazingSustainable productsLuxury
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Tried Act+Acre earlier this year and am definitely hooked. The Cold Processed Scalp Detox has helped my scalp health tremendously, with noticeable difference even after just a week. Super nice feel to the packaging and the other products I've tried.

Feedback

Wish there was a little more education for those who aren't supper deep on hair care knowledge.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
Alex C's review of Act+Acre
Useful review?
5 months ago
📷Influencer for Act+Acre
Experience

Huge fan of Act and Acre products. The packaging is really well thought out and the products themselves do what they say they do. My hair has gotten so much healthier since using their product. Would definitely recommend.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Luxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

Love how clean their shampoo leaves my hair. Less happy with the conditioner. Lovely packaging.

High qualityCool look & feel
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

Pricey and no results. You're paying for the brand.

Feedback

I felt the scalp detox left a residue on my head.

Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

I cannot express how much I love Act + Acre. I first started using it in March of 2020 (dark, I know) and don't think I will ever stop. I have extremely curly hair that grows quickly and super thick but nothing stops this product from doing it's job. I was taught my Helen the CEO to use the hair serum the night before I am going to wash my hair (this is long, but I have very thick hair so I'm not worried about it going anyway or anything) and then to wash with the cleanser twice before putting the conditioner in. When I say this changed the way my hair looked, acted, and felt I cannot express enough how much this is true. I used to time out my washes so that I'd have time for a little oil to regenerate in the curls to keep them defined if there was something I knew I was going to be photographed at or wanted to look good for. Now, on day 1 (ONE!) I know my hair will look perfect. I have turned everyone I know onto this product and I love it so much.

Feedback

It's so expensive (but still, so worth it. And also they do sales a lot but shhh don't tell anyone)

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

I liked the way the shampoo seemed to really detox the build up on my scalp. The conditioner was nothing special but got the job done. For the price I am not sure it was worth it AND the pump did not reach the end of the bottles so I had a hard time getting the last 1/4 out!

Feedback

The pump did not reach the end of the bottles so I had a hard time getting the last 1/4 out!

High qualitySmells amazingLuxury
Useful review?