Act+Acre

3.9 48 Reviews

Act + Acre creates clean, plant-based hair care products using the cold process method.

Act+Acre Reviews

Act+Acre reviews

3.9

65% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

48 reviews

a year ago

I had purchased a bundle with their detox shampoo, condition, and it came with a comb. I was having a lot of oily scalp issues at the time and thought this would help. I think it exacerbated the issue and have since gotten rid of the product by giving it to friends.

a year ago

Their cold pressed oil is one of my favorite scalp products. I really liked their shampoo but the conditioner seemed a little too heavy for my hair. I definitely want to try more of their products though.

2 years ago

Hands down the best dry shampoo. I love that it is in a spray bottle without the aerosol, it absorbs really quickly, and it leaves my hair feeling nicer than it does on shampoo day!

2 years ago

I have mid bum length hair and while I have lots of hair my actual follicles are baby fine and get weighed down easily. No matter how much or how little of the hair cleanse shampoo I used my hair never felt completely clean. The conditioner made my hair easy to brush but unfortunately it also made my hair feel sticky. While the shampoo and conditioner are not ideal for my hair type I do really enjoy the dry shampoo and the cold pressed stem cell serum.

3 years ago

I use the scalp detox oil which smells amazing, but I can't say that it's really effective as there are still leftover flaky patches when I use them on my husband. Great sensorial experience though.

3 years ago

Finally got around to trying this and my hair feels so much better right away. Really love the cleanse and conditioner right now and excited to try the other products.

a year ago

Really didn’t enjoy the scalp kit experience. Hated putting the product on, and found the scalp gua sha got tangled in even perfectly brushed hair.

2 years ago

Love how clean their shampoo leaves my hair. Less happy with the conditioner. Lovely packaging.

7 months ago

I use their scalp exfoliator off and on, especially now that we're getting into the winter months. It does make parts of my hair dryer, but it also does its job of cleansing my scalp.

3 years ago

After a few months I think I finally understood how to use my products to work for me- but I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing the shampoo and conditioner. For reference I have thick Asian hair. The scalp detox and dry shampoo was awesome and highly recommend using. However, The shampoo and conditioner for the amount needed for my hair was not worth the cost associated. I’ve watched the instructions and the founder used a tiny dollop of shampoo and conditioner - but I understand for her hair (thin, light bodied) that that would be enough. When going by her instructions I felt like my hair was unwashed and my hair would get so webby it was really hard to look at my hair - after going a little bit more liberal with the amount, I finally felt like it was getting washed and nurtured. But clearly with the liberal amount, I went through a full-sized bottle within two months. The cost wasn’t worth the amount for me even though I finally learned how to enjoy the shampoo + conditioner - which is unfortunate. If you’re hair is on the thinner side, I would recommend, because it really is a luxurious experience, but otherwise, I would recommend trying other brands.

a year ago

I love this brand. I think what they are doing for scalp health is innovative. The packaging and products are wonderful, but pricey! I think they are worth it because a little goes a very long way. They also have amazing customer service.

2 years ago

I definitely was #influenced into buying from this brand, and I don't know that I actually saw meaningful results. The products certainly smell amazing, but they require a LOT per use (like, 3-5 pumps to get the right amount of shampoo, and 2 washes necessary) and I didn't personally find the results to be much better than any other brand.

Feedback

Felt expensive without being very effective

2 years ago

Been using Act+Acre for a year now - just the shampoo and conditioner. I don't love the way it smells or how much product it takes for my short hair to feel clean, but I DO love the way it gives my hair more volume and makes it feel healthier. Will continue to buy!

2 years ago

I got the cold pressed hair care kit + scalp detox and scalp renew products. I still have the two scalp products (which are nice but I have other scalp products I like more), and had to giveaway the shampoo and conditioner. It left my hair feeling so greasy and crunchy and not clean and hydrated. The brand says there's a transition period for hair to go to "clean" products, but I was already using very clean ingredients and shampoo and conditioner bars. Context for hair type: asian woman, medium thick hair (not super thick), and naturally wavy. Pretty bummed to have spent the money and to have had a bad experience with the products, but some people say it really works for them.

Feedback

I think the brand name has more hype than the products and it's pretty overpriced. Save your money and use products that you know work for you.

2 years ago

Pricey and no results. You're paying for the brand.

Feedback

I felt the scalp detox left a residue on my head.

7 months ago

The ultimate dry shampoo. This was my first powder-based product and I don't think I'll ever go back. I'm impressed by how quickly it absorbs oil and the scent is very faint. Also, love the minimal yet chic packaging.

7 months ago

This brand finally got rid of my scalp eczema, and that alone is worst about 5000 stars. Further, this brand keeps my long, dense curls manageable (albeit NOT with their Curl + Wave line). I have found a superior detangler (hello LolaVie!), but almost everything else is highly effective. I have zero skin or scalp reaction to this brand, even with the added scent. The scent -- clean + petrichor + resin. It is absolutely beautiful. It did NOT trigger my migraines, asthma, or skin allergies, which is a huge deal for me. I usually have to go completely fragrance free. Both of the pre-treatments (the Scalp Detox and Scalp Exfoliator) -- are legitimate. I use Scalp Renew every 3rd or 4th washday, and Scalp Exfoliator every other time (when I'm not using the other). The Scalp Detox breaks down all the nasty buildup at your roots and generally helps to thin out the oily buildup that shampoo is usually responsible for tackling alone. It works VERY WELL. The Scalp Detox basically helps calm my scalp and neutralize any eczema or pH issues, which is why I only need it occasionally. I consider both essential. The original shampoo -- this is a gentle but very effective shampoo. With a double-wash (which I do for every shampoo, not just this one), I achieve consistent squeaky clean (literally) hair. I believe it is a good clarifier, especially in conjunction with the pre-treatments. I don't have hard water, so can't speak to it's efficacy in that scenario. The hair mask -- I use this as my main conditioner, and it does a good job without weighing down my curls. It also rinses out easily. My only complaint is that it takes longer than I'd like to detangle after using it, although that may be because of using an inadequate detangler (I just found LolaVie's detangler and expect this to no longer be an issue). Stem Cell Scalp Serum -- it's expensive AF and I feel guilty every time I buy it, BUT I've been using this ONLY on my scalp post wash and the allergic reactions, eczema, and itchiness ARE GONE. It's really quite soothing and (luckily) it doesn't take much to cover your whole scalp. It has a very mild, apple-like scent. I've been looking for a less expensive replacement brand, though. Cold-Processed Leave-In -- I'm not sure this does anything at all. I'm going to give away what I already purchased of this product now that I've found a non-irritating replacement. Argan Repair Oil -- this particular hair oil is nicely balanced and is especially effective on the length of my hair. I'll use it primarily when I'm nearing washday and my lengths begin to dry out a big. It effectively moisturizes my hair without making it greasy, and a little goes a long way. Fulvic Acid Dry Shampoo -- a big miss for me. It wasn't effective at all at the dispenser was a complete waste of time. It had to open it up and apply it to my scalp line with a makeup brush ... then it proceeded to not work AT ALL. The 3/4 of the Curl + Wave line -- a HUGE miss for me, even though I'm a curly girl. The Curl Shampoo was ineffective (especially when placed beside the hugely effective Original) and I had to wash my hair too often to rectify the problem. The Curl Conditioner did nothing for my hair at all. The Curl Spray is like ... tacky water? Not moisturizing at all and left a nasty residue on my hair that made it LESS managable. The only redeeming product from this line is the: Curl Lotion -- this is a good, lightweight defining cream. I detest defining creams as a rule, because I don't like the texture or manageability of my hair after using them. This is one of the better one's I've tried and it doesn't a moderate job of holding my style.

8 months ago

I really wanted to love this. I tried their cold processed curl cleanse and it made my hair crazy frizzy. After some practice I figured out how to get the product to lather enough to get it through my hair (rub it between your hands for a very long time) but ultimately I loved the idea of it more than the experience. Pros: smelled really good, scalp seemed happy Cons: so much frizz, very little lather, expensive

a year ago

I’ve used the cold pressed hair cleanse, conditioner, scalp detox, and scalp renew for awhile now. The products smell really nice and I like the concept of more non-toxic products but I don’t know if I notice much difference in my hair from using the products.

Feedback

I still can’t really figure out the difference between the scalp renew and detox and I hate their pump bottles. The stem of the pump always falls off in the bottle so you have to remove the lid to use all the product in the bottle. Because the opening of the bottle is so small half the time you can’t get the stem out to reattach it.