Act+Acre

414 Reviews

Act + Acre creates clean, plant-based hair care products using the cold process method.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4
Average rating from 14 users
69%
Would recommend it to a friend

Act+Acre Reviews

Experience

Tried Act+Acre earlier this year and am definitely hooked. The Cold Processed Scalp Detox has helped my scalp health tremendously, with noticeable difference even after just a week. Super nice feel to the packaging and the other products I've tried.

Feedback

Wish there was a little more education for those who aren't supper deep on hair care knowledge.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
Alex C's review of Act+Acre
10 days ago
📷Influencer for Act+Acre
Experience

Huge fan of Act and Acre products. The packaging is really well thought out and the products themselves do what they say they do. My hair has gotten so much healthier since using their product. Would definitely recommend.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Luxury
4 months ago
Experience

Love how clean their shampoo leaves my hair. Less happy with the conditioner. Lovely packaging.

High qualityCool look & feel
4 months ago
Experience

Pricey and no results. You're paying for the brand.

Feedback

I felt the scalp detox left a residue on my head.

4 months ago
Experience

I cannot express how much I love Act + Acre. I first started using it in March of 2020 (dark, I know) and don't think I will ever stop. I have extremely curly hair that grows quickly and super thick but nothing stops this product from doing it's job. I was taught my Helen the CEO to use the hair serum the night before I am going to wash my hair (this is long, but I have very thick hair so I'm not worried about it going anyway or anything) and then to wash with the cleanser twice before putting the conditioner in. When I say this changed the way my hair looked, acted, and felt I cannot express enough how much this is true. I used to time out my washes so that I'd have time for a little oil to regenerate in the curls to keep them defined if there was something I knew I was going to be photographed at or wanted to look good for. Now, on day 1 (ONE!) I know my hair will look perfect. I have turned everyone I know onto this product and I love it so much.

Feedback

It's so expensive (but still, so worth it. And also they do sales a lot but shhh don't tell anyone)

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
5 months ago
Experience

I liked the way the shampoo seemed to really detox the build up on my scalp. The conditioner was nothing special but got the job done. For the price I am not sure it was worth it AND the pump did not reach the end of the bottles so I had a hard time getting the last 1/4 out!

Feedback

The pump did not reach the end of the bottles so I had a hard time getting the last 1/4 out!

High qualitySmells amazingLuxury
5 months ago
Experience

I have mid bum length hair and while I have lots of hair my actual follicles are baby fine and get weighed down easily. No matter how much or how little of the hair cleanse shampoo I used my hair never felt completely clean. The conditioner made my hair easy to brush but unfortunately it also made my hair feel sticky. While the shampoo and conditioner are not ideal for my hair type I do really enjoy the dry shampoo and the cold pressed stem cell serum.

Sierra S's review of Act+Acre
6 months ago
Experience

I recently purchased the shampoo & conditioner and am loving it. I'm typically about that unscented life, but the subtle (and wonderful) scent of the products does not bother me. My scalp is often irritated and feels better after just a few washes. The packaging was also on point and included a few extras. I'll be purchasing the refills when I run out!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Smells amazingLuxury
8 months ago
Experience

After a few months I think I finally understood how to use my products to work for me- but I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing the shampoo and conditioner. For reference I have thick Asian hair. The scalp detox and dry shampoo was awesome and highly recommend using. However, The shampoo and conditioner for the amount needed for my hair was not worth the cost associated. I’ve watched the instructions and the founder used a tiny dollop of shampoo and conditioner - but I understand for her hair (thin, light bodied) that that would be enough. When going by her instructions I felt like my hair was unwashed and my hair would get so webby it was really hard to look at my hair - after going a little bit more liberal with the amount, I finally felt like it was getting washed and nurtured. But clearly with the liberal amount, I went through a full-sized bottle within two months. The cost wasn’t worth the amount for me even though I finally learned how to enjoy the shampoo + conditioner - which is unfortunate. If you’re hair is on the thinner side, I would recommend, because it really is a luxurious experience, but otherwise, I would recommend trying other brands.

a year ago
Experience

The Cold Processed Scalp Detox is innovative and worth the money. However, I found the Shampoo and Conditioner quality and bottling to not be worthwhile. The pumps that arrived didn't really function well. They screwed on a bit off-centered and just looked cheap. The pumps were also difficult to get all of the product out of the small containers. I ended up just having to remove the pump and keep the container upside down to make sure that could use up every last bit of product.

Feedback

New bottle design. It would work so much nicer as a squeeze tube with a bottom opening.

Luxury
a year ago