We're Not Really Strangers

4.7 133 Reviews

We're Not Really Strangers sells a card game with carefully crafted questions and wildcards designed to deepen relationships.

Best of Thingtesting
We're Not Really Strangers Reviews

We're Not Really Strangers reviews

Reviews mention

  • Fosters deep, meaningful conversations
  • Facilitates self-discovery
  • Strengthens relationship bonds
  • Sparks unique conversation topics
  • Less fun with close acquaintances
  • Can be uncomfortable
  • Lacks an app version
  • One-time play reduces replayability

We're Not Really Strangers is a card game that is widely appreciated for its ability to foster deep, meaningful conversations and bring people closer. The game is seen as a wonderful tool for self-discovery, relationship-building, and getting to know people on a deeper level. It is especially loved for its unique approach to sparking conversations that may not come up naturally. However, it's noted that the game might not be as fun when played with someone who already knows you well and can be uncomfortable if not everyone is on the same page.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

133 reviews

3 months ago

This game is good for first dates or when you’re just getting know people. It’s a fun get together game but only if you want to get deep!

5 months ago

This game is your traditional ice breaker on steroids! In a good way. Very fun with a lot of people

6 months ago

I’ve used both the normal “friend” pack and the relationship + expansion pack and I’ve LOVED both!! Playing the original pack with a group of friends was very special and brought me closer to people I already considered my best friends. It cultivates vulnerability and kindness/empathy in such a natural, fun way. I definitely think it forces players to see we’re really just all humans trying our best and we need each other! The relationship pack + its expansion pack is 10/10!! My fiancé and I love occasionally playing the full game during a date night - it (again somehow) forces vulnerability in areas you may not realize you needed. My fiancé & I are so close and open and yet we leave each game feeling so much closer. We also use cards more one-off throughout tough weeks as little touch points to foster connection. It’s really special, and so fun!

2 months ago

the best way to make everyone uncomfortable at the function.. (kidding) i love this project and have so many fond memories of playing this with friends / past relationships. a great way to open up conversations you never thought you needed to have and learn more about the people in your life.

3 months ago

Played this with my friends and we had alot of fun learning more about each other! It's kind of a "one-and-done" activity. I also think this is a game best played with people who all know each other well and are comfortable sharing.

4 months ago

Such a great game for new friends or those you have known for a long time.

5 months ago

This game is a great game to play with friends and family or even as an icebreaker to a party or event. Love the messages it sends!

5 months ago

The family edition of the game proved to be a valuable experience. It encouraged conversations and a deeper understanding of each other, bringing us closer. Emotions ran high and there might have been a few tears (liberating) shed.

5 months ago

Influencer for We're Not Really Strangers

I feel like this game is good when you want to get to know someone more and diving in the layers of the person.

6 months ago

I really like this brand. So positive and I think the card games are super fun and helpful for your mental connection to others

5 months ago

such FUN game for a bigger group to play. biut also I like plauyong with just me and my husband. Its is much better than sitting around watching tv for hours.

5 months ago

Bought myself

I really loved We're Not Really Strangers as it asks questions that you wouldn't normally think of and helps you continue a conversation. I loved the clearness of the font and the quality of the card deck as well. I also loved the ease of putting them back in the box.

6 months ago

Invested in We're Not Really Strangers

Awesome product. A game of depth and connection that brings people closer together. Would love to have an app version!

5 months ago

My husband and I used these when we drove across country. We went on so many side conversations and talked about things we hadn't talked about before it was alot of fun!

2 years ago

I love everything about this company. The game + every single version/pack + journals + puzzles, all of it is incredible. Whether you're playing with friends, strangers, family I always leave with reflection and new perspective. A MUST

2 years ago

I love the branding & message behind this brand. I own a few packs of the cards & enjoy playing it with friends & family.

2 years ago

There's no other way to learn so much about someone so quickly. This game is perfect for both new and old friends and creates a deep sense on connection with just about anyone you play it with. Also, if you're not following them on social media or subscribed to their newsletter, you should as it takes it even further.

3 years ago

I love this game!! I had been following @werenotreallystrangers for years and when the game came out, I immediately bought it. I don't come off as a very sappy person lol but I've made every single one of my good friends play this with me and it's made us all so much closer. It really helps to facilitate meaningful conversation and reflection, both individually and collectively. I also have the self-reflection journal, which is really helpful in giving journal prompts if you're someone like me who really overthinks the whole thing and never knows "what to journal about." Great job Koreen + WNRS team ✨

6 months ago

Cute set of cards and really innovative when it peaked a few years ago! I followed the creator when they were just putting this project together. Loved their merch as well. The cards are a great way to spend time w a loved one