Tonal

4.6 11 Reviews

Tonal uses dynamic weight that adjusts to your every move, delivering personalized full body workouts at home.

Best of Thingtesting
Tonal Reviews

Tonal reviews

11 reviews

6 months ago

Thoroughly impressed with this machine! I used this at a training session and was really surprised by how easy it was to use and how the resistance felt real. It's super compact and feels like a great add to any personal home gym.

6 months ago

Great machine. I replaced my gym membership with this. If you're looking for a great alternative to free weights and enjoy following professionally developed and filmed work out plans this is the machine for you.

8 months ago

I have LOVED getting to try out Tonal. My parents, in their spacious suburban basement, had plenty of room to install this, and it's definitely an extra fun factor when I go to visit. I've been able to measure my strength increases and try out moves that normally would scare me at the gym, and the interface is gorgeous. The instructors bring the energy, and I like that the music can be selected by the user (though I wish it was slightly more customizable than random "radio" stations).

a year ago

The experience with tonal is great and one of a kind. I was a little skeptical when we bought it, but every time that I use it to do with my trainings I get a little more enchanted by the versatility of the equipment. On top of that, it will always adjust to you....so there is no cheating. Tonal helped me be able to bring back daily exercise into my life.

3 years ago

I cannot say enough fantastic things about Tonal! I LOVE it!! I originally purchased the Tonal for myself, even though my husband had an entire gym's worth of free weights. Once the Tonal was installed, though, he started using it and has now lifted over 5 million pounds. He's hooked, so am I, and we literally sold all of our free weights and weight benches.

Feedback

The time between order and delivery was 2 months. It gets installed for you, which is great, but if you move you need to hire the Tonal movers to remove it and re-install in your new home in order to keep your warranty valid.

2 years ago

Really really innovative product that gamifies and brings a gym into your home. Really good for my use case, but more hard-core gym goers will feel a bit lacking.

Feedback

I wish there wasn't a subscription. I am trying to limit subscriptions in my life and would rather pay more initially to not have a subscription.

2 years ago

We just got one and it is so fun and easy to use! The trainers are great and the ability to modify/swap an exercise for something similar is awesome. I also have loved their stretching and yoga classes

3 years ago

Tonal is easy to use, efficient, fun and engaging. Most of all you get results. Compared to using a set of weights, the AI automatically adjust the weight for you by 1 pound increments, plateaus are a thing of the past. You don't need to think about what is next the interface guides you through the program with clear instructions allowing you to push as hard as possible.

Feedback

Delivery Time

8 months ago

Forget the long wait times at the gym. Invest in you and get yourself a Tonal. My partner and I bought a Tonal a little over 4 months ago and it has changed the game for us. We both have long commutes and then we would spend even more time away from home at the gym. Tonal has allowed us to have more time for us and stay up with our workouts.

8 months ago

It's expensive, the instructors aren't that great, and in the end it doesn't give you a better workout than a nice set of free weights.