Fi

4.58 Reviews

Fi makes smart dog collars and harnesses that feature a cellular-based GPS to track your dog's location and health.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 8 users
100%
Would recommend it to a friend

Fi Reviews

a month ago
Experience

A great little collar for peace of mind and motivation. My dog is very much a velcro dog but it's nice to know that if he ever did wander off I'd be able to find him. The bigger surprise was how the step tracker and social ranking feature made me way more motivated to walk him more and longer.

Feedback

It currently only tracks walks and sleep. It would be interesting if it tracked more metrics/activities (eg. in a car, playing, swimming, etc.)

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative product
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I absolutely love Fi. It is so easy to use and tracks surprisingly well. I love being able to track my dog's steps, sleeping habits, and even connect with other dogs!

Feedback

To actually track your dog is a $100/year fee which I think is slightly too expensive.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕
Isabelle A's review of Fi
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I love the idea of Fi and I had a great experience with their customer service, but ultimately it didn’t work out for us. First, even though the collar fit our dog, it just felt too big for him. He’s a 18 pound mix and it just looked really uncomfortable on him. The limited band options also didn’t help since the band it comes with is not a great quality in my opinion. It has little scratchy threads at some areas and even though the were super kind and shipped a new one it still was not the quality I expect for it’s price. However, if the fi and band were made a lot smaller and the bands were more confy for our pup, I would immediately re-buy to try it because I really liked the app and the knowledge of where my pup is at all times.

Feedback

See above!

Innovative product
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

We have a Deaf dog, so this gives us peace of mind in knowing that even if he gets away, we can find him. LOVE that my dog has a step goal also lol. I've become weirdly competitive about making sure he meets it.

Feedback

The collar is a little bulky and sometimes has tech issues without alerting us, which means we lose our streak, and that makes me sad. The device also gets pretty banged up being on a dog and all.

Innovative product
Useful review?
6 months ago
Experience

I really like the hardware itself -- seems pretty durable, my dog doesn't mind wearing it at all, and it looks pretty good (we have the pink model). I do think the app has a lot of room for improvement; there's a fair amount of upselling going on in a way that reminds me a bit of Strava. And the community itself isn't very valuable to me right now. As an activity counter/step-tracker and for generally knowing where our dog is, however, I'm quite content.

Feedback

The app is gamified to show you how your dog ranks locally in steps, but otherwise there isn't much reason for me to use it right now.

Innovative productWorks really wellLove the brand's mission 💕
Alex K's review of Fi
Useful review?
7 months ago
💰Invested in Fi
Experience

I got the Fi collar when the brand was running a promotion and I'm glad I did! It's really helpful to know how many steps my dog gets in to see if she'll need more to be tired at the end of the day. I like the GPS tracker too. I don't use the discover or rank that much personally since my dog is a mix and it's hard to know exactly what is standard for her breeds. Overall I've been very happy with my Fi experience.

Feedback

Once you have the collar set up, the app really communicates upgrading the GPS subscription a lot. Without it there's not a lot of GPS functionality. I'd suggest buying that to go with the collar when you order the collar so it doesn't feel like it's popping up when you check the app. Also I'd love a plain red collar color option on the site.

Natalie Sportelli's review of Fi
Useful review?
15 days ago
Experience

This product is worth every penny. Talk about peace of mind knowing that you'll have precise GPS tracking of your fur baby should they get out. Not only that but you'll be able to track their fitness and sleep patterns if that interests you as well. The app works well and provides social interaction if interested along with pet articles. The collar is durable and sized just for your pet. The charging base works well and the collar holds a great charge. I've been using this since my pup was 6 months old, she's almost a year and a half now and the collar I ordered with notes on her size and age still fits perfectly. There are a lot of fun personalized options for additional collar purchases if desired. The subscription can be purchased a few years at a time to save extra money. My lady husky is extra safe with FI!

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellFit just rightAmazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

We love our Fi collar! It gives us peace of mind to be able to look out for our dog's location. It was also extremely helpful when she was a young puppy to track her sleep habits and her exercise levels. It's amazing value for the price, definitely recommend.

Feedback

The collar itself is a bit bulky. There seem to be a number of third party collar options but they're rather pricey. At times, there are connectivity issues and that can be rather frustrating.

High qualityWorth the money 💸Works really well
Useful review?