Whoop

4.8211 Ratings

WHOOP makes a fitness wearable designed to help consumers improve exercise performance and sleep habits.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.8
Average rating from 11 users
100%
Would recommend it to a friend

Whoop Reviews

Experience

I'm super interested in data behind myself and my body but never really found existing wearables that interesting – even Apple Watch (I have a Series 3) which I like how it looks but I found it annoying that I need to tell it when I'm working out I ordered Whoop after looking at it a few times over a couple of months and their model of the band being free (or cheap?) but then you pay a subscription to use the app etc was interesting but £30/month is overly expensive I think. I also looked at the Oura ring which a couple of friends have – and love – but I don't like wearing rings so that was out of the question – I really liked how Whoop's 4.0 band was minimal, no screen and very flat to my wrist – and the app looked great too. One thing I really like about it is the charging is done through a little black "puck" thing which slides on top of the band. I charge the puck daily via USB-C and then when the band itself gets low on charge (lasts 3-4 days on a full charge) I just slide the puck on top of it and continue my day until it's charged so you really never have to take it off. As far as I know it's also waterproof but I don't like the feel of the fabric band being wet so I just take it off when I shower. The app is good and collects a tonne of data including calories burned, heart rate variability, blood oxygen level, respiratory rate and more and being able to capture those without any manual input is really nice. It also lets you know if any of the things I mentioned get outside your "normal" zone which can be an indicator of injury or illness and being able to get a heads up if you might be getting sick ahead of time is really interesting and one of the main reasons i got it. You can also generate a PDF of your insights which is interesting and I haven't seen other solutions offer that (though I could be wrong)

Feedback

While the band itself is really well made and good quality, and I am really happy using it, sometimes it makes mistakes and I'm not sure if that's to do with the band or the app. Sometimes it will show my heart rate as being 20bpm for example which is in the red zone for being unusual – but then when I tap on it it will say it's actually 120bpm which is fine because I'm doing exercise. Which is confusing. It also did take a long time to ship – about 4 months but I believe that was due to high demand so I didn't mind that much. The App is also a bit confusing – I don't particularly like using it as there are a lot of sections and it can be hard to remember which bits of data are in which sections or how to browse to find what you need – but the design of it in general is nice.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelEasy subscription management 🔁Super fun activitySuper slow shipping 🐌
3 months ago
Experience

I really believe I will be a Whoop customer for life. The sleep data alone has had a serious impact on my life.

Innovative productWorth the money 💸Works really well
3 months ago
Experience

Game changer. Great device + an even greater app loaded with information about your daily strain, recovery, and sleep performance.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Travel friendly ✈️Works really wellAmazing websiteLuxury
7 months ago
Experience

Whoop’s data truly is top notch and helped me keep up my fitness and level up my recovery game. Understanding sleep metrics and how to get the best recovery is so important, and Whoop provides objective metrics to support that.

Feedback

Customer support wasn’t super helpful when I had an issue, but they did eventually resolve it.

High qualityInnovative productWorks really well
10 months ago
Experience

I have had my whoop for a year and live by it. It doesn't give you credit for things like steps or general movement - only when you workout hard. I love using this to track sleep, find out what habits help me perform better and to push me to workout harder.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

Absolutely the best Health fitness product available with focus on strain, recovery and sleep. Waterproof and basically never leaves your wrist (battery recharges while on clasp). All people should know their body data to be focused on how you recover. User since 2017 and firm believer in how the Whoop captures data, calculates your recovery overnight and measures inputs through a daily diary for better outcomes.

Feedback

Innovation must continue to beat the Apple Watches of the world. By far a superior product vs. Fitbit/Garmin.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕
Michael W's review of Whoop
10 months ago
Experience

I LOVE the data it has given me, I know what my body likes + what it doesn't. I love the communities part and that I'm always pushing myself to get high strain and focus more on recovery. Has truly changed the way that I live my life. However after a year of using it I've began to question whether it's still providing me value since I know what my body does and doesn't like. Also can toe the line of becoming toxic in terms of avoiding things that will impact my recovery or pushing sore muscles to achieve a higher strain.

Feedback

Would love to see some way to incorporate strength training and muscle fatigue, as well as more value over time. Once you know your baseline and what impacts you, it's tough to want to continue $30/mo for the data you can predict.

Innovative productEasy subscription management 🔁Super fun activityLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

I love whoop, great if you have friends using it as well because you can create a team.. and do little competitions.

Feedback

The product is great, the daily information you get from it is awesome, I personally loved the recovery/sleep data, and comparing it to how I currently feel.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellAmazing website
a year ago
Experience

Ask my people and they will say I am obsessed with my Whoop. I have truly started to base my workouts on my recovery levels and am competitive with myself when it comes to my sleep score and consistency. My data has helped me establish a healthier workout routine centered on what is best for my body and not just closing an arbitrary ring. I have multiple colored bands and the swim protectors!

Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Works really wellAmazing website
Sarah H's review of Whoop
a year ago
Experience

It's great but it's not...

Feedback

It's great how it gives you so much information about your body - strain, sleep, recovery, etc. And over time you can pick up on little things that make improvements, like drinking alcohol, sugar, drugs, etc etc. It can really help you shape a great day to day program to ensure you're pushing yourself the most while still making recovery a priority. I thoroughly loved that part... The catch with all that info, and this might be just me, is that I found it super overwhelming once I got right into it all - which was about the 3 or 4 month mark. I was getting anxiety about my sleep, especially when I think I've slept well and Whoop tells me I suck, ha. The dashboard you get (PDF) at the end of each month that really digs into your results is fascinating and quite helpful, this really stood out for me. There's some other factors that are both amazing and kinda disappointing but overall I really did like using it for the time I was a member. But the one thing that killed it for me was the cost, in Aust its $500+ a year, so I haven't resubscribed..

Innovative productTravel friendly ✈️Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
lincoln e's review of Whoop
8 months ago