Rothy's

3.9416 Ratings

Rothy's uses recycled plastic to create unique and affordable shoes.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

3.9
Average rating from 16 users
71%
Would recommend it to a friend

Rothy's Reviews

Experience

I cannot wear most ballet flats due to them hitting a nerve on my big toe. I tried Tieks and hated them (much too tight). I was nervous about Rothy's but a girlfriend raved. I now have 3 pairs. I love both the traditional ballet flats and the pointed toe ones. They are extremely comfortable and easy to slip on/off. I also love that they have done free pairs of shoes for breast cancer survivors and got my mom a pair that way!

High qualityWorth the money 💸Business casualEveryday wearTravel friendly ✈️ComfortableLove the brand's mission 💕
20 days ago
Experience

My favorite and most used pair of "the sneaker" shoes are my Rothy shoes! I love them- they're so comfortable and I feel like a modern, trendy woman wearing them. I also have another pair of the Mary Janes that are very cute.

Feedback

I'd love to see a little more colors- I love wearing pink so I am always watching for new releases or sites like Depop for pink Rothy shoes.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Business casualEveryday wearComfortableAmazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
2 months ago
Experience

I have The Points in black and love how versatile and easy it is to walk in. They are super lightweight and breathable. The fitting of the shoes is not the best. If I walk in them for a while, my feet start to slide out. Also, because there is no cushion at the bottom, my feet will hurt after some time.

Feedback

The fitting and material.

Worth the money 💸Everyday wearAthleisureTravel friendly ✈️Comfortable
2 months ago
Experience

Absolutely love the pointed flat. I have 2 pairs. They have changed the fit a little to where they are bit more flexible so I like them even more.

Feedback

They could lower the price point $20 and still have good profit margins and probably sell even more. I only buy them when I have a coupon.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelComfortableEco-friendly packaging
2 months ago
Experience

I have a pair of their flats and a pair of booties. Their flats have held up for literally years of NYC everyday street walking - I used to commute to work everyday on the subway wearing these. I remember when I first got them too that I was floored by how they required ZERO breaking in which was especially impressive for ballet flats. You do have to wash them since they can start to smell. I think they've held up okay in the washing machine though a few years in there's like a couple of stitches on the side that have worn through and isn't as nice to look at. As a whole, the flats also just don't LOOK as clean as they were when I first bought them despite me washing them but I do think that's a bit of an unrealistic standard when they've lasted so much longer than any other pair of ballet flats I've ever had. When I first started wearing them in 2018 I don't think I have ever wore anything else on the subway that would get more strangers coming up to me and asking me if they were rothy's and what I thought about them. I've had the merino wool booties for over a year too and love them for their comfort. I haven't had to wash these since I've been careful to wear socks with them.

Feedback

The insoles also aren't stuck in at all (so you can replace them) and especially for the ballet flats can tend to slip in and out of the shoe super easily to the point where I actually lost one by accident at an event and had to buy a new pair. Also their products are pretty pricey!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelEveryday wearComfortableLove the brand's mission 💕
Hannah Say's review of Rothy's
3 months ago
Experience

3/5 is a 'just okay' rating and that's exactly how I feel. I sweat in my feet so the shoes got pretty gross after just a few wears (so if you do that too, you'll have to wear invisible liner socks or just be okay washing your shoes very often).

Business casual
3 months ago
Experience

I like them in theory, but the size is off (mine are quite tight) and I don’t really like the design. A friend gave them as a gift, but I don’t find myself gravitating to them often.

4 months ago
Experience

I love the concept of these flats & the sustainability story behind them. The colorways were limited when I first tried this product but have expanded nicely over time with a good selection of solid colors. They are genuinely comfortable and structured enough such that it doesn't look or feel like you are wearing knit slippers. I originally bought two pairs, hoping they would make the perfect "polished" travel shoe for business trips.

Feedback

Unfortunately, the washability value prop is questionable. I've tried washing them by hand as well as in the washing machine and unfortunately, the poly is quite good at trapping odor so they start to feel gross, like your standard leather flats, over time. I put one pair through the dry cycle just to see if it would make a difference and they shrank about half a size (to Rothy's credit, I don't think this is recommended care). I understand that they now sell replacement insoles to extend the longevity but I bought these in hopes of consuming less so this defeats the purpose.

Travel friendly ✈️ComfortableLove the brand's mission 💕
9 months ago
Experience

I love my Rothys. I have two pairs of the pointe Shoes. I purchased them back before 2019 and they are still doing well. I like that they can be washed. You definitely need to otherwise they can smell.

Feedback

I have a stain on my red pair that I cannot seem to get out entirely. It’s not as obvious now but I can see it. I still love the shoes though.

10 months ago
Experience

I've had my Rothy's since 2016 and they're still holding up perfectly. The sole hasn't worn out and they've withstood thunderstorms, tons of walking, and numerous trips through the washing machine. I love that I don't have to worry whether my shoes will get destroyed by the weather. Goes with almost everything.

Feedback

Only one style seems to work with my foot shape and I feel like the same is true for others I know. It seems like everyone has one style that works for them, but the other styles pinch or gives blisters or something. I know people who wear the loafer, the round toe flat, and I wear the point toe flat.

Worth the money 💸ComfortableSustainable products
10 months ago