Hello Fresh

3.5 63 Reviews

Hello Fresh operates a fresh, meal kit suscription service delivering high-quality ingredients to your door.

Hello Fresh Reviews

Hello Fresh reviews

3.48

69% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Prompt and reliable delivery
  • Delectable and diverse recipes
  • Convenient meal planning solution
  • Effective portion control
  • Excessive packaging material
  • Inconsistent produce quality
  • Costly for some users
  • Occasional customer service issues

HelloFresh impresses with its prompt delivery, delectable recipes, and variety of meal options. Users have praised the convenience and quality of the meal kits. However, concerns have been raised about the amount of packaging, the quality of produce, and the cost-effectiveness. A few users also reported issues with customer service.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

63 reviews

5 months ago

Such an awesome company that makes making food not feel like a chore.

5 months ago

They do offer decent meals, but I found that their website was a bit misleading. I ultimately had a horrible experience with their customer service that ended with me needing to dispute with my credit card. I found their flavors/recipes to be a little repetitive. If you get a good deal, and are super on top of their wording, then it can be worth it. And I do think this can help someone who hates cooking, but wants to try. Other than that, I'd stay away, and find some recipes online.

4 months ago

Hello Fresh was an absolute lifesaver for me during my college days (at first!) - navigating the world of cooking without my mom was hard, but it really instilled the basics step-by-step in a way that anyone could follow. The variety of meals introduced me to flavors I wouldn't have explored on my own, expanding my palate and cooking skills AND providing some nutrition here and there. The one drawback I encountered was the portion size – the servings were ample, which would have been fantastic if not for the limited space and the need to share a fridge with a roommate. Managing the surplus ingredients became a bit tricky, but overall, Hello Fresh is a fantastic option for solo chefs or those with more kitchen real estate.

4 months ago

We used hello fresh for several years now. Meals are always tasty. Price is good. Sometimes they send stuff I didn’t select.

6 months ago

I used Hello Fresh consistently for two years in college, and it really helped me learn how to cook. As someone living independently for the first time, one of the best things Hello Fresh helped me with was portion control. I liked knowing that the meal was meant for two people, and that I could split it up evenly. Their packaging always stayed cold when I had it delivered while I was out. The delivery was also extremely convenient. As a college student, the company helped me by giving me food choices so that I did not have to find recipes and gave all the ingredients instead of buying an entire container of certain ingredients. My biggest issue was that they did not have the best produce. As someone who loves organic fruits and vegetables, I had times when my produce came spoiled or was not big enough for the recipe. The company was always very responsive and fixed their mistakes with a refund or credit. I sometimes had to pick up extra produce some weeks because the recipe needed more flavor or vegetables. I would definitely recommend it for new-time cooks or people who have busy schedules but are still looking to cook some nights of the week.

4 months ago

It cost just as much as buying a month of groceries and I only get enough for a week,top it off with that fact that your just really buying dinner. No breakfast,lunch,snacks,drinks. For the price I got ( I even got a discounted one from a friend) was still too much,for me NOT ACTUALLY having REAL groceries. Also they deliver with fedex,who delayed my order by 2 days,which isn’t good when you spend almost 80 plus shipping on just a weeks worth of dinner. What a waste of my time and money, and this wouldn’t make me upset if the company didn’t advertise themselves as a “ grocery shopping replacement “ because I can assure you,it is not.

4 months ago

While all the meals are pretty tasty the menu items to repeat themself a little bit. All the ingredients always came fresh but they did not last long. You have to use the box the week you get it. The entire box. So if you end up getting other food, you're hella fresh box is going to have some items that go bad. I do like how all the recipes are very easy to follow and it helps build your repertoire of known recipes to repeat in the future. I definitely want to try their breakfast it sounds really good.

2 years ago

recipes are varied though over time you start seeing how they're all foundationally similar. I love that you can find the recipes online of any meal kit you've received in the past and that they do make it pretty easy to cancel / skip meals.

Feedback

Wish everything used less packaging.

10 months ago

Highly recommend if you have a busy period coming up and you need to just not think about grocery shopping. However, it does get a bit rinse and repeat after a few weeks. The products are fresh, and I got a promo offer so the price was worth it. But I probably wouldn't pay full price.

10 months ago

Not my favorite meal kit. I don’t find the meals healthy even if they are marked as healthy. The meals are done over and over with just slight changes so you get over them.

a year ago

HF was a godsend during the pandemic and I started using them again recently because my sister sent my housemates and I a free box of meals. I love how easy the recipes are to make and that you can access them anytime once you've cooked them. I also really adore the app and how easy it is to plan and skip meals per week. Given the price, I feel like it wouldn't make sense for me if I was to only feed myself, but it's a great option if 2+ people are splitting the cost.

Feedback

Lots of packaging tbh. I would recommend turning on app push notifs so you remember to plan/skip every week!

2 years ago

My boyfriend got Hello Fresh when we were in college and they were so fun to cook and really good. We never had a bad meal from them. I love that you can keep the recipes to make your favorites again!

7 months ago

Received a free product from Hello Fresh

I recently had the pleasure of trying out HelloFresh, specifically the 5-day meal kit featuring a combination of meat and veggie options, and I must say, it exceeded my expectations on several fronts. First and foremost, the delivery from HelloFresh was impressively swift. It arrived exactly as promised, which is a significant plus when you're looking forward to enjoying your freshly prepared meals without delay. The quality of the meals was truly outstanding. Each dish was thoughtfully curated, and the flavors were fantastic. HelloFresh excels in making mealtime not only convenient but also delicious. The recipes were easy to follow, making the cooking process a breeze, even for someone like me who is not particularly skilled in the kitchen. The one drawback, as mentioned, was the amount of packaging. While I understand the necessity of this packaging to ensure the freshness and safety of the ingredients, it's hard to overlook the environmental impact. Nevertheless, I appreciate HelloFresh's commitment to minimizing waste and using sustainable materials where possible. HelloFresh offers a superb meal kit experience, combining prompt delivery, delectable recipes, and a variety of meal options to suit your preferences. While the packaging might be a minor downside, the overall convenience and quality make HelloFresh a top choice for those looking to simplify meal planning and enjoy delicious, home-cooked dishes without the hassle. I would gladly recommend it to anyone seeking a convenient and tasty meal solution.

a year ago

Consistent, tried several competitors as well, enjoyed these recipes best. Would recommend for someone on a tight schedule.

a year ago

Out of all the meal subscriptions we've tried, Hello Fresh is definitely the freshest. They consistently provide prepped ingredients that aren't damaged or starting to go bad. The variety of recipes are great as well. It has been a few years since we've stopped our subscription, but I remember they had quite a bit of one time use packaging - hopefully that has changed now or they have found alternatives to their plastic use. Portions are decent and follow government guidelines but because we're a bit more active we tend to supplement these meals with a bit of extra to feel fuller after.

2 years ago

I loved the ease it made for cooking and I like the diversity in recipes! (I still keep all my recipe cards) I wasn't convinced it would work for us in the long run (a household of two) because we don't eat as much as we thought we do. We travel a lot for family and like to eat out every once in a while, so ultimately we had to stop. maybe if we got to a stable spot, I'd be convinced to use it again.

7 months ago

Tried Hello Fresh for a few months and while I love the diversity of all the meals that are provided I do not think it is worth the price. You only get enough for one meal where as with most dinners I usually have leftovers. I also had experienced on several occasions where the produce was rotten and I still had to run to the grocery store in order to replace that ingredient.