SURREAL

3.7 37 Reviews

Surreal makes high protein, low carb, and zero sugar cereal featuring classic childhood flavors.

SURREAL Reviews

SURREAL reviews

3.68

61% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • High protein content
  • Vegan-friendly product
  • Focuses on sugar-free quality
  • Unique and appealing branding
  • Excessive use of sweeteners
  • Artificial, lingering aftertaste
  • High price for small quantity
  • Lack of natural ingredients

SURREAL cereal, while appreciated for its protein content and vegan-friendly nature, is criticized for its excessive use of sweeteners, resulting in an overly sweet, artificial taste. Some customers also complain about the product's high price and small package size, alongside a lack of natural ingredients. Despite this, the brand's unique marketing and focus on sugar-free and vegan qualities have been positively noted.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

37 reviews

2 months ago

The branding is cute and the social media page has lots of funny stuff, but I realized I got a bit tired of the cinammon flavor before I was halfway through the bag.

4 months ago

Not the most flavourful cereal. It tastes healthy. Not sweet enough. It tastes a bit like cardboard. With other things, like in a yoghurt bowl, it’s edible. I wouldn’t purchase again.

2 months ago

Very bland, processed flavours and awful texture. For the cost per box you would expect a way better product, but sadly it is all just branding and the product itself is very very poor

2 months ago

Tastes weird , like artificial sweetener with really nasty aftertaste - wouldn’t eat it again

4 months ago

Consumer

as someone who's been vegan and on the sugar free diet for many years - it's difficult to find a product that focuses on both those qualities, upon coming across this item, i am happy to say i very much look forward to having a lil portion a day, the taste as well as texture is right up my alley and hope these stay around for a long time i agree that they're a lil on the pricey side but in my opinion, they're worth it

4 months ago

I really tried so hard to get on with these but had to bin them in the end. They are low on sugar and carbs, but they are higher in caleries (+sweetner) than regular cereal. They are hard (felt like eating cat buscuits) which are not softended after longer exposure to milk. The biggest issue with it is the aftertaste of sweetner doesn't go away after several hours. The flavours repeat on you, and I actually felt poisioned after eating them -- like the feeling you get during a hangover. I stupidly tried all 4 flavours and pretty much felt similar after each. Also as a side note, they come in really small boxes for the money, you would be lucky to get 5 bowls out of each box unless you ration them, which works out around £1.35 per bowl if you include delivery. Whilst I'm at it, I might as well mention I also got incorrect delivery notifications coming from Surreal when ordered, and they also will never respond to emails. I just can't find anything redeeming about Surreal at all sorry folks, apart from the apparent "free mustache" you can cut out of the box! :D

5 months ago

It's incredibly sweet. Far, far too sweet. The sweetness lingers for so long in the mouth after even just a few pieces. They could halve the sweetener, for sure, and it'd be better for it. Texture is okay, box is tiny, price is high.

5 months ago

Sampled four flavors – caramelized biscuit, frosted, cookies and cream, and cocoa. The cereal itself was okay, but each flavor had a slightly stale texture, and the taste consistency was lacking. The caramelized biscuit was overpowering, making it hard to enjoy, while the cookies and cream were disappointingly bland. The cocoa flavor stood out as the best, but overall, none of them brought back the nostalgic taste of childhood cereals.

6 months ago

Way to surgery for a non suger cereal. Let’s get this stright, they have swapped the suger for sweeteners and sweeteners are not exzacly healthy. The amount they have used here is ridiculous. Half the amount of sweetners and then half again and maybe you could call it healthy. I like the fact it’s high protein as on a plant based diet you don’t tend to get much but way to much “suger “ for me. Gave a small bowl to my 5 year old and he was bouncing off the walls , will stick to the bear cereal for him.

9 months ago

This is just a review of the cinnamon…and let me be clear, I love cinnamon (the spice). But my goodness. I felt like I was eating a protein bar in the consistency of cereal with cinnamon attempting to block the taste. It was so heavy and artificial. I cannot recommend. If I want a protein-centric breakfast, it won’t be this.

2 years ago

Invested in SURREAL

I want to start this by saying that I am not normally a cereal person, mostly because cereal has so much sugar and other crap in it that I'm like no thanks, that's not how I want to start my day. When Surreal came along, I was intrigued. Is it possible to love yourself and have cereal for breakfast?! Can it be?? Anyways, I was into it. I got a discount for working for one of the investors in the brand and bought the variety pack. I went from not having had cereal for breakfast in years to having it every morning! The flavors were pleasantly delish. The branding was great. The customer service was fab. Win, win, win.

Feedback

I would love if there was a refill system for this cereal. I feel like that would really win me over. Also, the reason I deducted a star is because the portion sizes are pretty small, and the general amount they give you per box is pretty meager. If you were sharing this with a family, you'd go through an entire box in one meal. Put more in, please ;) We're hungry out here!

2 years ago

Finally, a tasty, healthy, low carb cereal - love the flavours, packaging and overall brand. The only thing keeping me from the full 5 stars ⭐️ is the amount of servings - the recommended portion size is a bit small, perhaps good if you're on a diet, but with my normal serving size I only get 4-5 servings per box, so it feels a bit too expensive.

Feedback

Amount of cereal in the box. Aftertaste is a little strange too but not super offputting.

2 years ago

Loved this cereal and the mission - was pleasantly surprised by the taste and the crunch, given it uses a completely different set of ingredients to normal cereals. I got so excited that I went around the house comparing the protein content of one serving to other meals: it’s the same as two eggs, 3/4 tin of beans, 375g of my favourite Greek yoghurt. Amazing!

Feedback

The price point is very high and feels justified based on the portion size written on the box, but when you open it and measure out 30g, it does feel small. On the product itself, the texture and crunch is great, both plain and with milk. There is an ever so slight after taste though.

2 years ago

Cereal tastes decent for a 'health' cereal. And the top of the box is already perforated, so you don't need to do any ripping and inevitably break the closure. It's the small things.

Feedback

Size of bag is supposedly "7 servings." Maybe if you're a small child. Price is high. I know, better quality ingredients and all. But then I find oats and PB work just fine.

2 years ago

I found the flavors to be really nice, and barely a sacrifice to go low carb.

Feedback

The boxes are too big for the contents, and made from flimsy cardboard.

9 months ago

Went for the cocoa and I’m not even interested in tasting the others. The taste is so great that I’m craving for these at times. Like many others, I’m deducting a star due to pack size. They can’t really expect us to make them last a whole week. 3-4 days and it’s done

a year ago

What a cereal! Love the the Cinnamon flavour. Packaging is also eye catching and quirky. Absolutely unreal.

2 years ago

I love the brand. I love the flavours. I love the health benefits. I don't love the portion sizes.

Feedback

But the price point is very high and the amount of cereal you get is ridiculously bad. Honestly, I'll get through that box in two servings. When you charge so much, the expectation is higher. It is a shame, as slightly putting me off buying another pack. Hopefully this can be resolved as otherwise, everything is great!

2 years ago

But sweet for a traditional cereal, plus Recomended portion size seems a little small, but that said, for a post protein workout snack adding a couple of spoons of Greek yogurt they are delicious. I also have a crisp addiction and so a handful in the afternoon stops me from reaching for crisps or biscuits. Will buy again.

2 years ago

Incredibly tasty and actually good for you. Immense.

Feedback

Different shapes? More flavours? Abit cheaper? But look. We knit picking here.