SURREAL

4.2326 Reviews

Surreal makes high protein, low carb, and zero sugar cereal featuring classic childhood flavors.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.2
Average rating from 26 users
80%
Recommend it to a friend

SURREAL Reviews

23 days ago
Experience

Love the brand! Taste is great considering low carb and high protein.

Feedback

Larger box sizes would be good

Cool look & feelAmazing website
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

I found the flavors to be really nice, and barely a sacrifice to go low carb.

Feedback

The boxes are too big for the contents, and made from flimsy cardboard.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
Useful review?
8 months ago
💰Invested in SURREAL
Experience

I want to start this by saying that I am not normally a cereal person, mostly because cereal has so much sugar and other crap in it that I'm like no thanks, that's not how I want to start my day. When Surreal came along, I was intrigued. Is it possible to love yourself and have cereal for breakfast?! Can it be?? Anyways, I was into it. I got a discount for working for one of the investors in the brand and bought the variety pack. I went from not having had cereal for breakfast in years to having it every morning! The flavors were pleasantly delish. The branding was great. The customer service was fab. Win, win, win.

Feedback

I would love if there was a refill system for this cereal. I feel like that would really win me over. Also, the reason I deducted a star is because the portion sizes are pretty small, and the general amount they give you per box is pretty meager. If you were sharing this with a family, you'd go through an entire box in one meal. Put more in, please ;) We're hungry out here!

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
Useful review?
9 months ago
Experience

Finally, a tasty, healthy, low carb cereal - love the flavours, packaging and overall brand. The only thing keeping me from the full 5 stars ⭐️ is the amount of servings - the recommended portion size is a bit small, perhaps good if you're on a diet, but with my normal serving size I only get 4-5 servings per box, so it feels a bit too expensive.

Feedback

Amount of cereal in the box. Aftertaste is a little strange too but not super offputting.

Cool look & feelTasty 😋Sustainable products
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

Loved this cereal and the mission - was pleasantly surprised by the taste and the crunch, given it uses a completely different set of ingredients to normal cereals. I got so excited that I went around the house comparing the protein content of one serving to other meals: it’s the same as two eggs, 3/4 tin of beans, 375g of my favourite Greek yoghurt. Amazing!

Feedback

The price point is very high and feels justified based on the portion size written on the box, but when you open it and measure out 30g, it does feel small. On the product itself, the texture and crunch is great, both plain and with milk. There is an ever so slight after taste though.

Innovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Arjun R's review of SURREAL
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

Cereal tastes decent for a 'health' cereal. And the top of the box is already perforated, so you don't need to do any ripping and inevitably break the closure. It's the small things.

Feedback

Size of bag is supposedly "7 servings." Maybe if you're a small child. Price is high. I know, better quality ingredients and all. But then I find oats and PB work just fine.

Fun unboxing 📦
Michelle W's review of SURREAL
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I love the brand. I love the flavours. I love the health benefits. I don't love the portion sizes.

Feedback

But the price point is very high and the amount of cereal you get is ridiculously bad. Honestly, I'll get through that box in two servings. When you charge so much, the expectation is higher. It is a shame, as slightly putting me off buying another pack. Hopefully this can be resolved as otherwise, everything is great!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTasty 😋
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

But sweet for a traditional cereal, plus Recomended portion size seems a little small, but that said, for a post protein workout snack adding a couple of spoons of Greek yogurt they are delicious. I also have a crisp addiction and so a handful in the afternoon stops me from reaching for crisps or biscuits. Will buy again.

Lovely customer supportInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Incredibly tasty and actually good for you. Immense.

Feedback

Different shapes? More flavours? Abit cheaper? But look. We knit picking here.

Worth the money 💸Easy subscription management 🔁Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Sustainable products
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Have been eating Surreal cereal most mornings for the last couple of months. Have tried all the flavours but cocoa and peanut butter come way out on top for me. I found cinnamon and berry too sweet and frosted too salty. I love the macro profile and perhaps the best thing is the crunch. These guys never go soggy even when left swimming in milk for up to 15 minutes (yep, my breakfast was interrupted by a phone call one morning). Whilst 32g does look like a small portion, due to its high protein content, it keeps the hunger away until lunchtime and beyond. (And, actually, if you weigh out a 40-45g portion of "standard" high sugar cereal, this also looks tiny AND you are hungry again by mid-morning AND you have consumed a crazy amount of sugar.) As with all higher protein products, it is a bit pricey but the easy to set up and manage subscription service does reduce the cost a little. In summary: Surreal is yum!

Feedback

The cocoa flavour could be more chocolatey. Get rid of the inner plastic bag - a paper one would work just as well.

High qualityEasy subscription management 🔁Tasty 😋
Useful review?