SURREAL

4.1712 Ratings

Surreal makes high protein, low carb, and zero sugar cereal featuring classic childhood flavors.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.2
Average rating from 12 users
73%
Would recommend it to a friend

SURREAL Reviews

💰Invested in SURREAL
Experience

I want to start this by saying that I am not normally a cereal person, mostly because cereal has so much sugar and other crap in it that I'm like no thanks, that's not how I want to start my day. When Surreal came along, I was intrigued. Is it possible to love yourself and have cereal for breakfast?! Can it be?? Anyways, I was into it. I got a discount for working for one of the investors in the brand and bought the variety pack. I went from not having had cereal for breakfast in years to having it every morning! The flavors were pleasantly delish. The branding was great. The customer service was fab. Win, win, win.

Feedback

I would love if there was a refill system for this cereal. I feel like that would really win me over. Also, the reason I deducted a star is because the portion sizes are pretty small, and the general amount they give you per box is pretty meager. If you were sharing this with a family, you'd go through an entire box in one meal. Put more in, please ;) We're hungry out here!

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
a month ago
Experience

Finally, a tasty, healthy, low carb cereal - love the flavours, packaging and overall brand. The only thing keeping me from the full 5 stars ⭐️ is the amount of servings - the recommended portion size is a bit small, perhaps good if you're on a diet, but with my normal serving size I only get 4-5 servings per box, so it feels a bit too expensive.

Feedback

Amount of cereal in the box. Aftertaste is a little strange too but not super offputting.

Cool look & feelTasty 😋Sustainable products
3 months ago
Experience

Loved this cereal and the mission - was pleasantly surprised by the taste and the crunch, given it uses a completely different set of ingredients to normal cereals. I got so excited that I went around the house comparing the protein content of one serving to other meals: it’s the same as two eggs, 3/4 tin of beans, 375g of my favourite Greek yoghurt. Amazing!

Feedback

The price point is very high and feels justified based on the portion size written on the box, but when you open it and measure out 30g, it does feel small. On the product itself, the texture and crunch is great, both plain and with milk. There is an ever so slight after taste though.

Innovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Arjun R's review of SURREAL
4 months ago
Experience

Cereal tastes decent for a 'health' cereal. And the top of the box is already perforated, so you don't need to do any ripping and inevitably break the closure. It's the small things.

Feedback

Size of bag is supposedly "7 servings." Maybe if you're a small child. Price is high. I know, better quality ingredients and all. But then I find oats and PB work just fine.

Fun unboxing 📦
Michelle W's review of SURREAL
4 months ago
Experience

The initial taste is ok but the more you chew, the weirder it gets…halfway through it starts to taste bad and the aftertaste is pretty gross too.

a day ago
Experience

I wouldn't call myself a regular cereal eater, but I do like the occasional bowl of Frosted Flakes as a breakfast treat. I was hoping that this could be a slightly more "grown up" alternative. At first bite I really liked the cinnamon and chocolate, but after a full bowl I felt the flavors were a little bit off and the ingredients felt a bit stodgy. Still, I think this is a good alternative if high protein is a top priority.

Cool look & feel
7 days ago
Experience

I LOVE SURREAL. The products taste great (Cinnamon and Frosted being my favs). You'd think the lack of sugar and high protein content would impact the flavour but you still get that sweet taste and classic cereal crunch!

Innovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing website
2 months ago
Experience

I love this product - it’s good for you and it tastes delicious. Surreal have put the fun back into cereal. Branding is on point!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
2 months ago
🤝Friends with SURREAL
Experience

Let's start from the top. Surreal's website is a real vibe - some fun weaved in between some useful product and nutritional information. The order process was really straightforward. I got email updates when I ordered, when my order was dispatched, and with some handy tracking info for the last mile. Happy days. Cereal arrived really neatly packaged. Variety pack is my go-to because I actually really like mixing the flavours. PB & Cocoa + Frosted & Cinnamon are my flavour combos but have seen some other more adventurous stuff shared on Surreal's Instagram. Crunch and flavour for me are really good and love the way the milk gets flavoured. Really good with oat milk. It's really good as a healthy snack between meals or on a heap of Greek yoghurt for breakfast.

Feedback

Only thing I'd change is the density of the hoops so that a serving size is a bigger bowl. That said, I've now got used to the serving size and know that I'm getting my macros from it. However, I want the Surreal eating experience to last longer so a few more lighter hoops would solve that for me :)

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelTasty 😋Amazing website
2 months ago
Experience

I love it! Convenient, easy, delicious brekkie option that gives me energy and keeps me full for ages. Also great for midnight snacks :)

Feedback

More flavours (maybe something caramel or fruity?) Also toys in the boxes.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Lucy B's review of SURREAL
2 months ago