HiBAR

4.510 Ratings

HIBAR makes salon-quality plastic-free hair care products using clean ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 10 users
90%
Would recommend it to a friend

HiBAR Reviews

Experience

This shampoo bar lasts a long time and I like that the shape makes it easy to rub onto scalp

Feedback

More options or maybe a dry shampoo bar?

Eco-friendly packagingSustainable products
25 days ago
Experience

HiBar has a great solid conditioner that requires a small amount during application to leave your hair feeling soft and smooth. It lasts quite a while and if the perfect way to cut out plastic packaging!

High qualityInnovative productSustainable products
3 months ago
Experience

This was my first plastic-free shampoo experience, so was admittedly inexperienced. Didn't really know how to get the shampoo to cover my whole scalp as opposed to just the ends of my hair, since it comes in a bar and can't lather with water as easily. It's really concentrated and as a result, dried out my hair and got it a bit tangly. I've heard I'm not using this right but that's all I got from the instructions. Still love the mission, but am tempted to try some other low-plastic alternatives that are easier to use.

Feedback

Would be great if it came with a small container or something that suctions onto the wall. Don't have the luxury of a dry ledge in my bathroom, so my bar was sitting in a bit of a puddle and it got soggy, making me feel like I was wasting product.

Innovative productSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
3 months ago
Experience

I have two of the shampoo bars (one regular, one moisturizing) and one conditioner. I like the packaging and shape of the bars and they're easy to use. They provide enough lather for my fine, bob-length hair.

Feedback

Customer service explained that it's easy to tell the shampoo and conditioner bars apart because of their texture, but marking "S" and "C" on each bar would be helpful. It's hard to know exactly how to store it. I had to buy a bamboo soap dish to keep mine in, and I store it out of the shower so it won't melt. The travel pouch (which didn't exist when I purchased mine) is sold out.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

Back before I started shaving my head I was using HiBAR as a shampoo replacement. It nailed it! I had tried other bar shampoos but their formulation always felt the best, lathered up really nicely and rinsed clean.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
10 months ago
Experience

I love how long it lasts, I love the eco friendly factor with the low-waste packaging, and I love that it's TSA friendly. It definitely works for my values and my hair.

Feedback

However, is it THE perfect shampoo for my hair in particular? No, but that's the hard thing with shampoos is everyone's hair is different, so it's hard to find the best formula for you. It's definitely worth trying!

Good for gifts 🎁Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

As someone with damaged, dry, frizzy curly hair, I love HiBar. I have dealt with dry and unmanageable frizz all my life and its been a nightmare, but HiBar actually revived my hair to the point that I don't even use serums, gels, moisturizers, cremes, ANYTHING. I just wash my hair and let it air-dry and it comes out so good even my hairdresser asked me what I was doing. As someone who is a huge believer in sustainability, I love that its plastic-free. I used the orange colored shampoo and conditioner which I believe is called "Volumize".

Feedback

The biggest issue I have, is that it does not lather well at all. I take great care to try and ensure Im shampooing my entire head, but I often come out of the shower and when my hair dries, I find that there are big greasy patches in the back of my head. This doesn't happen with liquid shampoos and other brands of solid shampoo that I've tried. This product could easily be 5 stars if the lather was improved. And that point goes for both shampoo and conditioner, although my lies mostly with the shampoo.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
a month ago
Experience

I think it’s really nice that shampoo bars are challenging the plastic bottles in the shampoo market. Much more ecological. The design of the shampoo bars is also really nice!

Feedback

I easily mixed up which of the bars where shampoo and which one was conditioner, even if they are different colours. Maybe they could make this easier for the consumer somehow.

High qualityCool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
2 months ago
Experience

This conditioner bar is the best conditioner bar I've tried — it's incredibly moisturizing and lasts *forever.* Love reducing plastic waste without sacrificing any quality.

Feedback

Would like to have scent options within each type of bar, or perhaps an unscented version.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
a year ago
Experience

I love the sustainable packaging and quality of the products I've tried from HiBar. The website was super easy to order from and the products last much longer than a typical bottle of shampoo or conditioner, especially if you don't wash your hair every day.

Feedback

There are some tweaks I would make to the formula for my specific hair, but they still work for me.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
a year ago