HiBAR

4.4117 Reviews

HIBAR makes salon-quality plastic-free hair care products using clean ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.4
Average rating from 17 users
88%
Recommend it to a friend

HiBAR Reviews

8 days ago
Experience

bars seem like the more intuitive choice for conditioner. they just need to be emollient enough to spread around the hair. shampooing with a bar that's been used down to the small bits can be frustrating to lather; at that stage it's easiest to dissolve with the dregs of a leftover liquid shampoo and mix in some water. would definitely like to see these more available in stores.

Innovative productTravel friendly ✈️Sustainable products
Useful review?
9 days ago
Experience

I really wanted to love this product! I love that it's clean ingredients, I love that it's plastic free, and I love the mission. It just doesn't work for my hair. My hair felt greasy and heavy.

Feedback

The product is expensive. If you're looking for something that is fragrant or has an attractive smell, this might not be the product for you.

Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
18 days ago
Experience

Love the shape of these and they work perfectly!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Incredible product and incredible mission. you are missing a real treat this is a different experience and totally upgraded

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

This shampoo bar lasts a long time and I like that the shape makes it easy to rub onto scalp

Feedback

More options or maybe a dry shampoo bar?

Eco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?
9 months ago
Experience

HiBar has a great solid conditioner that requires a small amount during application to leave your hair feeling soft and smooth. It lasts quite a while and if the perfect way to cut out plastic packaging!

High qualityInnovative productSustainable products
Useful review?
10 months ago
Experience

This was my first plastic-free shampoo experience, so was admittedly inexperienced. Didn't really know how to get the shampoo to cover my whole scalp as opposed to just the ends of my hair, since it comes in a bar and can't lather with water as easily. It's really concentrated and as a result, dried out my hair and got it a bit tangly. I've heard I'm not using this right but that's all I got from the instructions. Still love the mission, but am tempted to try some other low-plastic alternatives that are easier to use.

Feedback

Would be great if it came with a small container or something that suctions onto the wall. Don't have the luxury of a dry ledge in my bathroom, so my bar was sitting in a bit of a puddle and it got soggy, making me feel like I was wasting product.

Innovative productSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I have two of the shampoo bars (one regular, one moisturizing) and one conditioner. I like the packaging and shape of the bars and they're easy to use. They provide enough lather for my fine, bob-length hair.

Feedback

Customer service explained that it's easy to tell the shampoo and conditioner bars apart because of their texture, but marking "S" and "C" on each bar would be helpful. It's hard to know exactly how to store it. I had to buy a bamboo soap dish to keep mine in, and I store it out of the shower so it won't melt. The travel pouch (which didn't exist when I purchased mine) is sold out.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

Back before I started shaving my head I was using HiBAR as a shampoo replacement. It nailed it! I had tried other bar shampoos but their formulation always felt the best, lathered up really nicely and rinsed clean.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I love how long it lasts, I love the eco friendly factor with the low-waste packaging, and I love that it's TSA friendly. It definitely works for my values and my hair.

Feedback

However, is it THE perfect shampoo for my hair in particular? No, but that's the hard thing with shampoos is everyone's hair is different, so it's hard to find the best formula for you. It's definitely worth trying!

Good for gifts 🎁Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?