Experiment

4.4 155 Reviews

Experiment sells a line of science-backed, sustainable beauty products featuring a reusable face mask.

Experiment Reviews

Experiment reviews

4.38

93% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Moisturizing buffer jelly serum
  • Super saturated provides skin glow
  • Supports skin after chemical peels
  • Refill purchase system available
  • Buffer jelly may cause bumps
  • Packaging not appealing
  • Dehydration lines visible with super saturated
  • Possible need for additional hydration

Experiment's Super Saturated and Buffer Jelly serums are highly praised for their moisturizing properties, leaving skin soft, plump, and dewy. However, some users report visible dehydration lines despite using Super Saturated, indicating the need for additional hydration.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

155 reviews

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

it works exactly as advertised and is a fun vibe for sure - super fun you can use any serum you'd like with it.

Feedback

I just don't find myself reaching for it honestly, sheet masks should already be a part of your skin care routine for you to use it on the regular. I thought this would convert me into being more of a face mask girlie but alas - I remain outside the club.

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This mask is just so fun! Like you can't help but laugh, the vibes are just that good when I'm wearing it. I appreciate the ear loops and two sizes (I got small 🥺👉👈).

Feedback

I know the bag it came in is resealable, but I wish it came with some sort of carrying case similar to that of the Dieux eye mask. Just a thought!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

It works great, and it makes me feel like an alien! I LOVE that it hooks around the back of your ears, makes it easy to wear while you're getting ready, and it doesn't fall off if you have facial hair as other face masks do.

9 months ago

I recently bought the buffer jelly. It seems to help my skin lock in moisture and help it not look so dry.

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I love how strange and wonderful the brand is. Def speaks to my freak side. I really liked the concept of a reusable mask and the idea of it helping to keep the product on your face longer and help it seep in. I own all 3 of their products and they are all stellar! Amazing ingredients AND branding :)

9 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

The buffer jelly is like a more liquid form of Aquaphor, the bottle is tiny and hard to get the product out. I think the price is too high for what it is.

10 months ago

Who picked the bottle for super saturated?? Terrible design. Messy messy! Hard to pour an accurate ammount & gets all over the bottle. Would be much better in a pump or in the bottle they used for buffer. Buffer is ok. Does what it says. Much better value than I expected. It’s been lasting me forever

a year ago

Received a free product from Experiment

I've tried using the Buffer Jelly in two ways: first, by mixing it with my moisturizer to give it a boost, and secondly, as the last layer of my skincare routine. It has an interesting texture for sure, kinda like a thick oil. I didn't really like how it felt on its own but loved mixing it in my moisturizer, I think it really absorbed into my skin better this way! I have VERY combination skin with eczema on my cheeks, and an oily t-zone. It was too heavy for my forehead and nose but after a few nights it did minimize my dry patches. I'm interested to see how it performs in the winter when my skin needs hydration the most! A little goes a longgg way and I wish the bottle was a bit easier to squeeze, I always squeeze out too much. Overall I've never tried a skincare product quite like this and if it works in the winter too, I'll definitely repurchase. Someone also mentioned it'd be great to compliment with a gua shua, which is a good idea!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I have been using the buffer jelly every night for almost two weeks now and I really love it. It really seems to lock in moisture and my normally dehydrated, dry skin seems way more hydrated when I wake up. The product isn’t anywhere near as thick or sticky as Vaseline, aquaphor or other occlusive products typically used for slugging so it doesn’t leave any product residue on my pillow as long as I let it soak in for a few minutes before bed. Overall the product is really great and my only complaint is the bottle design itself. Sometimes I find it difficult to get it out and other times wayyyy too much comes out at once and I have to waste some.

a year ago

I have had the Avant Guard face mask for a while but what really blew me away is the Super Saturated serum. I have really sensitive skin (periorial dermatitis prone!) so I really limit the volume of serums and skincare products I use, really just sticking to the bare minimum. I was nervous about adding this in but now it's actually become the staple for me. It's sticky but it dries down into a really grippy finish that makes it feel like my moisturizer is going even farther. I use it morning and night!

2 years ago

It's great! The mask is super thin and well designed, easy to put on and stays on. Comfortable to wear. I'm petite and got a size small and the mask fit perfectly.

Feedback

I wore this on top of a sheet mask and it was great except for the leaks that were running down my neck -- the mask already has a space for the chin but I recommend extending it to catch the serum!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I'm a certified skincare girly and I also wear glasses so this reusable mask is a godsend for me! I really do feel like I get the most of all my skincare products when I use this mask. As someone with dry skin, I'm always worrying about transepidermal water loss so this mask makes me feel so secure. I also like to put this on top of sheetmasks when I do them at night because they keep my glasses on my nose

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

The mask fits and feels great. It sits comfortably and doesn't pull on the ears. I was able to sit and work with the mask on which is a bonus. Using a disposable sheet mask means you have to lay semi-reclined the whole time and they usually don't fit very well. This was an awesome fit and I love that it's reusable.

Feedback

I don't love the color. Everything else was great!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

*i have combo skin and prioritize reducing blackheads + acne i use this when my skin feels particularly dry and i'd continue using this product mostly in the winter because it still leaves that sticky/greasy residue that anyone with oily skin gets worried about. the nozzle is a bit too big to squeeze out a very small amount, so it's less pillow-friendly than i'd like it to be. LOVE the branding and the squeezy bottle because of my long nails and ugh, the colors are perfection. just not for my skin type!

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This is something that I never knew that I needed! I have bone-dry skin and live in a bone-dry climate during the winter . I didn't realize how much my product was going unused ! Total game-changer.

Feedback

The feeling of a face mask is something that I just need to get used to. I also wish it told me just how to disinfect it without risking the integrity of the product but I just take my bets shot with Dawn.

10 months ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I got the buffer jelly from a Thingdrop and have really enjoyed adding this product to my skincare routine. I have unfortunately broken down my skin barrier pretty significantly due to years of harsh acne fighting products and this Experiment product felt like a much needed surge of moisture. I only wish the bottle was a little larger!

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

I’ve been having skin barrier issues (annd rosacea to keep at bay) and I ordered the Buffer Jelly. I use it at night as a final step to my routine, after moisturizer. Been using it for 4 weeks now and I wanna say it’s working great! It’s oily but not too heavy. You get a shiny glow when you first apply it, but if you run your hands over it a second time, it seems to lessen the shine or absorbs in. Also love that it’s a small bottle, which is good for travel. Just beware that it’s pretty long lasting overnight, so for side sleepers: watch out for it rubbing off onto your pillow! It’s now a new addition to my nighttime routine, so I’ll def be purchasing again.

a year ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

As a big fan of the slugging method for my dry, eczema-prone skin, the idea of using a gel moisturizer was a hard sell but for the ThingDrop discounted price I couldn't say no. My fears were justified, I just don't see the point in this product. The texture on my skin is like a dry oil, it's extremely slippery so it doesn't sit where I put it- the whole point of a occlusive layer, and when I wake up in the morning I find that it's completely wiped off leaving my driest areas exposed. Even if it did work for me there is no way I could justify the original price when petroleum exists (if you don't want a heavy feeling just use less)