Curology

3.12 • 42 Reviews

Curology offers customized and accessible prescription skincare.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.1
Average rating from 42 users
49%
Recommend it to a friend

Curology Reviews

22 days ago
Experience

Was really surprised how well this was working for me. Their branding is simple but comforting. I'm on month 3 and have seen my acne clean up a ton, though it made me get a lot of black heads. Talking to their support team is easy and they were quick to come back with feedback for a stronger formula for my custom formula

Feedback

The spf 30 chap stick sucks. The other one's are great so maybe refine that one more?

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

The onboarding process was very fluid, streamlined, and enjoyable. Communication with the dermatologists was immediate. Delivery came on time and the unboxing experience was nice. The product prescribed to me did dry out my skin a fair bit, and I might've needed a tweak to my prescription after a few weeks of trialing the initial formulation.

Feedback

Needing to commit to (buying) a full-sized product means there would be a fair bit of product wastage if I did need to change to another prescription/strength.

Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Curology helped my acne some, but I feel that after awhile it was ineffective. It also began to get expensive, but it is still cheaper than medications a dermatologist might prescribe. It dried my face out in the beginning, but that's an expected side effect to keep in mind.

Feedback

Maybe a trial program before having to order a whole bottle.

Cool look & feel
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Experience with their doctors is seamless, but frustrating when you suffer from hormonal acne. Felt like my skin plateaued and they didn't have the latest medications to offer.

Lovely customer supportInnovative product
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I think it did a great job of rescuing my skin by putting it on a routine and reducing the amount of nonessential products I used. Having one serum that I used every night and cutting out the rest really helped my acne, but after ~2 years I eventually found which ingredients I needed and switched to purchasing just those. The ingredients don't really require a dermatologist's prescription, but having them there to review pictures of my skin and suggest alternative ingredients at the beginning of my acne journey was so nice and helpful.

Feedback

Not much. I think they're really great for people who are just starting out learning about ingredients and trying to find a really simplified but custom routine.

Lovely customer supportInnovative productWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

Honestly, I didn't notice a huge difference. I tried Curology when I mostly had issues with texture - I wanted more glowy & moisturized skin. I don't think Curology was the right product for me to use, since they seem to be more focused on treating active acne. The limited steps in my skincare routine (just a custom formula + a cleanser and moisturizer) made it feel like my skin wasn't getting anything, and I didn't notice anything after a few months of use.

Feedback

I didn't really enjoy the cream consistency of the formula, and I felt like I was tugging at my skin slightly when applying it. I wish the formula was more of a gel that felt hydrating on my skin.

Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

I've used their anti-aging retinol product. I like how their products are customized for you and for a prescription-easily accessible. They are expensive, so if your insurance covers retin-a, I would get it through your provider.

Feedback

Kinda expensive

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative product
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

It worked for the first few months however as someone with serious acne issues, it helped me to learn about my skin health and active ingredients that can make a difference. Since I have cystic hormonal acne, Curology sadly did not end up targeting the main issue. I've been taking oral medication after seeing a dermatologist and it made a big difference. Simplying and using drugstore products like LRP's Adapalene also works more for my Asian skin. I feel like the subscription is also expensive. However, if you feel inclined to try it is not terrible and would not damage your skin.

Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

Helped me a bit but stopped seeing results after a few weeks. I've heard other people having a great experience but I didn't have much success.

Feedback

For the price there are better alternatives.

Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

I used this for a few months and it was easy enough to get started. The product was fine but I feel like it didn't help much with my acne. I ended up canceling and going to a dermatologist who prescribed me stronger stuff which has significantly improved my skin faster and better than curology.

Useful review?