Lumin

2.9 20 Reviews

Lumin creates premium skin, body, and hair care for men using pure and simple ingredients.

Lumin Reviews

Lumin reviews

2.9

44% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

20 reviews

4 months ago

Not greasy and it's easy to use! I had the earlier version which is in the old packaging.

a month ago

It’s scam, one you give your card details for sample products, they I’ll debit next time and send you items without your permission.

3 years ago

I love the branding and the mission to get men to use skincare and grooming products, however I don't think that means you need to add in some of the ingredients just to appeal to men. The fragrance and some other things aren't my first choice in skincare.

Feedback

The marketing is just terrible... the ads depict men showing or doing skincare for their friends and that just doesn't happen. Also getting a girl to say skincare is hot is just cringey. Seems like Axe marketing or something for middle schoolers, not men.

3 years ago

The skincare products seemed fine (although to be fair I did not repurchase them) but I found the haircare items feeling like they were watered down and felt cheap, didn't work or leave your hair feeling good.

8 months ago

Solid for Men's. Not greasy. Combo skin. Easy to commit. Fantastic cleanser! Moisturizer was incredibly balanced, my wife stole is often.

2 years ago

I've been on a mission to test out different male-focused skin care brands, and Lumin was next up on my list. I like the option to do a trial run and I added on the eye gel and anti-aging serum to get the full experience. Packaging and overall branding was nice and minimal. One thing I noted was that the product names on the trial packaging didn't match up with the names in the product book. Not a huge issue, but slightly confusing if you plan to reorder. My experience with the products has been okay so far. I'm generally looking for skin care that is fragrance-free, and most of the skin care products don't have any noticeable scent. As some testers have noted, the daily moisturizer isn't SPF, so you'll need an additional sun screen, but I generally like the feel. No breakouts or bad reactions, and my skin does feel a little less dry. We'll see in the coming weeks if I notice any difference or improvement over the last brand; I generally try to test for 6-8 weeks to see what works for me. Quick update: Finished the moisturizer and overall was happy with how my skin felt. Less so about the eye gel and anti-aging serum. Didn't see any noticeable improvements in either area. The face wash has been fine; lightweight enough to use every day and not dry my skin, but the scrub was a total dud. Compared to the Kiehl's face scrub for men, which is my go-to pre-shave wash, the Lumin scrub had no grit.

Feedback

Cancelling the subscription was a pain and it felt like it was intentionally designed that way. I wasn't ready to commit to Lumin (was still just starting my trial) and so I cancelled the subscription via the website and it took multiple tries before I was able to clear everything out. It's non-intuitive and I get that they want people to keep their subscriptions, but making the cancellation process on the website overly complex is a bad way to do that. What's worse is that after cancelling on the website, somehow the entire subscription still renewed and I was told that I could pay for shipping and send everything back. Not a great customer experience and it's made me much less likely to renew the subscription after the trial run.

2 years ago

got the testers, then a month's supply by accident. generally I quite liked the packaging. it's not flash but unobtrusive and would blend in to wherever you want to keep it without much trouble. the creams seemed pretty good to me. nice consistency, not a strong scent, and I particularly liked the undereye cream. the roller thing for wrinkles didn't seem to do much. the shampoo was bad. seemed really thin and like it hadn't cleaned my hair at all. then the conditioner wasn't much better. the charcoal face scrub thing was also just weird a bit useless. all in all, I'd say it's not worth the money and there are better options out there, even if the moisturisers might be the right weight for someone.

Feedback

the haircare and the facial scrub.

3 years ago

The plus: Lumin is at least targeting a part of the market - the men's space, with a quintessentially masculine bent - that does not have much exposure and education about grooming. Reaching those consumers is, ceteris paribus, good for evolving the narratives around masculinity and personal care as well as for the average skin health (ASH?) of the American populace at large. However, the product leaves much to be desired. The packaging is not too bad (design is a bit rote but not unseemly); but the scents are quite vanilla (assuming that it is meant to be generic enough to appeal to a mass audience) and the product itself feels quite low-quality. That being said, for the newly initiated skincare customer, that need not be a sticking point - at least not at first.

Feedback

Branding and marketing will get you customers, but quality and experience will keep them around. The best branding in the world will not be able to (indefinitely) sustain a bad product. If Lumin focuses on fixing that, they could channel their marketing success into something more meaningful.

3 years ago

Cheap product and overpriced, signed up to their trial and gave me a bad reaction.

Feedback

The marketing is very annoying as well, can't escape it. Cancelled my subscription after the trial.