Lumin

2.147 Ratings

Lumin creates premium skin, body, and hair care for men using pure and simple ingredients.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

2.1
Average rating from 7 users
29%
Would recommend it to a friend

Lumin Reviews

Experience

Some of the best skincare products I've used that target a male audience. I really like their branding and style, which look refined and classy on my bathroom counter. The face balm (moisturizer) is a bit thick for my preference, but it actually works great in a NYC winter. Their under-eye patches, nose pore strips, and toner are all great, too.

Feedback

A less thick option for moisturizer would be great, but I think the balm works well in some situtions.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingLuxury
10 months ago
Experience

The plus: Lumin is at least targeting a part of the market - the men's space, with a quintessentially masculine bent - that does not have much exposure and education about grooming. Reaching those consumers is, ceteris paribus, good for evolving the narratives around masculinity and personal care as well as for the average skin health (ASH?) of the American populace at large. However, the product leaves much to be desired. The packaging is not too bad (design is a bit rote but not unseemly); but the scents are quite vanilla (assuming that it is meant to be generic enough to appeal to a mass audience) and the product itself feels quite low-quality. That being said, for the newly initiated skincare customer, that need not be a sticking point - at least not at first.

Feedback

Branding and marketing will get you customers, but quality and experience will keep them around. The best branding in the world will not be able to (indefinitely) sustain a bad product. If Lumin focuses on fixing that, they could channel their marketing success into something more meaningful.

Has no effect 🤷
10 months ago
Experience

Cheap product and overpriced, signed up to their trial and gave me a bad reaction.

Feedback

The marketing is very annoying as well, can't escape it. Cancelled my subscription after the trial.

10 months ago
Experience

I love the branding and the mission to get men to use skincare and grooming products, however I don't think that means you need to add in some of the ingredients just to appeal to men. The fragrance and some other things aren't my first choice in skincare.

Feedback

The marketing is just terrible... the ads depict men showing or doing skincare for their friends and that just doesn't happen. Also getting a girl to say skincare is hot is just cringey. Seems like Axe marketing or something for middle schoolers, not men.

10 months ago
Experience

The skincare products seemed fine (although to be fair I did not repurchase them) but I found the haircare items feeling like they were watered down and felt cheap, didn't work or leave your hair feeling good.

Jesse R's review of Lumin
10 months ago
Experience

got the testers, then a month's supply by accident. generally I quite liked the packaging. it's not flash but unobtrusive and would blend in to wherever you want to keep it without much trouble. the creams seemed pretty good to me. nice consistency, not a strong scent, and I particularly liked the undereye cream. the roller thing for wrinkles didn't seem to do much. the shampoo was bad. seemed really thin and like it hadn't cleaned my hair at all. then the conditioner wasn't much better. the charcoal face scrub thing was also just weird a bit useless. all in all, I'd say it's not worth the money and there are better options out there, even if the moisturisers might be the right weight for someone.

Feedback

the haircare and the facial scrub.

Has no effect 🤷Love the brand's mission 💕
2 months ago
Experience

A good product but maybe not worth the full price. A year ago I was initially skeptical of Lumin as I had only encountered it on Instagram ads but after a friend tried it with positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a go. The products come in minimalist packaging but without looking cheap. I received the classic set which includes: charcoal cleanser, exfoliating rub, moisturiser and dark circle defense. My overall initial impressions were good. When ordering the set you choose your skin type which makes you feel as if the products are more custom to your skin. The cleanser gives the effect of cleaning skin without being too intense. I have experienced face wash in the past that stripped my skin of it's natural oils resulting in more spots, this was not the case for this product. The exfoliating rub seemed like a bit of a gimmick. It maybe worked to some extent however I felt as if it didn't prevent blackheads. The moisturiser was thick and I felt as if it worked well as a night cream. As it didn't include SPF, I didn't use it as a day cream. (They have since started selling an SPF cream at a steep price so I have not yet tried it) The eye rub was something I hadn't tried before and although my skin felt good, I didn't see a noticeable difference. I do not have the experience to say whether competitors work better/worse. After enjoying the trial, I couldn't justify the full price tag so I went to cancel, upon cancelling they offered my a discount so I stuck with it. The 2 month subscriptions last longer for me so I normally defer them to once every three months. Overall as a brand I think they are doing well to normalise mens skincare however despite the good quality I don't know if I can justify the full price. I have continued with the discounted subscription until I find a better alternative. I'm also not fond of the carbon footprint that comes with the shipping from the US to the UK. If you're unsure about trying this product, the one month trial and easy cancellation is worth a try before making your own decision on the product.

Cool look & feel
4 months ago