Dossier

4.2836 Reviews

Dossier creates premium, clean, ethically sourced fragrances for a fair price.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.3
Average rating from 36 users
97%
Recommend it to a friend

Dossier Reviews

21 days ago
Experience

LOVE!! I'm using the ambery vanilla scent right now and it smells exactly like the YSL's Black Opium perfume that it is inspired by. I will say that the sent is fades away slightly faster, but for this price I think it's totally worth it. I also love that all the scents say what brand/collection they are inspired by!

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
22 days ago
Experience

Amazing value for the quality of products. I love that they don't claim to be "dupes" and instead create scents inspired by well-known fragrances. Even though the packaging is not particularly artistic, it is still well-designed, particularly the magnetic lid and the weighted bottle. Both the purchasing and return processes are easy to navigate as well. Some of my fragrances from them don't last that long, which I understand as getting what I'm paying for.

Feedback

Having a way to test fragrances before buying would be nice and cut down on the need to return opened bottles! Would also like to see better packaging when buying multiple bottles of perfume. Each of my perfumes were boxed separately and it felt like a lot of cardboard boxes at the end. Lastly, it would be nice to have more selections of fragrances inspired by on-trend, niche brands.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Smells amazingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I was looking to purchase the YSL Libre perfume and got targeted by dossier on instagram the same day. i got very surprised by the quality of their website - the journey is perfect, the quiz, the filters, it is SO EASY to find the perfume you were looking for. + Dossier is vegan and Cruelty free! I receveid my FLORAL LAVENDER perfume very very quickly and it smell exactly as my YSL Libre! $29 instead of spending over $100! BEST deal

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️Smells amazingAmazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I ordered a dupe of Tom Ford Tobacco Vanille and while I wouldn’t call it an exact dupe, it smells incredible. The bottle is luxe, scent lingers, and the notes are clearly labeled.

Feedback

My only ‘ick’ about this brand is their email marketing. It’s almost daily emails in my inbox. Grab a bottle- their return policy is great.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelSmells amazing
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

OMG if you want to smell like luxury then you need Dossier. I used to nearly cry spending money on nice perfume until I found this brand. Their dupes literally smell exactly like the expensive ones and two sprays lasts all day!! They always have discounts and sales going on so I would wait to buy until you see one, but definitely take advantage and buy some!

Feedback

Everything about this brand is amazing!!

Good for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Smells amazing
Kelsey J's review of Dossier
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I found the scents quite strong, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to wear for too long. The next day I smelled the shirt I was wearing and the scent totally mellowed. Maybe I picked the wrong scents for me. Their customer service was awesome and I returned without a problem.

Feedback

I’m not sure. I think I need to sample scents as I’m not fond of too many.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Loveeeeee Dossier! I've bought a few perfumes from them and have been consistently impressed with how accurate the scents are. Great for buying back ups of your favorite expensey perfumes that you don't want to wear every day (but you really do want to wear every day).

Good for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸Smells amazingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I really wanted to love Dossier, but I do feel like I'm getting the cheap version of a nice perfume. I love the concept and the packaging is well done, but there's a reason high-quality perfumes often come in smaller packages. The way this bottle sprays, sends way too much content into the air. It's a but overwhelming. At the end of the day, the product feels like what it is: a dupe of something triple maybe even quadruple the price point.

Feedback

Let's introduce a roller option?

Cool look & feel
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

Good for the price but the quality isn’t great. The fragrance doesn’t last very long and the notes/complexity is lacking a little? I find that after an hour it started to smell pretty different and less like the original version it’s imitating. I bought 6 and only kept the le labo santal 33.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

Whenever I am considering purchasing a perfume, I check Dossier first to see if they have a reasonable dupe. My first Dossier purchase was "Floral Marshmallow", which is inspired by By Kilian's "Love, Don't Be Shy" – at less than 20% of the cost! The bottle isn't anything special, but it's not an eyesore either. It looks right at home on my vanity next to some more expensive fragrances. I appreciate the weightiness of the bottle as well as the magnetic closure. Sometimes, these dupe fragrances can be very short-lived, but I find that my Dossier perfume lasts all day.

Feedback

Just more options! They have a really solid variety, but it's always a bummer when I'm looking for a particular dupe and they don't offer it. Also, I appreciate the free returns, but would love to be able to order samples.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Smells amazingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?