The Farmer's Dog

4.38 β€’ 16 Reviews

The Farmer's Dog makes fresh, pre-portioned pet food delivered to your door.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands β€”Β because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.4
Average rating from 16 users
88%
Would recommend it to a friend

The Farmer's Dog Reviews

Experience

Love this company, it's branding and packaging. My dog is OBSESSED, it's very straightforward and easy to use. I really love the eco-friendly packaging it comes in and the biodegradable cushions.

Feedback

The package that holds leftover food packets! Once it get's dirty, it stays dirty and worries me about potential bacteria and/or mold

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money πŸ’ΈFun unboxing πŸ“¦Works really wellAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission πŸ’•Luxury
22 days ago
Experience

High quality, personalized dog food that our dog LOVES. Comes in a reusable cooler bag (great for grocery shopping) on dry ice so it's fresh when it comes.

Feedback

Not the most sustainable - lots of packaging. Takes up a lot of freezer space. Very expensive (we use this as a "treat meal" for our furry friend)

High qualityAmazing website
25 days ago
Experience

The Farmer's Dog is such a customer-centric company. My dog is obsessed with the food (she went on a hunger strike when I gave her just kibble) and the packages are easy to measure out of. There is variety to what she eats and I love that it'll lengthen her lifespan <3

Feedback

The packages are a bit messy and sort of wasteful. I wish there was another way other than the plastic packaging.

Tasty πŸ˜‹
Ariel T's review of The Farmer's Dog
25 days ago
Experience

My dog loves this food. I bought the trial and then after seeing how excited she got for meal time I felt like I had to continue to subscription.

Tasty πŸ˜‹
a month ago
Experience

For years, I struggled to find a food that would give my dog zero issues as he has a very sensitive stomach. I tried several high quality brands of kibble and freeze dried foods. Eventually he had to be put on prescription food and although it worked, I wanted to know he was being fed natural ingredients. I took the quiz on the website and haven't gone back since. Since Farmer's Dog, he has had little to no issues and absolutely loves breakfast and dinner time. Truly has been a game changer.

High qualityInnovative productLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
a month ago
πŸ’°Invested in The Farmer's Dog
Experience

After tasting The Farmer's Dog, my pup won't eat anything else! He loves it! I was also super-impressed with the customer service. I needed to cancel an order due to a last-minute trip emergency, and they took care of it immediately - even though my order had already shipped. I can't say enough good things.

Feedback

The bags that contain the food are a little hard to handle.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money πŸ’ΈWorks really wellLove the brand's mission πŸ’•
4 months ago
Experience

Completed the online quiz/funnel to determine what kind of food and how much was right for my 27-pound mixed rescue pup. Ended up going with the Beef and Turkey food subscription for about 4 months, and the fresh food was used as a topper to her dry food. Overall, my dog gobbled up the first two servings of the food, but after that, she was not interested in it anymore.

Feedback

What could be improved are the pre-portioned plastic pouches the food comes in. It often was cumbersome and messy to cut the top of the plastic pouch and squeeze the right amount of food out. Not to mention, having that much 'fresh' food in the fridge, even if it was in a plastic pouch and a container still had a smell to it and didn't seem to keep well.

4 months ago
Experience

My dogs are spoiled BRATS because of the farmer's dog - in a good way :) They have health restrictions and digestive issues, so this is a perfect solution to cooking them "people food" every night. The farmer's dog is def more more of the high-maintenance pup. It is pricey, but we do what we can for our loved ones. Also a great conversation starter at dog parks! I have gotten my friends to switch to farmers dog!

Worth the money πŸ’Έ
5 months ago
Experience

My pup wakes me up at 7 am to get breakfast and starts staring me down again at 4pm for her dinner... She's obsessed with The Farmer's Dog. She's 7 years old been on the food for 3 years and people constantly think she's a puppy based on how healthy her coat looks, and how much energy she has!

Feedback

Packaging/portioning but I know they're working on it :)

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money πŸ’Έ
8 months ago
Experience

My new puppy Koda loves his Farmer Dog meals. He's already tested turkey and can't get enough! The packaging is great and the meals look delicious.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money πŸ’ΈEasy subscription management πŸ”Fun unboxing πŸ“¦Works really wellTasty πŸ˜‹Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission πŸ’•Luxury
a year ago