Ilia

4.5221 Reviews

Ilia creates natural and organic beauty products, breaking away from the conventions of natural beauty.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 21 users
90%
Recommend it to a friend

Ilia Reviews

13 days ago
Experience

I’m obsessed with Ilia’s foundation, highlighter and mascara. I love that they’re clean and cruelty-free, and while pricy, they perform as well as conventional makeup.

Feedback

Wish their full product lines were sold in more retailers. I can only find at Credo Beauty!

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Love the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
21 days ago
Experience

I have their highlighter that I've been using for ages. I love that the ingredients are reliable unlike most makeup brands. Also the highlighter is subtle but effective!

Feedback

I would love to try more of their stuff but wish it was more easily available - like in Sephora Spain.

High qualityWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
23 days ago
Experience

Love the whole line for my "mature" skin. The formulas leave skin dewey looking. The Serum Skin Tint is my favorite Ilia product - spf, "your skin but better" natural look, hydrating & treating. The only down side is I don't like the dropper function, but I've read it has to be that way for some reason, so fine, I'm not going to hold it against a great product and it's really not that big of a deal anyway. BONUS: Very LGBTQ supportive ad campaign. What's not to like here? OH! And they have a great, super-duper inky black-black mascara. Love them.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I think their serum is great! It has just enough coverage for me and doesn’t make me break out. I have sensitive skin so it is important to have noncomedogenic and spf makeup, but usually spf makes me break out. This works very well. The eyeshadow liquid doesn’t work very well, though. The applicator isn’t sufficient so you’ll need to blend it out with a brush and if you have moisture or it doesn’t dry completely it comes off in clumps.

Feedback

In my opinion, the liquid eyeshadow applicator should be usable alone and should dry like a powder so that it doesn’t “roll” off.

High qualityCool look & feel
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I’ve only tried the foundation and it just really didn’t work for my skin type (which is combination). I looked incredibly greasy each time I used it. I think if you have dry skin this could work for you.

Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Wow, this brand is it. The story, product, quality, company. All so beautiful with their mission of making whole, natural beauty products. I started out using their lipsticks but as they have added new product including skin care I’m basically replacing my daily routine with just their stuff. My absolute favourite product is the multistick. I can use it on my cheeks and brow to highlight and then my lips for a pop of colour. Literally one product, 30 seconds and I look fresh and dewy.

High qualityLove the brand's mission 💕
Hannah H's review of Ilia
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

This product made me believe in the no-makeup, makeup look. Easy to apply, light on the coverage — I reach for the skin tint when I’m throwing on makeup in a hurry, or for a quick-make-me-look-more-put-together-plz look. Also, we love an SPF!

Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

all the hype around ilia actually made me hesitate to try it because I could only assume it was overrated… absolutely not. the super serum skin tint is the best shade match I’ve ever gotten on a face product and it gives a dewy-not-oily finish that I love. perfect for summer. can’t wait to try the medium coverage foundation when the weather cools down.

Feedback

people make a lot of noise about the scent of the SSST but I have no complaints!

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Luxury
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

I own several Ilia products and love them all. I only use clean, vegan products and Ilia is perfect for me. They use natural, organic and vegan ingredients. Very high quality. I have dry skin and their products work great for me.

Feedback

A bit expensive

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Love the brand's ethos and natural-feeling/looking effect. I have tried both mascaras, which were each amazing - no fallout/smearing, no clumping, 10/10. I am looking forward to trying more from this brand!

Feedback

A little pricey

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelAmazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?