Function of Beauty

2.8596 Reviews

Function of Beauty makes customizable hair, skin, and body products that are formulated according to personal beauty goals.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

2.9
Average rating from 96 users
31%
Would recommend it to a friend

Function of Beauty Reviews

Experience

I liked the customizability (color, scent, etc) but the product felt very generic. At the time I was transitioning from straight-perming to letting my natural hair grow, and it did literally nothing for either hair type. I've seen wavy haired girls do ads for it, and even in the sponsored clips you can tell that it did nothing to reduce frizz or promote their hair texture.

Feedback

I think there's a growing niche of gen-z/zillenials discovering/growing out/caring for their wavy hair and curl pattern. I think if they made a customization line exclusively for wave definition that actually worked, they'd be onto something. Like, what's the point of labelling, stickers, colors, and scents if the actual product is mid.

Lovely customer supportCustom personalization
3 days ago
Experience

Did not like how this cleaned my hair or made it feel.

3 days ago
Cool look & feelCustom personalizationHas no effect 🤷Smells amazing
5 days ago
Experience

The personalisation element is fun, and it was fun to do the quiz and feel like I had a more personal experience. But the actual product wasn't great - made my scalp feel itchy and dry afterwards.

Feedback

The formulations and transparency on what has gone into your final product.

Custom personalization
10 days ago
Experience

wouldn't purchase again. the promise of custom shampoo is alluring, but the product failed to do anything more than the shampoos and conditioners from the store, while simultaneously costing much more (30 per bottle or more)

Feedback

too expensive, not enough quality to justify.

11 days ago
Experience

These products were just okay for me. They smelled really nice and I like the packaging but I didn't notice a significant change in my hair.

Cool look & feelSmells amazing
11 days ago
Experience

I've tried the shampoo and conditioner in 3 different formulations and they all sucked. The appeal with this brand (besides the packaging) is custom hair products that you basically design based on your hair concerns or priorities. I purchases 3 different formulations and didn't like any. With the first one, it felt like my hair was thickly coated in product, to where when I blow dried it, it would remain oily. With the first formulation, I contacted support and they suggested adjusting some of my hair concerns. New batch shipped and same thing. I contacted CS again, adjusted again, and again... the same. I've never had a shampoo/conditioner feel this icky. I wound up using the remaining shampoo as a body wash and conditioner as a shaving cream. The absolute only thing I liked was the colorful products and ability to customize things like smell and color.

Feedback

Less gross products.

13 days ago
Experience

Not anything life changing. Felt like regular drug store shampoo and conditioner.

Feedback

Disliked the smell of the product even when I tried the unscented versions.

Custom personalizationHas no effect 🤷
20 days ago
Experience

Cute packaging

Feedback

Hair got greasy with usage. It’s an okay shampoo and conditioner

Cool look & feelHas no effect 🤷
a month ago