Reviews

    Xero Shoes

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Some excellent barefoot shoes to improve foot health and foot strength. They're products cater to a range of activities from running to hiking to water sports. They're reasonably priced although outside of the US, a limited range of products are available unless you're willing to pay a hefty delivery/returns fee. I currently use the Xero Genesis and Colorado products.

    Feedback

    A wider range of Xero products on a European or UK based platform would be preferred.

    Papier

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    It seems like other well known, online card shops but a bit more high end! I've only used them on a couple of occasions for birthday cards however the card and envelope quality has seemed very premium with some beautiful designs. The cards are well priced and as expected, shipping is quick and efficient!

    Whisky Me

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    An excellent gift idea for any whisky lover. After getting gifted a three month substription to this, I was hooked! For the past three years I've been paying for the subscription myself and receive high end and unusual whiskies on pouch form on a monthly basis! The whisky arrives mid-month and is stored in a plastic pouch. They do however say that this pouch doesn't have any effect on the taste of the whisky and an additional eco benefit is that the empties can be returned to Whisky-Me in batches for recycling. You're meant to also get a free whisky in return although on the last occasion that I did this, one never arrived! Almost all of the whiskies that you receive are ones that you're unlikely to see being sold in supermarkets which makes the tasting discovery all the more special. They're from distilleries all over Scotland (or the world if you've subscribed to their world whisky subscription as well!) Some distilleries you may well recognise however there's a good chance it'll be a special edition cask that you never tried before. I've had whiskies as old as 26 years from Whisky-Me!

    Feedback

    In the last year or so I've had some issues with the delivery of the product. On a couple of occasions, the delivery has never arrived however with an email to customer services, they're quick to reply and send a replacement out. This may be an issue with the postal service used but it may help if the packaging isn't as identifiable as being whisky!

    Bloom & Wild

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    This company revolutionises the way we buy flowers! They always provide a beautiful selection of flowers in their bouquets with all of the flowers in bud form. This is a great idea, as it allows them to last for so much longer! I find them to be very reasonably priced. The only downside I have is occasionally the postage isn't the most reliable, particularly on weekends. If you're getting these flowers delivered for a specific event, sometimes picking the day before as a delivery date is a safer bet!

    Feedback

    The only downside I have is occasionally the postage isn't the most reliable, particularly on weekends. If you're getting these flowers delivered for a specific event, sometimes picking the day before as a delivery date is a safer bet!

    Sculpd

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    My girlfriend and I purchased this kit as a fun activity to combat the monotony during the covid lockdown. We found it to be a pleasant activity that neither of us had tried before. It did feel a little gimmicky but as I'm not usually the most artistic, that's just my personal opinion! It took us some time before we got around to using it but eventually one weekend we cracked it open. Two packs of clay, a full array of clay moulding utensils, a pottery guide, sealant and white paint were enclosed. The guide provided us with pinch-pot tutorials however by browsing the Sculpd Instagram, we were also able to gain creative inspiration. Once the clay bags are open you have a few hours before they begin to dry giving you a good amount of time to get creative. Once fully dry, the following day we utilised the white paint and sealant although I believe more paint colours are available online! 2 days from the initial design, our masterpieces were complete!

    Feedback

    I'd have liked to have seen more tutorials within the pottery guide although it may have developed since we used it.

    Oatly

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    As a dairy consumer, I was initially skeptical to try a non-dairy alternative after never trying one. My partner was already a user of Oatly for her coffee and after moving in together I was introduced the Oatly Barista. This product is considerably more creamy than the original Oatly which I much prefer. I have since tried soy milk however I felt it to be too 'watery'. Oatly Barista has the consistency of milk with an underlying oat taste without it being too overpowering. I still use milk for my tea however I have converted to using oat milk for my granola and cereal and it surprisingly works far better. For those wanting to cut our dairy I think this is an excellent alternative. I'm still not used to using it in my tea however surely a reduction in milk consumption is a step in the right direction!

    Lumin

    Joseph D 7 Reviews

    2 years ago

    A good product but maybe not worth the full price. A year ago I was initially skeptical of Lumin as I had only encountered it on Instagram ads but after a friend tried it with positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a go. The products come in minimalist packaging but without looking cheap. I received the classic set which includes: charcoal cleanser, exfoliating rub, moisturiser and dark circle defense. My overall initial impressions were good. When ordering the set you choose your skin type which makes you feel as if the products are more custom to your skin. The cleanser gives the effect of cleaning skin without being too intense. I have experienced face wash in the past that stripped my skin of it's natural oils resulting in more spots, this was not the case for this product. The exfoliating rub seemed like a bit of a gimmick. It maybe worked to some extent however I felt as if it didn't prevent blackheads. The moisturiser was thick and I felt as if it worked well as a night cream. As it didn't include SPF, I didn't use it as a day cream. (They have since started selling an SPF cream at a steep price so I have not yet tried it) The eye rub was something I hadn't tried before and although my skin felt good, I didn't see a noticeable difference. I do not have the experience to say whether competitors work better/worse. After enjoying the trial, I couldn't justify the full price tag so I went to cancel, upon cancelling they offered my a discount so I stuck with it. The 2 month subscriptions last longer for me so I normally defer them to once every three months. Overall as a brand I think they are doing well to normalise mens skincare however despite the good quality I don't know if I can justify the full price. I have continued with the discounted subscription until I find a better alternative. I'm also not fond of the carbon footprint that comes with the shipping from the US to the UK. If you're unsure about trying this product, the one month trial and easy cancellation is worth a try before making your own decision on the product.