Nuuly

3.7 78 Reviews

Nuuly, an Urban Outfitters brand, provides a clothing subscription rental service and mobile resale marketplace.

Nuuly Reviews

Nuuly reviews

3.69

75% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Wide range of clothing
  • Helpful community reviews
  • Enables style experimentation
  • Value for special occasions
  • Inconsistent quality of clothes
  • Slow shipping process
  • Poor item substitutions
  • Frequent out-of-stock items

Nuuly is appreciated for its wide range of clothing options and community-driven reviews, allowing customers to experiment with their style. However, customers noted issues with inconsistent quality, slow shipping, and poor substitutions. Despite a recent price increase, the brand's value remains recognized, particularly for special events or seasonal clothing trials.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

78 reviews

4 months ago

I started using Nuuly for maternity clothes because new options are pricey and you use them temporarily. So far I have really enjoyed the experience. However, I still think the company has some opportunities to improve its service. For instance, in my first rental I received a paired of overalls in poor condition. Even when customer service responded very well about the issue, this was sign that their quality control (if any) needs more attention to detail. What’s more, the company highlights how you don’t need to worry about laundry, they take care of that. Still for the same order, some items had a smell. Not a bad one, but just a smell from someone else. And I wasn’t fan of that aspect either. Still, I find the service convenient and worth the money.

10 months ago

I used Nuuly for years. As time went on it changed. I loved being able to wear a ton of new styles without being involved in fast fashion. The availability of the best items got very sparse and I wouldn’t be able to fill a box with things I actually wanted.

2 years ago

I loved Null. I used them for my senior photos, and everyone loved my outfits. I couldn't afford to get them again, but I was obsessed with every piece I got.

7 months ago

I love getting my Nuuly every month. They have so many clothes to choose from and the delivery is always super quick, dropping it off as easy as well. I like that they have a thrift option and that you can buy anything from your months choices for a discount.

9 months ago

Nuuly has been SUCH a game changer for me. I loooove trendy clothes but I hate being wasteful and purchasing something I'll only wear once or twice. Nuuly gives me the opportunity to play around with my personal style without the commitment. PLUS, if you really love a rented item, you always have the opportunity to purchase it at a discounted rate (sometimes up to 75% off). They ship pretty quick and allow up to ten items a month (first 6 included in membership with option to add up to 4 more for a fee) and their return process is SUPER easy. Just slap on your label and drop it off at your local UPS.

3 years ago

Really liked this model. I have used RTR before as well. This was more affordable and had an option for get 8 pieces that was a good mix to switch up my wardrobe every month. It even came with a little kit (sewing and deodorant eraser) that was very handy!

Feedback

Wish there was more higher end options, but I get it for the price point.

3 years ago

I joined Nuuly three months ago after being a Rent the Runway member for 3 years. My needs changed away from such high end clothing since Covid/WFH- and the price changes at RTR drove me away! I have loved Nuuly so far. It reminds me of early days RTR unlimited- pretty good selection- you get 6 pieces a month- and its simple. I think simplification is key here because otherwise you get overwhelmed with options and returning, making the price worth it etc. I also have found that Nuuly has GREAT deals to buy something once rented.

Feedback

While I like the box they send in a lot- and appreciate that there isn't as much plastic waste as other rental companies... I had a box left in the pouring rain and the clothes all got soaked, one dress even got ruined from them bleeding onto each other. Additionally- they seem to be targeted a little more at teeny-bopper types... and I think could use a few more sophisticated (makes me feel old to say buttttt pls cover my booty as I walk down the street) options in normal people sizes (size 6 or 8 pls!!) Their user interface could continue to use work- but they are also newer so I think things are going well given their stage!

6 months ago

Sad they increased the pricing but they offer a lot of good brands and options, so Nuuly is great when I have an event or trip coming up. I will say the reviews are soooo helpful and key.

7 months ago

nice to have when you need to refresh your closet for an occasion! sometimes the selection doesn’t quite fit the need, so it’s worth browsing before committing in my opinion.

7 months ago

There's a lot that can be improved with Nuuly (items I want are often not available, you can't just return one item, I've received things that were damaged) but GOD do I love getting my bags each month. They have a wide range of items and brands, and the prices of those items always make the monthly cost worth it for me. When I receive a damaged item their care team responds VERY fast, and often adds a free item to the next bag, or gives some money back which I really appreciate. I've also experienced VERY fast shipping with them. Not a perfect system, but one I swear by, and my favorite way to treat myself each month!

a year ago

I love nuuly. Its the perfect way to try out a new style or rent a dress for a special occasion for an affordable price. The styles are cute and they have a great range of casual and basic to a little more out there allowing you to try a little bit of both or stay within your comfort zone. As someone who likes trying new styles but is a serial returner, this is a good way for me to try things out without committing to them

a year ago

It was difficult to know which sizes to purchase as there weren't any measurements listed on the site. I bought one month's subscription and was disappointed as one of the items didn't fit and there was nothing I could do to swap it for a different item. The bag arrived dirty and it was gross to keep in my apartment. I prefer the packaging from RTR.

a year ago

The process of selecting your choices is pretty easy and the choices seem to be endless and you should find something. However I ordered “formalwear” for an event and was very underwhelmed by the quality. I ordered 3 dresses in 2 different sizes and all of them ended up not working because they just didn’t look as formal or high quality. I did like that I could ordered different sizes in case you are unsure of your size or the fitting.

3 years ago

I tried the Nuuly box on before the pandemic and loved the selection of clothes I was able to find. It's slightly cheaper than RTR and has a more casual feel to it - which was perfect for the summer. I ended up buying a few pieces that were cute, and given that it was all technically second-hand, it made me feel better about the fast fashion aspect of it. Is that totally correct? unsure! I have started seeing more Nuuly packages in my neighborhood with things opening up during the summer, and it's a great idea to do so without committing to buying new clothes for who knows how long!

7 months ago

It's the first of its kind, and it's been incredible to keep my wardrobe revolving without investing in every piece. It is also a great way to try out and stretch your style without feeling like you have to commit, but instead, use trial and error. Also found this to be an awesome cost savings because I'm buying clothes significantly less often.

8 months ago

I tried a few services like Nuuly over the space of about a year and felt that Nuuly was by far the least transparent about their rent and purchase pricing and I'm pretty sure I ended up paying just under $500 over the course of a 2 month subscription (I kept two items, one of which was VERY used and they certainly didn't cost, nor were they worth what I paid). I also recall running into issues with my second package's return. I'm willing to chalk that up to being my fault to an extent, but the entire experience was not great for me and I'm not happy with what I got out of it.

a year ago

I've been using Nuuly for almost two years and love it. It allows me to be more creative with my style, and I love that I can purchase items to keep at a discounted price -- a win for me and the environment! My only complaint is that they tend to keep items in circulation too long - I've received pieces that are very worn and should be recycled. They do however have great customer service in my experience.

a year ago

Nuuly is a great idea but it feels like the execution needs a bit of help. Availability - The best stuff is never available. Some items that I've saved have never been available in the season when it would be appropriate to wear it. Subscription Model - You can't swap out specific pieces that don't work. You have to send all pieces back and wait until your billing date to get new ones or pay the whole subscription fee again (which was recently raised to $95 before taxes for 6 pieces) to swap your order before your next billing date. Finding Your Fit - They don't include any measurement guides on each item's page. You also can't filter reviews by the very demographics they collect from you and make available about other users (age, weight, height, body type) so you have to manually find them on each review page. Website - You can't view all reviews at once on a page without scrolling to the bottom and clicking more reviews and you have to comb through hundreds of reviews manually in some cases to find a relevant review for your height and weight. Reviews - They don't give users prompts to support writing more helpful fit reviews like was the item too big/too small paired with was it too long/too short which are very different questions. You'll see reviews that say "didn't fit" but provide no sense of what that means. Nuuly uses that data for some aggregate size indicator they have indicated on each item's page but its useless since you don't know the weight, height and body type of the reviewers represented in the indicator. Delivery - Their delivery process is A LOT slower than R2R and you end up having clothes for only 3 weeks after order fulfillment + shipping time. They send you your clothes in a cloth box that can just be easily unzipped yet you get charged if there are any missing pieces in the return. Selection - All in all, their clothes are "cooler" and more casual than R2Ry items but Nuuly mixes in A LOT of low quality brands or items that are on/about to be on the clearance rack on the site which makes me look at any unfamiliar brands on their site with a lot of skepticism. Subscription Cost - Given the chance of having a mixed bag or fail order is super high, at best Nuuly costs the same if not more than R2R in terms of price per retained piece that fits/looks good in person/is not worn out/is not stretched...only Nuuly has way less flexibility. It feels like they are making up these retail prices as well as the discounts for the amount of wear on some of the clothes if you were looking to buy. Support - Support is nice enough to you but offer no solutions for your issues and that's tough when it sounds like Nuuly is far from making the changes everyone seems to be asking for. Overall, they seem to present a high value versus other rental services but it's only worth it if you're OK to pay the $105+ monthly fee (after taxes) OR if paying that fee multiple times in one month is OK with you to swap your whole order (see Subscription Model section). Skip Nuuly if that doesn't sound appealing or if you only need it to have a few options for a one off occasion.

a year ago

legit want to keep everything but love everything about it and their mission

2 years ago

The clothes on Nuuly are super cute! They come in the most adorable freezer-shaped box. I had several options for the wedding I ordered for, and several of the add-on dresses were only a few more dollars each to tack onto the existing order.

Feedback

Shipping is a lot slower than Rent the Runway and there doesn't seem to be a subscription plan where you can get more than one delivery a month.