Nuuly

3.9212 Reviews

Nuuly, an Urban Outfitters brand, provides a clothing subscription rental service and mobile resale marketplace.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.9
Average rating from 12 users
83%
Would recommend it to a friend

Nuuly Reviews

3 months ago
Experience

The clothes on Nuuly are super cute! They come in the most adorable freezer-shaped box. I had several options for the wedding I ordered for, and several of the add-on dresses were only a few more dollars each to tack onto the existing order.

Feedback

Shipping is a lot slower than Rent the Runway and there doesn't seem to be a subscription plan where you can get more than one delivery a month.

Special occasion 💃Super slow shipping 🐌Eco-friendly packaging
Useful review?
6 months ago
Experience

After my first month of Nuuly, I was hooked. Such a good way to get out of fast fashion and into a more sustainable way to wear different clothes all the time.

Feedback

It's tough to know what size you are, and the 6 item monthly limit does not include size doubles like other clothing subscription services, so you have to really guess.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Special occasion 💃Fun unboxing 📦Everyday wearAmazing websiteSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

I loved Null. I used them for my senior photos, and everyone loved my outfits. I couldn't afford to get them again, but I was obsessed with every piece I got.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Size & shade inclusive Fun unboxing 📦Everyday wear
Useful review?
7 months ago
Experience

I love having access to so many clothes without having to own them. For me, it’s better than rent the runway because Nuuly carries more casual clothing that fits my lifestyle. I’ve been using the service for 3 years now, which says something. I’ve also had my fair share of hiccups over the years which I’ll share below, but they do have an extremely responsive CS team which helps a lot.

Feedback

There are a lot of things that haven’t gone right over the years, but not annoying enough for me to cancel bc I do genuinely love the service. First, their fabric shipping boxes suck. I’m sure they were innovative and cool but the shipping labels don’t adhere to them so as you can imagine, that causes lots of issues. One time I received a Box of literal cardboard boxes bc my Nuuly label fell off and somehow attached itself to another shipment. This has happened two times. A different time, my order just got lost in the warehouse and I had to pick a whole new order (and a lot of what I had picked was no longer available). Most recently, they had an XS tag on an XL garment and included it in my shipment erroneously. All of these mishaps have been met with kind customer service and some sort of a refund or offering to make it right. But the problems keep happening. I think operationally they’re still not quite there, but the clothes make the headache worth it

Lovely customer supportWorth the money 💸Everyday wear
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

Honestly, I really loved my nuuly experience. It has some of my favorite brands and the mission is something I totally believe in. So ordering my dream clothes without having to pay full price and knowing I'm helping to solve a small piece of the fashion industry's waste problem is a win-win. All the clothes I ordered came in great shape and the website was easy to shop on (HUGE collection), favorite clothes you liked and then order them. The shipping and returns process was pretty easy to do as well. And you could even keep (and pay for) clothes from the rental if you wanted, which I did end up doing for a dress I've now worn to multiple weddings.

Feedback

The 1 thing that keeps me from coming back every month is the price. $88 is a pretty fair price/month, but as somebody who does not do a lot of shopping, spending $1000+ on clothes a year is a little much for me. I think it would 100% be worth it for somebody who shops and buys clothes a lot.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelSize & shade inclusive Special occasion 💃Business casualEveryday wearAmazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

Really liked this model. I have used RTR before as well. This was more affordable and had an option for get 8 pieces that was a good mix to switch up my wardrobe every month. It even came with a little kit (sewing and deodorant eraser) that was very handy!

Feedback

Wish there was more higher end options, but I get it for the price point.

Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I joined Nuuly three months ago after being a Rent the Runway member for 3 years. My needs changed away from such high end clothing since Covid/WFH- and the price changes at RTR drove me away! I have loved Nuuly so far. It reminds me of early days RTR unlimited- pretty good selection- you get 6 pieces a month- and its simple. I think simplification is key here because otherwise you get overwhelmed with options and returning, making the price worth it etc. I also have found that Nuuly has GREAT deals to buy something once rented.

Feedback

While I like the box they send in a lot- and appreciate that there isn't as much plastic waste as other rental companies... I had a box left in the pouring rain and the clothes all got soaked, one dress even got ruined from them bleeding onto each other. Additionally- they seem to be targeted a little more at teeny-bopper types... and I think could use a few more sophisticated (makes me feel old to say buttttt pls cover my booty as I walk down the street) options in normal people sizes (size 6 or 8 pls!!) Their user interface could continue to use work- but they are also newer so I think things are going well given their stage!

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packaging
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

Love these guys - this service lets me cut down on my clothing budget while stepping out of my comfort zone and exploring the latest trends at no obligation. I even used for my first and fourth trimesters for my second kiddo. I travel a fair bit for work and use nuuly to tailor the clothes I buy depending on the client, city and season. I also LOVE that their packaging is eco friendly both ways in transit. I’ve tried competing products and not having that is a turn off.

Feedback

I only wish they had more sizes available or would tailor ads to clothing that is available.

Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Size & shade inclusive Special occasion 💃Everyday wearEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I tried the Nuuly box on before the pandemic and loved the selection of clothes I was able to find. It's slightly cheaper than RTR and has a more casual feel to it - which was perfect for the summer. I ended up buying a few pieces that were cute, and given that it was all technically second-hand, it made me feel better about the fast fashion aspect of it. Is that totally correct? unsure! I have started seeing more Nuuly packages in my neighborhood with things opening up during the summer, and it's a great idea to do so without committing to buying new clothes for who knows how long!

Everyday wear
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

The items are very cute, but many are old and I've found some on clearance racks in stores. I'm still trying them out, but am quite frustrated with the shipping. You have to return everything before you can order a new month and then shipping takes 5 or more days. Essentially, you are paying for a month, but only getting the clothes for 3 weeks or less. Also the website doesn't allow to group your liked items so your closet is unorganized. I am hoping they will improve as I prefer the clothes over armoire and like the service over rtr.

Feedback

Shipping!!!! Ridiculous Website, give options for organizing closet need more sophisticated items

Useful review?