Character

4.4717 Reviews

Character offers tools, supplies, and how-to guides for all home improvement needs.

withcharacter.com

4.5

Average rating from 17 users

82%

Recommend to a friend

Character Reviews

Start a review

a year ago

Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount

This is just a review of the "starter" tool kit. It was...disappointing. First: I love the idea! High-quality tools in fun colors bundled in a convenient pouch. But the actual item delivered was sub-par. The tools look and feel cheap. There were numerous blemishes and imperfections in the metal tools, plastic parts felt brittle and thin. I have nice tools (Stanley, Snap-On, etc.) and these were not they. Everything works but I don't expect them to survive very long. But it is nice to keep a tool kit near the back door and not have to go out to the garage. This also shipped in a ton of packaging which...didn't help. Despite a box being packed with cardboard, the individual tools had come out of their "nests." Nothing was broken or damaged but too much packaging that just didn't do what it was supposed to.

Feedback

Overall quality. In a sense, this kit serves as an ad for your service. Every time I use it I'll be thinking: "Not pro." And, less packaging.


a year ago

all the tools are very substantial, a good size for not needing full on construction level stuff & the handles have a comfortable grip. & items included are what you would need to complete almost all very basic home projects

Feedback

the shipping was very fast though i did have an issue with my shipment but their customer service was great, in fact they contacted me checking in before i even had a chance let them know. they took care of the problem right away. the owner’s included a hand written note in the box which was such a nice touch. unboxing was great, especially bc i plan to give it as gift i am glad it looks nice & i don’t have to do anything. i haven’t used the items since its a gift so i can’t speak to that but i did take out each one to hold & check.



What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.


a year ago

I like the cohesiveness of this kit, but I was a bit disappointed by the seeming quality of it. Haven't actually used the tools yet, but as mentioned in another review, the tools looked a bit dirty/beat up. Got as part of a Thingdrop, but definitely would have been disappointed if I had paid full price.

Feedback

Dirtiness/beat-up look of the tools. Nit: I didn't realize the tools would all be green, and I selected another color thinking they would come in that color. Turns out the color only applies to the case.


8 months ago

This is just a review of the safety glasses as that is all I have purchased from this brand so far but I was excited to be able to upgrade from regular, boring safety glasses to a cute pair with coloured frames and a flattering shape. These fit much better than regular safety glasses (on me at least) and I'm sure I'll be more diligent about wearing them when I should just because I prefer wearing them. I have no need for any of the tools they sell as I have everything I need (and they have only a very basic range) but I like the look of the "kits" they have on their website such as the 'light fixture kit' and 'hole patching kit' which seem to provide everything you need to get a particular job done. These would make a great gift for a jeweller, woodworker, craftsperson, etc. as a nice upgrade to their regular pair and something a bit different.

Feedback

A canvas sleeve for the glasses might have been nice to keep them from getting scratched in my bag or toolkit but I hate unnecessary waste so it's not a huge complaint and I'll just make my own.


7 months ago

Newbie

Love love love! I usually put together furniture around my apartment myself because I live for the sense of accomplishment I get. I wanted to have my own set of tools finally so when I came across Character on Urban Outfitters I just knew they belonged in my home. I got the mini tote set just to kinda see and test it out and let me tell you they did not disappoint!!! Just because they’re tools doesn’t mean they have to be plain and boring. Definitely gonna get their whole inventory if I can lol. My only problem now is I don’t wanna ever use them for what I actually purchased them for cause they’re so perfect I don’t want lay a scratch!!!

Feedback

Nothing, they’re perfect!!!! Maybe more tool options? But other than that I love everything they have!


a year ago

My only tool set was the little box set from IKEA so I was comparing these to see if investing in *real* tools was worth it. But unfortunately, I think I actually prefer my cheap little IKEA set. These are weighty in comparison. I thought the carrying case would make these more convenient, but the snaps are difficult to get back together. And the main reason I find myself going back to my IKEA set is the variety of screwdriver heads it has. This really only gives you two options and I find it constantly falls out.

Feedback

More screwdriver heads and fix the tool so they are more secure. Improve the carrying case design.


a year ago

Friends with Character

Toolbox looks so unique and fun to keep up on display too! Tool tote is nice to take on the go. All the colors are so much fun. Out of everything else, the glasses and the screwdriver are my favorites. All the products match my home aesthetic more than the other tools/tool products out there on the market.

Feedback

Different colors for the tools to match the tool totes :O


a year ago

Friends with Character

I love my Character set! I’m a homeowner and I often don’t even know where to start when it comes to tools. This set is so handy and functional and has helped make some great updates to my home. I’m excited to gift one to my sister in law as she moves into her first home.

Feedback

More colors 😃


a year ago

Friends with Character

Just moved and upgraded from my random Amazon basics toolset that I’ve had for years. Whenever I go to set up a new space and build a bunch of furniture I find that the tool set wears out super quickly. That was not the case with the Character tools I received! I am a big fan of the two tone green tool set. Also the tool tote is super cool! Never seen one before.

Feedback

Would love some different color tools!