Character

4.5 18 Reviews

Character offers tools, supplies, and how-to guides for all home improvement needs.

Character Reviews

Character reviews

4.5

83% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

18 reviews

5 months ago

I ordered the safety glasses and they are amazing. They provide great coverage and are better than anything you get at Home Depot. Very useful for DIY and home renovation projects.

2 years ago

Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

This is just a review of the "starter" tool kit. It was...disappointing. First: I love the idea! High-quality tools in fun colors bundled in a convenient pouch. But the actual item delivered was sub-par. The tools look and feel cheap. There were numerous blemishes and imperfections in the metal tools, plastic parts felt brittle and thin. I have nice tools (Stanley, Snap-On, etc.) and these were not they. Everything works but I don't expect them to survive very long. But it is nice to keep a tool kit near the back door and not have to go out to the garage. This also shipped in a ton of packaging which...didn't help. Despite a box being packed with cardboard, the individual tools had come out of their "nests." Nothing was broken or damaged but too much packaging that just didn't do what it was supposed to.

Feedback

Overall quality. In a sense, this kit serves as an ad for your service. Every time I use it I'll be thinking: "Not pro." And, less packaging.

a year ago

Newbie

Love love love! I usually put together furniture around my apartment myself because I live for the sense of accomplishment I get. I wanted to have my own set of tools finally so when I came across Character on Urban Outfitters I just knew they belonged in my home. I got the mini tote set just to kinda see and test it out and let me tell you they did not disappoint!!! Just because they’re tools doesn’t mean they have to be plain and boring. Definitely gonna get their whole inventory if I can lol. My only problem now is I don’t wanna ever use them for what I actually purchased them for cause they’re so perfect I don’t want lay a scratch!!!

Feedback

Nothing, they’re perfect!!!! Maybe more tool options? But other than that I love everything they have!

2 years ago

all the tools are very substantial, a good size for not needing full on construction level stuff & the handles have a comfortable grip. & items included are what you would need to complete almost all very basic home projects

Feedback

the shipping was very fast though i did have an issue with my shipment but their customer service was great, in fact they contacted me checking in before i even had a chance let them know. they took care of the problem right away. the owner’s included a hand written note in the box which was such a nice touch. unboxing was great, especially bc i plan to give it as gift i am glad it looks nice & i don’t have to do anything. i haven’t used the items since its a gift so i can’t speak to that but i did take out each one to hold & check.

a year ago

This is just a review of the safety glasses as that is all I have purchased from this brand so far but I was excited to be able to upgrade from regular, boring safety glasses to a cute pair with coloured frames and a flattering shape. These fit much better than regular safety glasses (on me at least) and I'm sure I'll be more diligent about wearing them when I should just because I prefer wearing them. I have no need for any of the tools they sell as I have everything I need (and they have only a very basic range) but I like the look of the "kits" they have on their website such as the 'light fixture kit' and 'hole patching kit' which seem to provide everything you need to get a particular job done. These would make a great gift for a jeweller, woodworker, craftsperson, etc. as a nice upgrade to their regular pair and something a bit different.

Feedback

A canvas sleeve for the glasses might have been nice to keep them from getting scratched in my bag or toolkit but I hate unnecessary waste so it's not a huge complaint and I'll just make my own.

2 years ago

I like the cohesiveness of this kit, but I was a bit disappointed by the seeming quality of it. Haven't actually used the tools yet, but as mentioned in another review, the tools looked a bit dirty/beat up. Got as part of a Thingdrop, but definitely would have been disappointed if I had paid full price.

Feedback

Dirtiness/beat-up look of the tools. Nit: I didn't realize the tools would all be green, and I selected another color thinking they would come in that color. Turns out the color only applies to the case.

2 years ago

My only tool set was the little box set from IKEA so I was comparing these to see if investing in *real* tools was worth it. But unfortunately, I think I actually prefer my cheap little IKEA set. These are weighty in comparison. I thought the carrying case would make these more convenient, but the snaps are difficult to get back together. And the main reason I find myself going back to my IKEA set is the variety of screwdriver heads it has. This really only gives you two options and I find it constantly falls out.

Feedback

More screwdriver heads and fix the tool so they are more secure. Improve the carrying case design.

2 years ago

Overall such a nicely considered experience. The unboxing was such a delight! I love my tool tote (I got their sunny color, reminds me of cheese whiz). Friends who have seen me use it always ask where I got it, and my roommates are also grateful that the tools all sit in one nifty bag now. The tools are high quality, and though I haven't tried using their expert help service yet, I love all the tips and tricks they teach you on their Instagram. As someone who lives in a new york apartment and needs to fix up our rental from time to time, this toolset AND their project kits have come in handy SO many times.

Feedback

I wish they had tools in more colorways to match their toolboxes and tool totes!

2 years ago

I bought the Character toolbox and later toolkit to store the Character tools, but also my personal tools. Everything is super high quality, easy to use, and aesthetic - not that tools need to be cute, but it helps! The toolbox looks great on its own and all the drawers have tons of room for lots of small tools and screws. The project kits for setting up light fixtures or gallery walls are also a really easy-to-use kickstart.

Feedback

The Character team is really great to communicate with and very open to feedback about tools and expansions.

2 years ago

Friends with Character

Toolbox looks so unique and fun to keep up on display too! Tool tote is nice to take on the go. All the colors are so much fun. Out of everything else, the glasses and the screwdriver are my favorites. All the products match my home aesthetic more than the other tools/tool products out there on the market.

Feedback

Different colors for the tools to match the tool totes :O

2 years ago

Friends with Character

I love my Character set! I’m a homeowner and I often don’t even know where to start when it comes to tools. This set is so handy and functional and has helped make some great updates to my home. I’m excited to gift one to my sister in law as she moves into her first home.

Feedback

More colors 😃

2 years ago

I needed new tools for my new house. The last set of tools I was gifted when I went away to college so they definitely needed an upgrade. These from Character I was drawn too because of their look but boy are they high quality! Very durable and the perfect assortment of must-have items. I keep them in my house and they look amazing in their canvas case. Way nicer than anything you can get at the hardware store. I’m excited to use these for years and years to come!

Feedback

So far I’m super happy with the product! I momentarily wasn’t able to figure out how I wanted to organize my case (more spaces in the kit than tools) but once I figured it out, I’m super happy and also have space for other items which I’m sure was the point.

2 years ago

Friends with Character

Just moved and upgraded from my random Amazon basics toolset that I’ve had for years. Whenever I go to set up a new space and build a bunch of furniture I find that the tool set wears out super quickly. That was not the case with the Character tools I received! I am a big fan of the two tone green tool set. Also the tool tote is super cool! Never seen one before.

Feedback

Would love some different color tools!

2 years ago

I'm a real novice when it comes to doing projects around my home, but I really want and need to do some projects. I start something and buy all the things I think I need and then I'm stopped fairly quickly and frustrated and quit. It's just too expensive to hire someone to do it for me and then there are Covid concerns with people coming in to the house) But then I ordered the light fixture kit and (surprise) installed it. Great step by step instructions and phone help. There are a couple of other projects that I've ordered kits for (painting and patching holes in the wall) and can't wait to start them on my next free weekend.

Feedback

Character has been great. Can't think of anything that needs improvement, maybe more projects (backsplash, tiling)

2 years ago

Buyer

This toolset just arrived and I'm really happy so far. The tools themselves are high quality and sturdy and the tote is perfect for carrying around the home while I'm working on a project. Excited to take on some more DIY.

2 years ago

Friends with Character

I bought a tool set and a hole patching project kit. The tool set is beautiful and I was so happy to replace my miniature, pink, floral tools from college. The step-by-step guide that came with the hole patching kit was easy to use, and when I had a question I used their expert support chat. I got a response to my question really fast!

Feedback

Would love to see more project kits... perhaps a wallpaper project kit and a kitchen backsplash replacement kit.

2 years ago

Influencer for Character

Project kits saved me a trip to Home Depot!

Feedback

I wish expert support was 24/7.