Character

4.512 Reviews

Character offers tools, supplies, and how-to guides for all home improvement needs.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 12 users
83%
Would recommend it to a friend

Character Reviews

Experience

all the tools are very substantial, a good size for not needing full on construction level stuff & the handles have a comfortable grip. & items included are what you would need to complete almost all very basic home projects

Feedback

the shipping was very fast though i did have an issue with my shipment but their customer service was great, in fact they contacted me checking in before i even had a chance let them know. they took care of the problem right away. the owner’s included a hand written note in the box which was such a nice touch. unboxing was great, especially bc i plan to give it as gift i am glad it looks nice & i don’t have to do anything. i haven’t used the items since its a gift so i can’t speak to that but i did take out each one to hold & check.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
brooke s's review of Character
2 months ago
Experience

Excellent, high-quality product. Great unboxing experience!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feel
2 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

This is just a review of the "starter" tool kit. It was...disappointing. First: I love the idea! High-quality tools in fun colors bundled in a convenient pouch. But the actual item delivered was sub-par. The tools look and feel cheap. There were numerous blemishes and imperfections in the metal tools, plastic parts felt brittle and thin. I have nice tools (Stanley, Snap-On, etc.) and these were not they. Everything works but I don't expect them to survive very long. But it is nice to keep a tool kit near the back door and not have to go out to the garage. This also shipped in a ton of packaging which...didn't help. Despite a box being packed with cardboard, the individual tools had come out of their "nests." Nothing was broken or damaged but too much packaging that just didn't do what it was supposed to.

Feedback

Overall quality. In a sense, this kit serves as an ad for your service. Every time I use it I'll be thinking: "Not pro." And, less packaging.

3 months ago
🤝Friends with Character
Experience

Toolbox looks so unique and fun to keep up on display too! Tool tote is nice to take on the go. All the colors are so much fun. Out of everything else, the glasses and the screwdriver are my favorites. All the products match my home aesthetic more than the other tools/tool products out there on the market.

Feedback

Different colors for the tools to match the tool totes :O

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Love the brand's mission 💕
Chris P's review of Character
3 months ago
🤝Friends with Character
Experience

I love my Character set! I’m a homeowner and I often don’t even know where to start when it comes to tools. This set is so handy and functional and has helped make some great updates to my home. I’m excited to gift one to my sister in law as she moves into her first home.

Feedback

More colors 😃

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellAmazing websiteEco-friendly packaging
Hayley S's review of Character
3 months ago
Experience

I needed new tools for my new house. The last set of tools I was gifted when I went away to college so they definitely needed an upgrade. These from Character I was drawn too because of their look but boy are they high quality! Very durable and the perfect assortment of must-have items. I keep them in my house and they look amazing in their canvas case. Way nicer than anything you can get at the hardware store. I’m excited to use these for years and years to come!

Feedback

So far I’m super happy with the product! I momentarily wasn’t able to figure out how I wanted to organize my case (more spaces in the kit than tools) but once I figured it out, I’m super happy and also have space for other items which I’m sure was the point.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Abby K's review of Character
3 months ago
🤝Friends with Character
Experience

Just moved and upgraded from my random Amazon basics toolset that I’ve had for years. Whenever I go to set up a new space and build a bunch of furniture I find that the tool set wears out super quickly. That was not the case with the Character tools I received! I am a big fan of the two tone green tool set. Also the tool tote is super cool! Never seen one before.

Feedback

Would love some different color tools!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellAmazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
Michael D's review of Character
3 months ago
Experience

I like the cohesiveness of this kit, but I was a bit disappointed by the seeming quality of it. Haven't actually used the tools yet, but as mentioned in another review, the tools looked a bit dirty/beat up. Got as part of a Thingdrop, but definitely would have been disappointed if I had paid full price.

Feedback

Dirtiness/beat-up look of the tools. Nit: I didn't realize the tools would all be green, and I selected another color thinking they would come in that color. Turns out the color only applies to the case.

Colette T's review of Character
3 months ago
Experience

I'm a real novice when it comes to doing projects around my home, but I really want and need to do some projects. I start something and buy all the things I think I need and then I'm stopped fairly quickly and frustrated and quit. It's just too expensive to hire someone to do it for me and then there are Covid concerns with people coming in to the house) But then I ordered the light fixture kit and (surprise) installed it. Great step by step instructions and phone help. There are a couple of other projects that I've ordered kits for (painting and patching holes in the wall) and can't wait to start them on my next free weekend.

Feedback

Character has been great. Can't think of anything that needs improvement, maybe more projects (backsplash, tiling)

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money 💸Works really well
Kris M's review of Character
3 months ago
👀Buyer
Experience

This toolset just arrived and I'm really happy so far. The tools themselves are high quality and sturdy and the tote is perfect for carrying around the home while I'm working on a project. Excited to take on some more DIY.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellAmazing website
3 months ago