Character

4.4715 Reviews

Character offers tools, supplies, and how-to guides for all home improvement needs.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 15 users
80%
Recommend it to a friend

Character Reviews

4 months ago
Experience

My only tool set was the little box set from IKEA so I was comparing these to see if investing in *real* tools was worth it. But unfortunately, I think I actually prefer my cheap little IKEA set. These are weighty in comparison. I thought the carrying case would make these more convenient, but the snaps are difficult to get back together. And the main reason I find myself going back to my IKEA set is the variety of screwdriver heads it has. This really only gives you two options and I find it constantly falls out.

Feedback

More screwdriver heads and fix the tool so they are more secure. Improve the carrying case design.

Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

all the tools are very substantial, a good size for not needing full on construction level stuff & the handles have a comfortable grip. & items included are what you would need to complete almost all very basic home projects

Feedback

the shipping was very fast though i did have an issue with my shipment but their customer service was great, in fact they contacted me checking in before i even had a chance let them know. they took care of the problem right away. the owner’s included a hand written note in the box which was such a nice touch. unboxing was great, especially bc i plan to give it as gift i am glad it looks nice & i don’t have to do anything. i haven’t used the items since its a gift so i can’t speak to that but i did take out each one to hold & check.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
brooke s's review of Character
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

Excellent, high-quality product. Great unboxing experience!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feel
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

I like the cohesiveness of this kit, but I was a bit disappointed by the seeming quality of it. Haven't actually used the tools yet, but as mentioned in another review, the tools looked a bit dirty/beat up. Got as part of a Thingdrop, but definitely would have been disappointed if I had paid full price.

Feedback

Dirtiness/beat-up look of the tools. Nit: I didn't realize the tools would all be green, and I selected another color thinking they would come in that color. Turns out the color only applies to the case.

Colette T's review of Character
Useful review?
8 months ago
💸Bought a product using a Thingdrop discount
Experience

This is just a review of the "starter" tool kit. It was...disappointing. First: I love the idea! High-quality tools in fun colors bundled in a convenient pouch. But the actual item delivered was sub-par. The tools look and feel cheap. There were numerous blemishes and imperfections in the metal tools, plastic parts felt brittle and thin. I have nice tools (Stanley, Snap-On, etc.) and these were not they. Everything works but I don't expect them to survive very long. But it is nice to keep a tool kit near the back door and not have to go out to the garage. This also shipped in a ton of packaging which...didn't help. Despite a box being packed with cardboard, the individual tools had come out of their "nests." Nothing was broken or damaged but too much packaging that just didn't do what it was supposed to.

Feedback

Overall quality. In a sense, this kit serves as an ad for your service. Every time I use it I'll be thinking: "Not pro." And, less packaging.

Useful review?
23 days ago
Experience

Overall such a nicely considered experience. The unboxing was such a delight! I love my tool tote (I got their sunny color, reminds me of cheese whiz). Friends who have seen me use it always ask where I got it, and my roommates are also grateful that the tools all sit in one nifty bag now. The tools are high quality, and though I haven't tried using their expert help service yet, I love all the tips and tricks they teach you on their Instagram. As someone who lives in a new york apartment and needs to fix up our rental from time to time, this toolset AND their project kits have come in handy SO many times.

Feedback

I wish they had tools in more colorways to match their toolboxes and tool totes!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️Works really well
Useful review?
25 days ago
Experience

I bought the Character toolbox and later toolkit to store the Character tools, but also my personal tools. Everything is super high quality, easy to use, and aesthetic - not that tools need to be cute, but it helps! The toolbox looks great on its own and all the drawers have tons of room for lots of small tools and screws. The project kits for setting up light fixtures or gallery walls are also a really easy-to-use kickstart.

Feedback

The Character team is really great to communicate with and very open to feedback about tools and expansions.

High qualityWorth the money 💸Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
Fatima Sarah  K's review of Character
Useful review?
8 months ago
🤝Friends with Character
Experience

Toolbox looks so unique and fun to keep up on display too! Tool tote is nice to take on the go. All the colors are so much fun. Out of everything else, the glasses and the screwdriver are my favorites. All the products match my home aesthetic more than the other tools/tool products out there on the market.

Feedback

Different colors for the tools to match the tool totes :O

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Love the brand's mission 💕
Chris P's review of Character
Useful review?
8 months ago
🤝Friends with Character
Experience

I love my Character set! I’m a homeowner and I often don’t even know where to start when it comes to tools. This set is so handy and functional and has helped make some great updates to my home. I’m excited to gift one to my sister in law as she moves into her first home.

Feedback

More colors 😃

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellAmazing websiteEco-friendly packaging
Hayley S's review of Character
Useful review?
8 months ago
Experience

I needed new tools for my new house. The last set of tools I was gifted when I went away to college so they definitely needed an upgrade. These from Character I was drawn too because of their look but boy are they high quality! Very durable and the perfect assortment of must-have items. I keep them in my house and they look amazing in their canvas case. Way nicer than anything you can get at the hardware store. I’m excited to use these for years and years to come!

Feedback

So far I’m super happy with the product! I momentarily wasn’t able to figure out how I wanted to organize my case (more spaces in the kit than tools) but once I figured it out, I’m super happy and also have space for other items which I’m sure was the point.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Works really wellLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Abby K's review of Character
Useful review?