Rooted Fare

4.758 Reviews

Rooted Fare makes a variety of Chinese American inspired snacks and spreads.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.8
Average rating from 8 users
88%
Would recommend it to a friend

Rooted Fare Reviews

Experience

The Black Sesame Crunchy Butter is one of my favorite products I've tried recently. It's sweet, savory, and salty and so unique. Can't recommend more highly!!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸
12 days ago
Experience

I put this stuff on everything! I very rarely empty a product but I'm already half way through my second jar of this. It's not overly sweet and is the perfect crunch alternative to your typical peanut butter.

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
14 days ago
Experience

This product is unquestionably amazing, uniquely delicious and addictive. I love the back sesame crunchy butter so much t is almost obscene.

Feedback

The only problem with this product is that the jar is too small.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
Nappie D's review of Rooted Fare
18 days ago
Experience

Phenomenal. Chef's Kiss. It's the perfect marriage of taste and texture--lightly sweet, earthy, and subtly crunchy to round off that perfect bite. I used the Black Sesame Crunchy Butter as a filling for mochi. I stirred some powdered sugar into the paste to thicken it up and add more sweetness. It turned out heavenly. Catch me spreading and drizzling this over everything. It's my latest addiction.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋
2 months ago
📷Influencer for Rooted Fare
Experience

I love this spread. I use it in some way shape or form every day whether that’s as simple as stirring into yogurt or baking blondies with it!

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
17 days ago
Experience

I stumbled across this at a small, adorable shop in Chinatown, Sesame LA. Because I am OBSESSED with black sesame stuff I immediately snapped up a jar. Have to admit that I tried it right out of the jar with a spoon and knew I had to share it with my friends. Ended up buying 6 jars and have gifted it to friends and family all of whom love it as much as I do!!! My interactions with Hedy, creator of this amazing product, have been super friendly and prompt. So happy to support this woman owned business!

Lovely customer supportGood for gifts 🎁High qualityTasty 😋
17 days ago
Experience

This was good, but not great. The sesame flavor overpowered by a strange bitter flavor that really dominates your palette. It’s not quite a burnt flavor, but not really the most pleasant. The paste has a wonderful consistency. The crunchy bits really add texture and help the paste “grip” onto food. I was most surprised by how not-sweet the paste is. I tried a few bites of sesame paste with toast and felt that I needed to drizzle some honey to help sweeten it. 6/30 update - I tried the paste a few different ways. 4/5 toast with honey drizzle - this was my favorite way I’ve tried so far. The paste’s bitterness is rounded out by the sweet honey. However, I did notice that this does not spread as easily as even a crunchy peanut butter, as it doesn’t melt into the toast. 3/5 iced coffee/ iced latte - I tried both. I found that the sesame paste totally separates in an iced beverage and it is really hard to mix. The paste does not emulsify into the milk at all, even after heating up. After trying this 3x, I will not be trying to mix it into my iced coffee or iced lattes. 4/5 ice cream - the jar has suggestions to try spooning the paste over ice cream. I put about a tablespoon over a bowl of vanilla ice cream. The paste more or less rolls off a ball of ice cream to the side, but I really enjoyed the taste of the sesame mixing with the sweet vanilla ice cream. I would note that this will not work if you eat ice cream on a cone, as the sesame paste will not stay put and you will just make a mess.

Feedback

The flavor has a bitter aftertaste.

Love the brand's mission 💕
2 months ago
Experience

the product is absolutely delicious, not just on carbs but also on green apples. i haven’t tried myself but i’ve seen people incorporating it into all sorts of things from noodles, pancakes to savory sauces. the owners are super friendly too.

2 months ago